We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient is the best I can say” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
Ranked #46 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Convenient is the best I can say”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed at the hotel on business for three nights. It was convenient for my needs but not much else. Yes, the rooms were clean and the staff efficient but that's about all. The restaurant was forgettable with an uninspired menu for dinner and the same breakfast options for the past several years. Seems a pity...the selection of other restaurants in the area is limited so they could keep more guests in the hotel for dinner if they menu were improved. Also, charging for. Wireless connectivity? In a time where each hotel strives to differentiate itself the addition of these, nickel-and-dime-fees is rather off putting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the school.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad that our hotel was convenient for your business needs and that you found our guestrooms clean and our staff efficient. I appreciate your comments regarding our menu selections. We are in the design phase of a new restaurant concept which will not only create a new more inviting space, but with that will come a revamped menu with many local and regional selections. Incidentally, we recently implemented our new Doubletree by Hilton breakfast menus. I hope that you will return and try one of our new items. The Bread Pudding French Toast and the Wake-Up Sliders are awesome! Thank you again for your review and please feel free to contact me directly when I may be of service or assistance to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    254
    113
    42
    11
See reviews for
172
143
48
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great location, clean rooms and lobby. Spacious room and bathroom. Loved our Valet, Curtis he was so so helpful and professional. He is a real asset! Front Desk staff at check in could have been nicer...but check out staff was great! Check in and out was quick and easy. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PanicMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate your time and the feedback you provided. These comments enable us to improve our guest service and our product. We hope to see you again in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel was great if you're going to a game at the stadium. We were walking distance from the stadium and most of the things in downtown Charlotte. (It is at the edge of downtown, so it is a bit of walk, but that was okay with us).

The hotel was clean and the staff was nice.

The shower head was a little low (tall people beware) and the pillows were flimsy and not very comfortable. Unfortunately we didn't sleep well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearcatgirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Your comments about your stay at our hotel made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). However we would like to apologize for the comfort issues you experienced with our shower and our pillows. We will be sure to work with our housekeeping team to ensure that all of our pillows are up to standard. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

From the arrival to the bell staff to everyone there, thanks for the First Class Service.

In town for the Belk Bowl Game. The room was average size and had a sort Chaise chair for relaxing. The bed was very comfortable.

One highlight was the excellent staff. Room service was fast and the food very tasty. When we had a problem with the in room safe, a technician was at the door within 10 minutes and fixed it immediately. Even brought up a new key after getting the safe fixed.

The breakfast buffet had a good selection and as a Gold HHonors member, free as was WiFi, again for a Gold member.

Parking was not cheap ($13) but convenient

I would stay again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skibuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at with us. Hope to see you return in the near future. Safe travels.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My friend and I stayed here and attended a Panthers game! We arrived at hotel early, the staff was VERY friendly and helpful. Our room was not yet ready (it was only 11 am, check-in time is 3) we parked in hotel garage and were able to walk to the game in minutes. Upon checkin we were greeted by different and equally as friendly staff, and given a yummy warm cookie. The room was beautiful, clean, and bed was super comfy with good linens (this is a must for me). The bathroom even had a recycle bin in with the trash can-----FANTASTIC. HUGE PLUS for me! I WILL BE BACK. THANKS

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marjorieJ72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Your comments about your stay at made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). Hope to see you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here for the ACC championship game. The front desk staff was friendly and accomodating! We were greeted with a smile and a warm cookie at check-in!! Our room was CLEAN and perfect. The bed was comfortable and the shower was great. It was in the PERFECT location! About 1 mile walk from the BOA stadium and downtown restaurants. Loved it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thanks for staying with us. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in). Hope your team won the game. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Great place. The staff are quite courteous -- meaning that I was always greeted with sincere smiles, by name after a day or so, and interactions were sincere. I think that this is the best one can ask for in customer service. I was using public transport during my visits, so having Gold Rush line nearby for free into downtown was a real bonus. It is pretty quiet, peaceful at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your comments put a smile on my face. I am so happy that you had a wonderful experience at our property. WE look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Third Ward
Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
First Ward
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
Address: 895 W Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Third Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#39 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#44 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charlotte
Doubletree Charlotte
Charlotte Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing