We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Comfy and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place
Ranked #28 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
south carolina
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Still Comfy and Clean”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Spent one short night at this motel recently. I was attending a function in uptown Charlotte that started very early so needed a relaxing place for a short sleep and shower. As usual everything was clean and comfy making getting to sleep easy. This motel could update a few things in the rooms though, such as floor lamps that wobble and phones that sometimes don't work. But the beds and pillows are great. I never seem to catch the evening snack/meal time and this time due to my early departure I missed breakfast. I was fortunate to grap some juice on my way out which was a great help in getting the day started. Check-in and check-out was a breeze and the staff was friendly. I did have a coupon which got me a much better rate than usual for this 1 night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunburst83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    98
    19
    4
    6
See reviews for
109
95
28
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

and this hotel was no exception. We find them comfortable and economical without exception. We checked in with a coupon for a rate of $61.00 plus tax. The room was comfortable and clean with all the amenities. Lots of electrical outlets to meet all our needs. We really like the dispensers in the bathroom for shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. The indoor-outdoor pool was very favorable and I was able to do my one hour swim. Probably what we like best about Drury Inns is their 5:30 pm happy hour. Each person has a coupon for 3 drinks and we didn't need dinner after eating the food that was offered. hotdogs, chicken tenders, baked potatoes, mac and cheese, a salad bar and nacho bar and more. Breakfast was delicious. There was a big pot of cooked oatmeal like I haven't had since childhood along with eggs, sausages and numerous other items. Lastly, I would like to comment on the friendliness of the staff, especially Doug the manager who helped us with travel plans. Please open more Drury Inns.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KanuckRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

First time I ever heard of Drury was in a recent Consumer Report article. The Drury hotel chain came as "recommended" among most of the majors. Then I find myself staying at this Drury for a week on business.

Considering the price its pretty darn good.

Where else can you get a nice looking room, a free full breakfast in the morning and a Happy Hour with free drinks and hot food for a very inexpensive price? The front desk staff was very knowledgable. One morning we had the chance to talk with Ted one of the managers as he awaited the arrival of the corporate executives. The rooms are good quality and include very comfortable beds and chairs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomoretrainsinnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to Charlotte and Drury came recommended. Our family agreed that the front desk woman who checked us in was efficient but not pleasant. It was an unfortunate start to our stay because otherwise things were pretty good. Amenities include a light dinner even with free alcoholic drinks, breakfast.

Rooms are fairly large. Thermostat control with unit cycling through was loud and annoying. Everything super clean.

We will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your honest feedback regarding your recent stay at the Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte North. We take great pride in our customer service and I'm sorry to hear that you and your family felt our Guest Service Agent was not exceptional. I would like to learn the specifics of your visit so that I can address your concerns with our team. If you would be so kind to contact me, that would be great. Thank you again for your honesty and I look forward to learning more about you stay.

Regards,
Doug Uzelac
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have stayed here many times going back 10 years or more. It is always a pleasant place to stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly. The place is in the university area and convenient to restaurants and near I-85. It is a quite hotel so sleeping is good. My wife likes the shopping at Concord Mills just down I-85 from the hotel. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trouble38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Park, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our second stay at a Drury in and we were extremely pleased. The staff was very firendly and helpful, the hotel was clean, neat and well arranged. It was about a 10 minute drive off of Interstate 75 and was very easy to find.
We checked in at 4PM and were there in time for their 5:30 "Kickback". This is a program which gives you food and drink-even alcoholic drinks. The food was filling- we didn't need to go out for dinner! They had baked potatoes, hot dogs, chicken breasts(battered and fried), mac and cheese, soup, a small salad bar and a small nacho chip and cheese bar. I was pleasantly suppressed at the variety- it wasn't just pretzels and peanuts! Then to further the experience- they actually give you 3 beverages per checked in person. The beverages ranged from soda to wine to beer and even a choice of mixed drinks- I'll have a Tequillia sunrise, thank you very much! We sat at a very nice table and watched some televison and several employees stopped by to make sure our stay was good so far, offered to clean up our used plates and even offered to go deliver one of our redeemable beverages for us! For not being a real restaurant- they certainley served us well! FYI- you can't buy any additional alcoholic drinks, it must have something to do with their liquor license. But hey- 3 is plenty, right ? ;) Also, I should mention, there looked to be many restaurants in walking distance- if you didn't want to eat at the hotel.
The beds and pillows were very comfortable to sleep in, the shower had excellent pressure, televsion worked great- absolutely no complaints about the room! I'd also like to mention that we were on the 4th floor in the "atrium" area of the hotel, and though I feared noise might be a problem, due to the open plan, it was very quiet! Breakfast was excellent - make it yourself waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, breakfast potatoes, yogurt, oranges, bananas, instant grits and cereals- excellent way to start the day!
I would recommend this hotel to anybody! Also, we used a coupon from one of the Interstate hotel coupon books and checked in for under $65- incredible deal!

Room Tip: Use a coupon from an interstate travel coupon book to get an excellent deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Spent two nights there in the past two weeks. Have stayed before. Always very clean, with very friendly and helpful staff. Free morning and evening buffet for those trying to stretch their dollars. Nice flat screen television, refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave in room. This is why I always choose Drury Inn when available - every one I have ever stayed in from North Carolina to St. Louis matches this description.

Room Tip: I have stayed on all four floors and never had a noisy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Mineral Springs
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte University Research Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton Inn University Place
#58 of 178 in Charlotte
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place
Address: 415 W W T Harris Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28262-3343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Mineral Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#12 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#16 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#26 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Charlotte Drury Inn & Suites is located in the University City neighborhood, south of University of North Carolina and University Research Park. Our hotel is less than two miles from IKEA, and shopping and restaurants are walking distance! Your stay includes free hot breakfast and free 5:30 Kickback(R) with hot food and cold beverages - every evening! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte North Hotel Charlotte
Drury Inn And Suites Charlotte North
Drury Inn Charlotte
Drury Inn Hotel Charlotte
Drury Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing