We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
Ranked #28 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, United States
2 reviews
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Awesome and helpful staff! Clean rooms, safe location, and quick check in and check out! I would definitely come back! The restaurant has good food and the breakfast buffet was good as well. The hotel is located right in the heart of JWU's campus so if you're a parent visiting your JWU child, its a perfect place. Not far from downtown activities and South Park Mall! Awesome!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in). We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    287
    125
    49
    17
See reviews for
203
172
59
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend. The location was good for us - not in the noisy downtown, but only a short walk from great restaurants and things to do. Quick access to highways. Room and beds a bit small for the price. Wait staff at breakfast was wonderful! Room was clean and quiet. But, had to pay for a bottle of water; hard to park a large pickup in the parking garage; had to ask for our cookie.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the lack of cookie at check in. I have shared your comments with our Front Office Manager and steps will be taken to ensure that it doesn't occur in the future.

Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESAPEAKE, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I am in the Service Busniess and understand the importance of good customer service. I have a couple of unpleasants issure during my stay the two of the staff members changed that around for me. I loved the location as I was visit Johnson & Wales. I plan on visiting the area alot in the near future and will be staying at the Double Tree

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tiffany E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I'm sorry that you had some unpleasant issues while you were with us. Very glad to hear that two team members did do what was needed to turn your unpleasant experience into a positive one. I hope you will return should your travels bring you back this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Not a bad place at all. Clean, good location, friendly staff. Overall a good experience for the cost. Parking and internet fees can spike the overall cost, though, and I believe these should be included and not add-ons.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank c_bomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you return in the near future. Safe travels.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Overall the hotel, the staff, and the room was very nice and clean. Although I only stayed one night, the only thing that bothered me was that there wasn't a small fridge to store my food because I am coming from a different state. I can go to a motel for ¼ of the price of this stay and I would have had a fridge in my room. IF I needed to stay longer than 3 days, then that would be a problem. But other than that, I loved the stay, the staff and the beautiful room with amazing views of Charlotte, I will come back to this hotel. :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks for staying with us. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am also happy to say we are in the process of installing refrigerators in all of our guest rooms, as you can imagine this process does take a bit of time. W are hoping to have this project completed by the beginning of next year. I do apologize that you did not have a room with one. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2013

As always, I enjoy coming to your hotel to stay. The service is impeccable and the rooms are wonderful. You are my go to place whenever I visit my daughter (who attends Johnson & Wales University) in Charlotte. I highly recommend you hotel to everyone. They will not be disappointed. Thank you for having me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Your comments about your stay made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was not happy with our visit. The location was nice but the staff was not pleasant at all. We were not greeted or told about any of the amenities that the hotel had to offer. The breakfast was good. The nicest staff was from housekeeping. The front desk was not helpful with any information.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tantiana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
First Ward
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
Address: 895 W Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Third Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#39 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#44 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charlotte
Doubletree Charlotte
Charlotte Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing