We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Charlotte/Matthews Hotel
Ranked #96 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stopped here on our way home from Flordida and it was on our GPS. Unfortunately, it is not directly off the interstate, but about 12 minutes off in a suburb. If it wasn't so late at night, we would hvae trekked on a bit further and found a hotel closer to the highway. Being a 'plus' hotel, we expected it to be really nice, considering we have stayed at the 'regular' best westerns and they have been amazing. The gentleman at the front desk was incredibly accomdating and very friendly. Unfortunately, we weren't all too impressed with the room; it was small and only double beds (we had queens at lower rated best westerns), although they were very comfortable. The bathroom could use some renovating, too. We had a good sleep-it was quiet. The breakfast was lackluster, I know they advertise a continental, but at the other best westerns, we had hot meals, often with bacon, sausage, gravy, bicuits, tonnes of fresh fruit, etc. and they had staff making sure everything was fresh - here they didn't do that. Could definitely use some 'pluses' at this plus hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryLP1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sande R, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Charlotte/Matthews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are in the process of upgrading our breakfast which will include scrambled eggs, bacon/sausage as well as a few other items. We should have this in place within the first 2 weeks of July. I would also like to thank you for the compliment concerning our staff. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 316 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

There was loud music with heavy bass in the lobby all night. Desk clerk would not or could not turn it down. Also TV in adjoining room was very loud at 11:30 pm and clerk would not ask them to turn that down.

Room Tip: Avoid being near the lobby or first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sande R, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Charlotte/Matthews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. I apologize for the lobby music being a little loud, we have adjusted the volume so that this will no longer be a problem. If you are in the Charlotte/Matthews area we would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We got the room on Priceline for $45 + $16 in fees and taxes, so it was a great deal. Had a king sized nonsmoking room with nice towels, tv (not flat screen), frig and microwave. There was an individual room A/C heater unit which I like. Also, free parking and wi-fi. The only negative was that their website said it included a full hot breakfast with hot eggs, but it turned out to be pre-made packaged sausage biscuits with a microwave, toaster, and waffle machine. So, we went up the street for breakfast. If they had advertised it that way, I would have been fine with it and given them 5 stars (value for the $).

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank awesome1jh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sande R, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Charlotte/Matthews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us! We are in the process of upgrading our breakfast, we will be adding scrambled eggs, bacon/sausage and a few other items. We plan on having this in place by the first part of July. We'd love to see you again the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We arrived late at about 10pm. Front desk person was very nice. Speedy check in. Room was nicer than expected. Beds were very comfortable and the room was really nice. Plenty of pillows. Very clean. Bathroom was clean and nice also. Continental breakfast was good and a good variety. The person cleaning the dining area and closing up, came to us and asked did we want anything else before she put it up! That has never happened before. Would use this Best Western again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calldbyhisname7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sande R, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Charlotte/Matthews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words. I would like to apologize for the delay in responding to your review, I am the new Guest Relations Manager and am working hard to respond to all of our guests comments. We appreciate your business and hope that you come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank lmbfm
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sande R, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Charlotte/Matthews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is easily accessible at the intersection of Sardis and Independence, and next door to a Chili's restaurant. I think the price is too high for the premises. The free breakfast was a bit paltry, served on styrofoam and mostly carbs (waffles, bread, muffins). The hotel was quiet, clean, and safe, though the beds were a bit stiff. Free parking, WIFI, and cable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drdober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sande R, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Charlotte/Matthews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for your review. We have upgraded our breakfast and have added many different choices. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you return to our property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great location, convenient to all surrounding area (have family in Gastonia), good shopping nearby, room was clean but bathroom did not have vent fan and shower pressure not to great,
otherwise all good. Breakfast great for grandkids. Front desk staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sande R, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Charlotte/Matthews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

I apologize for the delay in this reply, I am the new Guest Relations Manager and I am working on catching up on all of our reviews. Thank you so much for your kind words. I have checked with our Maintenance Department concerning the issue with the water pressure and that was fixed after your departure. I hope that you will come back and see us the next time you are in the Charlotte Matthews area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte
East Forest
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn University Place
#82 of 180 in Charlotte
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Charlotte/Matthews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Charlotte/Matthews Hotel

Address: 2501 Sardis Rd N, Charlotte, NC 28227-7724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Charlotte/Matthews Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > East Forest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range: $79 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Charlotte/Matthews Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Charlotte/Matthews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Best Western
Best Western Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing