We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business or pleasure this is the Inn for you.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place
Ranked #23 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Business or pleasure this is the Inn for you.”
Reviewed April 20, 2011

My first time staying and the experience couldn't be better. When I walked into the lobby it was breath taking so first impression certainly made a different. Shops and eatery was in walking distance. Clean and comfortable and screne. Serve complimentry breakfast and drinks for each day of stay. Yellow pages and different guides to help find what ever your looking for! There where also a internet free of service for your use if needed. I was there to get away but if you need a place to lay your head far as business concerns Drury Inn & suites will be the place to stay!

Room Tip: Make reservation ahead of time
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earthlyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    98
    19
    4
    6
See reviews for
113
96
29
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, AL
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night here during our recent road trip from Alabama to Washington, DC. This was our first experience staying in one of the Drury chain hotels, and it met or exceeded our expectations. We had previously had a bad experience at a Quality Inn in Roanoke, VA, and had decided it was worth the extra $20 to stay at the higher-ranked Drury. We were not disappointed.

We checked in late in the evening, so unfortunately we missed out on the "5:30 kickback" as they call it, which includes a free snack bar with sodas, beer, and all. We can't comment on that since we missed it, but the free snacks are an added bonus if you are checking in earlier in the day. We requested a non-smoking room and got just that. The room did not have the slightest trace of cigarette smoke. In fact, it smelled super clean when we walked in. I am somewhat of a "clean freak" and I can't stand that musty, smoky, old smell many hotels have. I love walking into the hotel room and being able to smell cleaner, because the room feels clean and it gives you the assurance that they really did clean the room! The room and bathroom were spotless. The room had a small sitting area with a reclining chair and a flatscreen TV. The bedroom/sitting area was plenty spacious, but the bathroom area was a bit small.

The next morning, we were excited to try the expanded breakfast buffet that they offer "free" of charge. We were pleasantly surprised to see scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits (frozen kind of course), french toast, waffles, sodas, juices, and a few types of pastries. The buffet area was very clean and well-presented. The dining area was also very clean and with plenty of seating. I was looking forward to having eggs, however, discovered that the appeared to be under-cooked. Because I am pregnant, I was unable to eat them. The foodservice manager was making her rounds throughout the dining area asking if everything was okay. So when she came to our table, we politely mentioned that the eggs were under-cooked and since I am expecting, I'm unable to eat them. She explained that the eggs were in fact fully cooked, but only "look" runny because they are made from bottled egg product (that sounds even more delicious! LOL). She assured us that they were safe to eat. We, however, were not convinced. As expectant parents, you can imagine you don't want to take any chances on undercooked food; when you aren't cooking it yourself, its hard to know how accurately it was prepared. The lady was very nice, but we just wish she would have offered to have her staff cook us a few eggs that were fully cooked and not runny. These eggs were obviously runny and "liquidy." Other than that, we had no problems with our stay. My husband enjoyed the breakfast. I managed to eat some sausage and a few bites of french toast (all my pregnant stomach would allow me).

We enjoyed our stay thoroughly and really did notice that Drury does offer a lot of "freebies," such as expanded breakfast, afternoon snack bar, and optional late check-out. Even though we didn't use the late check-out option, we could have called the front desk and received a 12 PM check-out for no additional charge if needed. When you are traveling and often tired, this is a big plus. Overall we had a pleasant stay and will definitely stay at Drury Hotels again the future. You could really tell the difference in the quality of the Drury versus the Choice Hotels chains we had previously stayed with.

Room Tip: Book online or call and ask for internet rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbieAU82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2011

This hotel was a great stay for our family and I. The extra's were really nice and I like their location. It was near lots of attractions. I also love the fact that TGIF shared the same parking lot with them and Chillis n Applebees were walking distance...

Pros: rooms were clean, good breakfast, free drinks, location, free long distance, really good channels on flat screen TV, They did met my request I requested prior to checking in, very quiet hotel...good for families, love the free wifi

cons:BEDS( were really small) I booked the double bed and having 2 adults on a small bed which felt smaller than a full bed was not comfy... I wish the swimming pool was actually indoor AND outdoor (the indoor was connected to outdoor) wish the pool was bigger, the washer n dryer on site well just don't bother using it, it is a waste of money, I felt that the staffs didn't really care as much as other hotels about us. During check out I expected the front desk person Amy asked us if we enjoyed our stay, she just took our card and and say have a good day...

Room Tip: top floor was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustDege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed here after a long flight back from Aruba and had wanted a nicer hotel to stay at.

We chose the Drury due to the reviews we saw about the 'added' perks. The popcorn/soda and movies they show in the evenings as well as 'happy hour' with free drinks & food. We came too late to enjoy some of those perks but it was a nice stay overall. The rooms were decent with free wifi.

The breakfast was above average and was very crowded. There was a huge line (unsure if we had a few groups staying there or what).

Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rollachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

For business or leisure travelers, this Drury is a bargain. It has the following amenities included: breakfasts, happy hour, 1-hour long distrance calls daily, wireless internet, and parking. The rooms are spacious though the decor is outdated--dark and dreary. There is an exercise room and kiosk for using their computer and printer. It is located near several chain restaurants and stores. As long as you don't stay in a room near or above the courtyard, it is reasonably quiet. You do not get a newspaper delivered to your room but USA Today is available at breakfast.
My one complaint is that the early morning front desk employee was never around and when she did show up, was not at all friendly.
OVerall, this is a no-frills motel with a lot of amentities that make it convenient for travelers.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyBobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Thanks for choosing Drury Hotels! We appreciate hearing from our guests and are happy to hear you enjoyed all of our amenities and the access to local restaurants in the area. We are sorry to hear, though, about the lack of service you received from the front desk team during the early morning hours. Your comments have been reviewed with our team so we can follow up and ensure this does not occur in the future. It is our mission for guests to enjoy a comfortable and clean stay! We truly appreciate your business and do hope to see you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Stayed at the Drury Inn 1 night during a recent visit with my daughter to see UNC Charlotte- Great service and location. 5 minutes from the campus and 5 minutes from Concord Mills- great shopping and restaurants. Wonderful full breakfast and 5:30 "kickback"- 3 cocktails per peson and appetizers. Would definetely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachlover1268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

The Drury North was a good value and well located if you did not being farily far NE of downtown Charlotte. (Maybe only about 15 mins in non-rush hour.)

In an otherwise very good experience, desk service was only fair. There was usually no one actually at the desk. You stood there and made some noise, whatever, hoping someone would emerge from the back. Very odd...

Service at the breakfast bar and evening snack was very good, however. In the evening you could easily make a dinner of the "snacks", plus, you were entitled to three free drinks, alcoholic or otherwise, each night.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Mineral Springs
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte University Research Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton Inn University Place
#57 of 178 in Charlotte
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place
Address: 415 W W T Harris Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28262-3343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Mineral Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#9 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#16 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#26 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Charlotte Drury Inn & Suites is located in the University City neighborhood, south of University of North Carolina and University Research Park. Our hotel is less than two miles from IKEA, and shopping and restaurants are walking distance! Your stay includes free hot breakfast and free 5:30 Kickback(R) with hot food and cold beverages - every evening! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte North Hotel Charlotte
Drury Inn And Suites Charlotte North
Drury Inn Charlotte
Drury Inn Hotel Charlotte
Drury Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing