We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, but not the nicest location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn University Place
Ranked #58 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Eatonton, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Convenient, but not the nicest location.”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel is a little older and it seems to be near the edge of a bad area, yet it's conveniently located to highways, shopping, restaurants, the university, speedway etc. The TV reception, and the number and location of outlets, was poor. If you're there on business, there is only a table, not a desk with a work chair. The fitness center, located near the elevator, doesn't open until 6AM, which was too late for my schedule, so I was unable to use it; however, it had 2 treadmills, 1 eliptical, 1 stair climber and a balance ball. A free breakfast buffet is open 6-10, but I didn't eat there. Vending machines are on floors 1, 3 & 6 for snacks and every floor for soda. The pool is open 9AM-10PM. Valet laundry is available M-F - out by 8AM and in by 6PM. I didn't receive a USA Today the first morning. Check-in was very busy. Although there were 2 clerks, one was new and in training. Next time in the area, I would probably try someplace else, although I didn't have a bad experience.

Room Tip: 6 floors. End of hall "00" & "03" and "25" & "26". N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDee134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, General Manager at Hampton Inn University Place, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear DeeDee134,
Thank you very much for taking the time to respond to Trip Advisor. We will be going through a room renovation starting in March and we are adding outlets and the new features will be business friendly. We do make exception if you need to use our workout facility earlier than 6AM.
I wish the next time your in the area please give me a call and give us another try so we can show you are Hamptonality.
Thanks for staying with us.
Steve Cotton
General Manager
704-548-0905
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    137
    70
    48
    27
See reviews for
173
104
33
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I did not care for this Hampton. The food was terrible. The coffee was putrid; I went to Starbucks to drink my coffee which in essence added $5 to my fare. In addition, I asked for a bottle opener at the desk; they did not have one. So, I went shopping for one which added another $4 to my fare!
The hotel advertises that it is into recycling and reusing. Until you get to the breakfast...Meals are served on styrofoam which is a known carcinogen and pollutes the landfills. It does not decompose!
The meal options were mostly white breads and pastries, rubbery eggs and high fat sausage and other options. The only whole grain options were raisin bran and gloppy oatmeal. YUK. I was afraid to eat the melon offered since who knows what preservatives were in them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewMediaMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, General Manager at Hampton Inn University Place, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Newsmediamajor,
Thank you very much for your response on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry for the problems you encountered at my hotel. We are working on improving our food choices at breakfast. I will work on getting better products that are biodegradable.
I wish you would give us another try in the future and see if we can do better.
Sincerely,
Steve Cotton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I was a little disappointed with my stay at the Hampton Inn. Usually have a great experience anytime I stay at the one in Ohio, but not this time. Our hotel room seemed very humid. So humid that the floor actually felt a little damp. Also true in my mothers room across the hall. Our room was never cleaned...we returned from our trip to Carowinds to find our room had not been touched, towels never replaced, bed was untouched. When I called to get more towels, I had to go down to the front desk to get them and they didn't give us the wash clothes. Breakfast could have been better...also. So, next time I'm in Charlotte, I will be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ymontgomery128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, General Manager at Hampton Inn University Place, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Ymontgomery128,
I am so sorry for the problems you had at our hotel. We are a new management team at the Hampton Inn are looking into the humidity issues at the hotel.
Again, I am so sorry for your experience and I hope you can give us another try in the future.
Sincerely,
Steve Cotton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed here on last night in Charlotte. It was very clean and comfortable. Location was easy to find and had a great night sleep. Staff friendly. Only had problem with business center. We were not abe to print out boarding passes and seems like this was ongoing problem for hotel staff. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disapointed32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here because it was close to the IKEA store. No problems, the room was typically what I would expect from a Hampton Inn. Comfy bed, clean and attractive room. Convenient location for shopping and dining.

Room Tip: We stayed in a king room on the sixth floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoiesgramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I searched and searched for a good hotel in Charlotte. I had never been and wasn't sure if staying in the University area would be far away from all the sites, but it was great. Only took about 15 minutes to get downtown. There are also many good restaurants and shopping close by. The University of North Carolina at Charlotte is also close by, which is great.

The room was clean and comfy. The service from the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was the best hotel breakfast I've ever had! Lots to choose from! (The only problem being trying to find a seat some mornings because of the crowds.) They even have cookies throughout the day.

Free parking and always easy to find a spot.

Wi-fi in the rooms worked well.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash-a-lee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Summation: all three rooms we were shown we're filthy. Hair grease all over one headboard with no towels stocked; stained duvet covers with wrinkled sheets and no towels in the second, and just no towels with streakily clean room in the third. This was three rooms on two different floors that were not clean. One young man at the front desk was trying to keep up with the line of people checking in and the manager was around the corner; she lifted not one finger to help him. People kept mentioning that the cookie tray was empty and the desk person made no attempt to refill it. Worst Hampton Inn ever. Do not use it!

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MKWMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, General Manager at Hampton Inn University Place, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear MKWMD,
I am very sorry for the bad experience you had at the hotel. Sorry for the late response we are a new management team taking over the Hampton Inn. There is no excuse for the poor experience you had at the Hampton Inn. We have really made some nice changes to the housekeeping department and the hotel in general.
I really wish you would give us another try and I would be happy to show you the improvements.
Sincerely,
Steve Cotton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Mineral Springs
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte University Research Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn University Place
#78 of 178 in Charlotte
222 reviews
Mineral Springs
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn University Place

Property: Hampton Inn University Place
Address: 8419 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28262-3418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#45 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#58 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn University Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inexpensive accommodation with special low price for Petty students. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn University Place Hotel Charlotte
University Place Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Charlotte
Charlotte Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing