We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cross between a Hilton and a Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Charlotte - South Park
Ranked #3 of 182 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed on a Friday night for a birthday celebration. The location is perfect for what we wanted to do--walk to Dean and Delucca's Wine Room for a lovely lunch, go a few steps for an early afternoon movie, wander into the many upscale stores, have a drink at the Palm, go back to the hotel to dress for a meal at the Upstream. All of these locations are on one pleasantly walkable street--along with P.F. Chang's and Wolfgang Puck. A French bistro (can't remember the name) is right behind the hotel--again a few steps away.

The hotel itself is much more upscale than a Hampton Inn; in fact, it's more upscale than many Hiltons. Our room (standard) was quite large and furnished much more nicely than the usual Hilton hotel. There was even a jet tub with a mirrored wall located in its own alcove. The bathroom was nice with a TV in the mirror over the vanity.

The lobby is beautiful and luxuriously appointed, and the people in reception are friendly and accommodating. The exterior of the hotel is quite imposing at the end of the street.

So why as I giving this hotel a 4 instead of a 5? 1) The bath amenities (soap, lotion, etc.) are very basic--the same ones used in an ordinary HI off an interstate. 2) The toweling is also very basic--small and thin. 3) No glassware at all--only paper cups. 4) The nightly rate (even weekend) is high, which is understandable given the location and the physical accommodations of the hotel; however, the low quality of the bath amenities, toweling, and lack of glassware do detract from an otherwise excellent hotel experience. It almost seems as though the owners can't decide if this is a Hilton (a nice one!) or a Hampton Inn.

Would we stay here again? Yes--the overall experience at this beautiful hotel outweighs the the downside.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank r0ckhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 738 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

The service and the location are very good here with easy check in and check out. The room was clean and had nice amenities with wi-fi, TV, very clean & even a tv in the mirror in the bathroom. I would have rated this between average and very good as the towels were not what I expect in a hotel and the pillows were so-so. Service was very good though with housekeeping saving a belonging I'd left behind and turning it in to the front desk. Easy commute to the airport and several good places to eat close by.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Pesmith929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Overall stay was excellent! I was not pleased with parking on the side of the hotel. Being a woman and traveling at night I felt uneasy about parking. The parking lot is located in between a restaurant and townhomes. There needs to be a Security Guard patrolling the lot at all times.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Una G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was part of a group, so I stayed at this hotel because it was selected for our group block. I was very impressed with the cleanliness, modern amentites, and the location of the hotel. Since I did not have access to a car, the proximity to shopping, restaurants, with a Dean and Deluca and a Whole Foods around the corner was really helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is simply the nicest Hampton Inn in their system. They are all nice, but this is a nice place, in the best part of the city, walking to everything...it's great! I grew up in Charlotte, and "Southpark" is where all the good restaurants are, much commerce, and it's runner, shopping, foodie, friendly!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I am sure this is the nicest Hampton in the world because it is nearly the nicest of all Hilton properties I've stayed in including some five star properties. Very clean, quiet, comfortable, great location TV in the mirror is cool. This Hampton was built with very high quality. It is unlike any other. Choose this hotel over any other property, even full service Marriott or Doubletree because this place is much nicer. Restaurants are right outside the door from PF Changs to the Palm Steakhouse.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank chr1524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here a while ago, and I couldn't be more pleased with this hotel. We came down for just 1 night for a race, but I begged to stay longer although we could not.
Pros: area (right in the center of shopping outlets and restaurants *MUST TRY PINKBERRY), Fountain (the simplest lion fountain in front of the hotel added the perfect touch to this already perfect hotel), rooms (very spacious, even with TVs in the bathroom mirrors!), pool (secluded, perfect for a private leisurely swim), breakfast (wide variety of complimentary foods)
Cons: some staff members (had trouble checking in, not a very patient staff woman, but was soon replaced by wonderful young man)
All in all, I give this hotel 5 out of 5 stars. The only con of the one staff member can be understood as everyone has their bad days. I would recommend this hotel for either friend, romantic, or family vacations. This hotel suits everyone. Best hotel I've stayed at in a VERY long time.

Stayed: October 2013
2  Thank sierrra126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 182 in Charlotte
181 reviews
Barclay Downs
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - SouthPark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barclay Downs
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
#9 of 182 in Charlotte
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Charlotte - South Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Charlotte - South Park

Address: 6700 Phillips Place Ct, Charlotte, NC 28210-2719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#1 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $143 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Charlotte - South Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the premiere area of SouthPark, our 124 room hotel stands as the focal point of a beautiful European style boutique village. Blending contemporary tones with classic elegance and southern hospitality, we strive to make your stay a truly exceptional experience. Our venue is committed to serving you and your guests in every way possible, a level of customer service that we refer to as our SouthPark Tradition of Excellence. This level of service and personableness is unmatched, and defines who we are as a hotel. Whether you are looking at reception space for your big day, or a comfortable and relaxing environment for your visit to Charlotte, our hotel can accommodate your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Charlotte - South Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlotte - South Park Hotel Charlotte
Hampton Inn South Park
Charlotte Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing