We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Charlotte - University Place
Ranked #130 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Davidson, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

So you choose to stay in the least expensive furnished apartments in northern Charlotte. Then you arrive in your room and see the recliner prominently placed before the TV and all doubt is removed as to the style and target clientele. Hey, I did fine here for six weeks waiting for my relocation home to be built, just don't think your experience will be similar to the Courtyard down the street. Rooms were tired, only baths were renovated and hallways smelled like frat house on Sunday morning. Staff was great though.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FaSnizel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Charlotte - University Place, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Your comments in regards to the staff being great are much appreciated; yet, I was disheartened to read that you were not happy with our renovations and that there was an odor in the hallways. In response to your feedback, I am taking preventative measures in providing a better ventilation system to provide a fresher smell in the hallways.

The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at cup@extendedstay.com. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    5
    8
    15
See reviews for
10
4
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I just relocated here from RI and had to stay in a hotel for a little over a month straight. This hotel and the staff here are awesome. They made me feel comfortable, safe and welcome. Whenever i needed something they were right they to give me whatever i needed. Even outside the hotel, they're recommendations were helpful. Always positive energy and supportive, Caring and worried about everything. I would give this hotel MORE than just two stars.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbeville, South Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Hotel Staff is Awful...Room??...THE Running of THIS ''Hotel'' Is TERRIBLE...I Booked this thru Priceline...Thought I Was Getting A Hotel, you know, clean towels, bed made every day, room cleaned...NOT....And NOT Only Do I Have to Listen to People Walking Above Me Half The Night..Now a Screaming Child Across in the next Room...Hotel says Their Are NO Children there...I TOLD HER TO COME HEAR IT....STAY AWAY FROM EXTENDED STAY AMERICA!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

the staff was rude, there was no breakfast.. coffee and granola bar no condiments and our room was not clean!I would have rather paid a little more to stay somewhere much nicer! Don't bother keep going!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cole2276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Room, kitchen and bath were awesome. Everything looked new! Very clean! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Concerns were resolved quickly. They made every guest feel welcomed on a daily basis - including those who really had an 'extended'' stay. Thanks!

Room Tip: Corner suites have two windows and are closer to exits. Front view is best if you occasionally like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Charlotte - University Place, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Shirley - The staff and I read your review, and would like to thank you for writing such pleasant things about our staff and how friendly they were to you during your stay. I am proud of our team for not only making you feel welcome, but for making all of our guests feel family.

The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The staff at this hotel was very kind and courteous considering the circumstances regarding our stay there. My family and I stayed there due to an emergency electrical issue that displaced us from our home. Red Cross paid for the first two nights on the third day my family and I were not sure whether we would be staying another night or not, but the staff was very patient in waiting our decision and when we decided we needed to stay another night we were charged the same discounted rate that we received for the two nights prior. The patience and friendliness that we received helped us to relax and concentrate on the next few days. The only complaint is that the bathroom sink and tub area may need some updating as there were stained in the tub and sink. The room was clean and had all the necessities needed for a family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlclark327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Charlotte - University Place, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
It is so rewarding to read that you had a relaxing stay with us. Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you letting us know that the bathroom sink and tub had stains. We are sorry for these issues are working toward repairs, but are happy to read that we provided you with a clean, comfortable room, and overall great stay at our hotel.

Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel I was surprise by the size of the rooms. I like that they had laundry facility on site. Staff was very friendly. Beds comfortable after a long day at work. I will definitely stay here in the future !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Makayla25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Sleep Inn University Place
#78 of 178 in Charlotte
220 reviews
Mineral Springs
Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton Inn University Place
#58 of 178 in Charlotte
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Charlotte - University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Charlotte - University Place

Property: Extended Stay America - Charlotte - University Place
Address: 8211 University Exec Park Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262-3375
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Charlotte - University Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Charlotte - University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Charlotte
Charlotte Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing