We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great value, consistently great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road
Ranked #35 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value, consistently great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is our 2nd time staying at Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport for a quick overnight business trip. This place offers consistently great customer service from check-in through check-out. The price is very competitive for this area, and for what you get at this price -- the suite-style room with huge couch, desk, mini-fridge, modern fixtures, customer service, the breakfast, free wifi (solid signal), quiet location -- I haven't found anything better in the Queen City, and I'm not being dramatic. It's near the airport with free shuttle service, but also not far from downtown. My favorite part is seeing the staff, all of whom seem genuinely excited about what they do and about making our stay pleasant. Kudos, Hyatt Place on Tyvola!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shonesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    190
    62
    25
    19
See reviews for
131
131
44
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

This was a great hotel friendly staff
There was a good breakfast area
The housekeeping was great
Near a couple of nice restaurants
The area was safe and quite
Not to difficult for an out of tower to find with a good GPS the facility was very good
Worked our daily
My wife lived the hotel
We will stay again
I will recommend to friends

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Nice proximity to the airport, wouldn't recommend for kids as you can hear and see the planes pretty much hourly.

Huge, comfy bed with a separate living area. I loved the mini fridge but wish there was a microwave. Just know that you can only get ice on the 1st, 3rd, and 5th floors which is kind of inconvenient but not terrible.

Overall I highly recommend, great free breakfast that starts at 6am.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher floors and rooms on the ends of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssullivan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

To avoid those lengthy excursions to the airport parking lots, with overloaded buses, demure drivers and poorly lit parking lots, the Park and Fly formula at the Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road is ideal. Book one night and you can leave your car at the hotel, conveniently located in the immediate airport area. Get a parking permit free and travel without worries, knowing your car is in a well-lit lot with plenty of activity.

A phone call will get you picked up, the drivers are friendly and efficient, eager to help. As is the entire Hyatt Place 'Host'-staff: they'll check you in, make you an espresso, serve breakfast,and multi-task in variety of ways. The rooms are large, comfortable and the mega-TV conveniently located where power hook-ups are and cable connections for your own electronica.

Great sound insulation, black-out curtains, good amenities, ample linen, this hotel is ready for business. The new sliding shower door configuration is a huge improvement, as are the Speakman shower heads. The new desk lamps are brighter. On a slight note:I discourage rooms ending in between -12 and -16 since they are near the elevator.

I recommend this hotel for anyone flying in/out of Charlotte. You will not be disappointed!

Everything works at the Hyatt Place: the staff cheerfully recognizes return guests

Room Tip: On a slight note: I discourage rooms ending in between -12 and -16 since they are near the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walthervliegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Was in town for a business trip, always try to stay here when there are available rooms.
Check in was fast and friendly, with an immediate offer of a wake up call and I was offered my choice of a room on a couple of different floors.
Rooms are mini suites with large flat screen TV media input panel, free WiFi, fridge, coffee, etc. King size bed was very comfortable, and the room was clean, spacious, and well laid out.
Front desk staff greeted me by name every time I came and went, always asked if there was anything I needed.
The Gallery selection has greatly expanded and you can now get freshly made food to order 24x7 at very reasonable prices.. Wide selection of cuisines.
The free breakfast has improved with delicious breakfast sandwiches, oatmeal, plus the standard continental breakfast fare.
This hotel always makes me feel welcome, valued, and comfortable. My first pick in the CLT area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel is very much a typical Hyatt Place - but there are no "good" restaurants close by... Those that are close are not anything to brag about - on my last stay here (stayed about 5 times) I drove into the City about 8 - 9 miles... The airport is close and the Hotel is quiet...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at many Hyatt hotels for business and have appreciated their well-appointed rooms and hearty complementary breakfasts. I was disappointed to find this location didn't live up to past experiences with Hyatts. At breakfast my colleagues and I sorted through five plates on the buffet before finding one that wasn't just clean, but simply clean enough. Food was visibly crusted onto silverware and the plastic mugs and plates. Breakfast was good, but a standard continental style, whereas other locations had omelet stations, etc.
The front desk was staffed with three people but around the corner the bar was left empty for long enough that we gave up in two different occasions. The folks at the front desk were very helpful with calling a cab and dinner recommendations, both which were much appreciated. While in town we spotted a number of Hyatts, even close by. Perhaps those better represent the brand?

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Occhiperonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Eagle Lake
Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Lake Pointe
Eagle Lake
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte Airport
Eagle Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eagle Lake
No photo provided
HYATT house Charlotte Airport
#44 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road

Property: Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road
Address: 2950 Oak Lake Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28208-7718 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Eagle Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#21 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#43 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just west of uptown Charlotte and four miles from the Charlotte Douglas International Airport, the Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road hotel is centrally located to popular area attractions including the Charlotte Motor Speedway, Bank of America Stadium, the Carowinds Amusement Park and the Billy Graham Library. Ideal for business travelers, couples looking for a getaway, and busy families, Hyatt Place features a selected range of services aimed at providing casual hospitality in a well-designed, high-tech and contemporary environment. Our free high speed wireless internet allows you to stay connected in the comfort of your room, or utilize our business center for any other printing or computing needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road Hotel Charlotte
Hyatt Charlotte
Charlotte Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing