We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn University Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn University Place
Ranked #63 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“One night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel on sept 30 2012. It was one night stay, business trip. I check in late due to late arrival. For the price my room was great. Service was excellent. And the hotel is in a great location, with restaurants near by. Definitely positive experience over all.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalgorzataF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while on town for business. I really appreciate that you took the time to write this review. We hope to see you for future visits to Charlotte!
Thank you,
Sam Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    57
    33
    11
    10
See reviews for
50
48
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My job entails traveling almost every week, every year, so I am familiar with almost every national hotel chain. My recent stay in Charlotte was my first at a Sleep Inn and frankly, I was amazed and pleased. I usually ask a lot of questions during my hotel stays re: where to get gas, recommended restaurants, the best/fastest roads to my client destinations, and where to food shop (I sometimes prefer to eat in my hotel room to maximize my time and keep costs in line). I received immediate and accurate info from the front desk staff and found them to be very pleasant. The breakfast hostess and the housekeepers were equally helpful and seemed to be happy to be working there. I ran into the hotel Manager and commented on these observations to him and found out that many of his staff had been there for years. That spoke volumes to me at a time when few businesses are able to retain good people, and it explained why the service was so good and the hotel so clean. My stay here had everything I needed for me to conduct business without worries: a comfortable bed, substantial breakfast, large flat screen TV, a micro-fridge combo, and even an oversized shower. All that plus truly nice people who appreciated me and never gave the impression I was bothering them. This will be my ongoing home away from home whenever I return to Charlotte. Overall, this is a fabulous value and really was an "excellent surprise."

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Charlotte. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. It was nice talking with you at checkout time. I really appreciate that you took the time to post your review. This area has so much to offer and we are always happy to help guests find their way around. We look forward to seeing you on future trips at your new home away from home.
Thank you,
Sam Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Excellent experience! Staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. Our room, though a bit on the small side, was extremely clean and modern looking. We had free Wi-Fi and a large screen LCD TV in our room. There was a microwave, mini fridge, iron, and ironing board in the room as well as a coffee maker but there wasn't much need for it as there was free coffee available in the lobby 24 hours. The free breakfast in the morning was delicious with loads of options-- fresh fruit, make-your-own belgian waffles, Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches, packaged pastries, donuts, yogurt, dry cereal... basically a whole load of options! For less than $70 a night it was more than a fantastic deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Charlotte. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I really appreciate that you took the time to post your review. We look forward to seeing you on future trips.
Thank you,
Sam Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Staff so friendly and accomodating!! Clean, pretty rooms!! Great breakfast and amazing pool!! Went there on business and it felt like a vacation! Hot, cozy showers and hot fresh coffee all day!! Will be back to stay again!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteelersFandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Charlotte! I really appreciate that you took the time to write this review. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and took some time to relax while here on business. We look forward to seeing you on future trips.
Thank you,
Sam Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

the room was small and the bathroom was big and easily accessible for wheelchairs. we were in a handicapped room so i dont know what the regular rooms are like. we had a microwave, a small fridge, an iron and board and a cabinet to hang clothes. the staff was very nice and the location was close to the verizon amphitheatre, buffalo wild wings and the speedway. the bed was comfy. the ice machine was out on our floor, but the staff was aware of this. will def book again when we are in charlotte for a concert!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garfieldgirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Charlotte. I am happy to hear that your room worked out perfect for you. Sorry about that 3rd floor ice machine, it has been fixed now. We hope to see you for future concerts.
Thank you,
Sam Lucas
General Manager
Sleep Inn University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesup, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I've stayed here two times, and both times, both times in newly remodeled, nicely furnished rooms. The staff is very pleasant and helpful, helping me with finding restaurants (including printing directions). The continental breakfast had a nice variety of options. All-in-all, a quality place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Charlotte. I really appreciate that you took the time to write this review. We look forward to seeing you on future trips.
Thank you,
Sam Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The staff was plesant and the hotel was clean. We enjoyed the breaksfast. The staff helped us find the VA clinc and had directions already printed for us when we arrived.we will stay at a Sleep Inn again when we travel. I would recommend Sleep Inn to my family and my friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judith e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Charlotte. I really appreciate that you took the time to write a review. We hope to accomodate you on future trips.
Thank you,
Sam Lucas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eagle Lake
Sleep Inn Billy Graham Parkway
Mineral Springs
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#102 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn University Place

Property: Sleep Inn University Place
Address: 8525 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28262-3420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#48 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn University Place 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Otel, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sleep Inn University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn University Place Hotel Charlotte
Sleep Inn Charlotte
Charlotte Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing