We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
Ranked #25 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville SC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed just one night at this hotel. It was perfect for our visit to the NC Music Factory. It was just a few minutes away from the venue for the concert we were there to attend. The room itself was clean and comfortable. Overall I would definitely stay here again and the price was great.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zwpreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location was perfect for your night out. Look forward to seeing you for the next concert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    293
    126
    49
    17
See reviews for
210
178
60
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I wish I did not have to pay to park, but what was I thinking, I was in the city of Charlotte, NC. Also the double beds were really small, next time I will go with a one bed room. Overall, I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Johnny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. Hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My wife and I decided to spend our anniversary in a nice hotel on the way to visit family in Pennsylvania. I wanted to see downtown Charlotte. In retrospect, we would have preferred to stay outside the city and save the bucks. The hotel charges $15 for parking on top of the relatively high rate for their room, ouch.

Breakfast was not included in the stay, either, and the hotel "restaurant" is actually the bar. Very disappointing. We thoroughly enjoyed the room service on our special night, and you can't get that at Econo Lodge! But then, I fell asleep anyway.

Room Tip: Be prepared to pay for parking. Room service food is excellent. Breakfast is served in the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy you chose us to celebrate your anniversary with. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stay in this hotel every time I travel to Charlotte on business (about 25 nights per year). The rooms are always clean and the staff is always friendly. The hotel is within walking distance of uptown. The hotel is in a much quieter area when compared to those hotels in the uptown area, and thus outside noise is reduced.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Robert S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you soon. Until then we will keep your cookie warm for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our group was delayed at check-in in which caused additional issues throughout our stay. When our group finally got the keys to check-in to the room, all members were not aware of the free breakfast until all paid for their meals at the end of our stay. The Double Tree is always know for their cookies and we had to ask for ours during check-in. I certainly hope nobody else goes through the same experience that we went through.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Again, we apologize for the poor level of service and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I didn't expect to have to pay extra for parking, microwave and refrigerater(lower qualtiy hotels offer this amenities for free). No continental breakfast and location of hotel near very few restaurants and entertainment facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Armando R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Do do apologize for the lack of communication about our amenities when you made your reservation. We will work with our team here at the hotel and in reservations. We do have refrigerators in all of our guest rooms, however we do not have microwave's. Microwave's are available upon request and availibility for a small daily fee. Unfortunately we do not own our parking deck and have negotiated with the owners to allow our guests to use it. We are one of the lowest in Uptown Charlotte. Thank you again for sharing your experience as this is the only way we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very nice hotel. Clean. Easy to get to. Chose it randomly on the internet. It was a great price. Check in took a minute. Parking is very easy, right at door. Its 5 mins of I-85. Its easy to jump on and off of 85. The hotel is immaculate. The beds are so confortable that you melt into them.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Brooke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thanks for staying us. We’re glad your random choice had you staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#32 of 178 in Charlotte
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
Address: 895 W Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Third Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#39 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#44 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charlotte
Doubletree Charlotte
Charlotte Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing