We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Ranked #47 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Athens, Georgia
1 review
“Unbelievable”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is one of a kind. Literally. There is no other Holiday Inn like it. I have stayed at many before and have always been disppointed. This hotel has changed my mind. The staff and rooms should be standard for all Holiday Inns. The staff and management should be proud to work for such a cutting edge company. The restaurant on site is also pretty good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    250
    98
    41
    27
See reviews for
96
130
35
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed at the holiday inn for the Justin bieber.. When we arrived we were treated like royalty.. Nick and JJ gave us southern hospitality at its finest. The rooms are clean and the location is perfect.. Would recommend it to anyone going to charlotte

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Platham01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Holiday Inn in D/T Charlottel looks good but is missing a few of the basics for what is being charged. no safe , no fridge . the room looks good though and is clean.I was very disappointed with my week stay. It's one of the noisiest places I have ever stayed. Between the street noise through the window to the late nite bar noise and bass vibration I will never come back.I have been here a week for a course I am attending but will not return to Charlotte to attend again if they keep this venue. I was moved from the 4th to the 6 floor but no improvement. Once bitten , twice shy I guess,

Room Tip: Stay away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Randy L,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. It is nice to know that you have noticed the cleanliness of the room. On the other hand, I am very sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered over the noise during your stay. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC area
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The on-line pictures of this hotels' exterior are somewhat deceiving. Being my first time to Charlotte, I didn't know what to expect. We had several disappointments concerning this hotel:
1) When we entered the area for on-loading, no directional signs were posted; in addition, 3 parking spaces which appeared to be for onloading where coned off
2) Lobby is not very welcoming. It gives the impression of a Holiday Inn Express that is somewhat outdated
3) Our window faced a roof-top - totally unappealing to look at for 5-days (here on business)
4) Other reviewers noted displeasure with the sink area and its location; i totally agree. While an very modern sink, it limits the amount of bathroom counter space and its location in the room is awkward;
5) The physical layout of these rooms suck! I'm sorry that I couldn't be more positive.
I definitely would not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Definitely request not to be on the roof top side if you are on the 8th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsmoDMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear MsmoDMV,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Charlotte, NC.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Easton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a nice affordable hotel right in the middle of town. Breakfast is pretty good and the buffet good also. The valet parking was quick and efficient.
The sinks in the rooms are a bit too large and take up too much space in a room that is not that big to begin with.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bgavinsamdiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed at many different hotels all over the country. I will have to say that the hospitality I experienced at this hotel is far beyond any hotel I have EVER stayed at. From the moment you pull up, the car attendant and the bell hop make you feel like you just got home and they are there to help you unpack. No stuffy, cookie-cutter, employees here. Everyone is relaxed and being themselves and happy to help you in every way. Nick and JJ greeted us at the desk and they were both simply charming. All the employees were very helpful to us as we were visiting the city for the first time needed help finding our way around. This is not your typical Holiday Inn. Very upscale. The building is historical so the rooms are smaller. The double room is two small double beds. However, my daughter and I had no problem sharing a bed. The counter area around the sink is limited. The shower was perfect. Beds were very comfy. Within walking distance of many restaurants and entertainment. A brisk 4 block walk with have you straight to the convention center. Beautiful fountains and statues along the way. If you aren't up for the walk the hotel has a complimentary shuttle that runs everyday but Sunday.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the halls and away from the elevator would have less noise. Odd numbered rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nativegeorgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The staff at this hotel really cares! We were in town for the American Bus Association Convention. We were treated like friends, not guests. The front desk staff (JJ & Elizabeth specifically) were EXCELLENT! They really "get it" and want the guest experience to be memorable. John in the restaurant was also top shelf. He remembered my name from day one and made me feel like his friend! Took time to talk (even though he was busy) and just was terrific. All in all, one great week away from home (feeling like I belonged!)

Room Tip: High floors seem less noisey (from what others have told me)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#42 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City

Property: Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Address: 230 N. College St., Charlotte, NC 28202-2112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > First Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#47 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a little uptown ambience. Uptown always means style, class, and maybe even a little attitude. Uptown Charlotte blends arts, events and entertainment with the prestigious setting of the second largest financial center in the U.S. The Holiday Inn Charlotte Center City hotel is located in the heart of Uptown and Charlotte’s Business and Entertainment District. We are only a short walk from dozens of restaurants, entertainment, retail shops and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City Hotel Charlotte
Holiday Inn Center City
Charlotte Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing