We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge Rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road
Ranked #39 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Huge Rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

As soon as I opened the door to my room, I knew my stay was going to be great. The sitting room part of the room had a large couch with ottoman. There was even a blanket for me to snuggle under while I watched TV and worked during the evenings. The mini fridge was a nice addition, too. The large flat screen TV that could be viewed from either the bed or couch was great.

The complimentary breakfast was okay, but they had other options to purchase if I had wished.

The staff was very friendly and welcomed me back each evening.

The free wi-fi was appreciated and made my work that much easier. However, it wasn't as fast as other places I've stayed.

My only complaint was that my room was too close to the elevator and I could hear it while sitting on the couch. However, once I moved to the bed, I couldn't hear it anymore.

Great overall stay and I will definitely stay again while in the Charlotte area.

Sincerely,

Time Traveler

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Time_Traveler132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    214
    71
    29
    30
See reviews for
155
151
58
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Business travel is a pain.

What one is usually looking for is an hotel that is clean, comfortable, has free wi-fi, a gym, a bar and is a walk from a restaurant.

The Hyatt has all of these, a pool, and a small area where it is possible to print a boarding pass. Two things stand out.

The first is the staff; rarely have I found such helpful and friendly staff on check in and around the hotel.

The second is the breakfast arrangement. Cereal and fruit are free, but anything cooked is a paid for extra. One orders via a touch screen, pays by swiping the room key and then you wait. Anticipation builds for french toast, or pancakes or eggs benedict, but after a while - and then a bit more of a while - is nudged out of the way by curioisity. Is there actually anybody behind the serving hatch? Is this some kind of elaborate hoax? Exploration around the back of the kitchen area reaveals a locked door and some banging. What is going on in there? Is it human? Smurf? Womble? No-one ever finds out, because food appears - eventually - served at your table with the same friendly smile that is shared by all the staff. But you never find out how it got there.....

Stay here. You will not be disappointed

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daisy_ZB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed overnight at this hotel on July 28th when we were in town for the American Idol concert. It was a very nice hotel with friendly staff. The rooms were huge (opinion) and very clean and had all of the amenities. We didn't get up early enough for the complimentary breakfast and we didn't take advantage of the sandwiches or other meals available (however, it sure smelled great) but we did have two Appletini's from the bar pre-concert. The drinks were very good! The free wifi was a definite plus. Overall, it was an excellent stay for the price, I only wish we had more time to take advantage of all the hotel had to offer. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rca76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

stayed here a few nights. first class hotel for a good price. rooms were up to date. very clean. bathroom very clean.. the front desk were excellent and very helpfull. food was great.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluetopaz60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I've travelled quite a bit and stayed in many hotels throughout the country. This is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed at. The rooms are very spacious, very clean, and have a wet coffee/drink bar area. The beds are exceptionally comfortable, and the staff is courteous. A complimentary breakfast buffet is available in the morning, and the food quality is better than average. As a bonus, there is also a very good sports bar and grill located about 200 feet from the main doors. The hotel is within a 10 minute drive from the airport, so if you're arriving into Charlotte late at night (like I was), it is also conveniently located. I would stay here again any chance I got.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FortunateSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel for a month now due to a business requirement and this has been one of the most pleasant experiences thus far. I was a little skeptical at the first because they did not have a kitchenette and that was a problem but the way that the staff and manager accommodated my requirements is something I have not experienced in any other hotel.
The facilities are excellent for the price that you pay and the close proximity to the airport is a very big advantage. The shuttle service takes you around to most places you need to and this hotel is very closely located to the nearby business areas as well. The gym facilities are well maintained and the complimentary morning breakfast is a decent spread. Dont forget to ask for the managers reception that happens every week.
The rooms are spacious and well maintained and have most of the facilities that one would require. The beds are very comfortable and there is enough space to not feel cramped. Free WiFi is also a big plus and the connectivity is seamless.
One of the main plus points of this place are the people working here. It is evident that they are all extremely competent and dedicated and do not mind the extra mile for their guests. Ever smiling and pleasant, they will really help you out with most of your issues. I would like to congratulate the manager Catherine for doing an excellent job.
One of the few issues that could be sorted out is that there is not enough storage space in the rooms. Especially if you are travelling for a longer duration. Also, if there could be a way of renewing your internet connection without having to login and register everyday, that would be fantastic.
Overall this has been a great experience and I would definitely want to stay here if I do come back.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room near the elevator. Dont forget the managers reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bishnoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
231 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

While I would agree this is not a luxury or full-service hotel, it is definitley a cut above hotels that cater to business travelers. The rooms are spacious, clean, well-lit, nicely furnished. When I come to CLT again, I will actively attempt to book in this hotel.

A couple of constructive comments:

When I first opened the door to my room and looked in, lights had been left on, strategically it seemed, to paint a welcoming picture of the room. One of those lights was in the bathroom. Unfortunately the image was ruined by the roaring and clattering of the bathroom fan. I probably would not have noticed the noisy fan had it not been for this attempt at a great first impression.

The desk and television in the room are positioned so that you cannot see the TV from the desk unless you move the desk across the room. The desk is on rollers, so it should be simple to move, but one of the desk legs was loose enough to be almost falling off, making it quite rickety. I wish I traveled with pliers!

Room Tip: Upper floors are really nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfafftonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Eagle Lake
Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Lake Pointe
Eagle Lake
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte Airport
Eagle Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
HYATT house Charlotte Airport
#28 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road

Property: Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road
Address: 2950 Oak Lake Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28208-7718 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Eagle Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#21 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#43 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just west of uptown Charlotte and four miles from the Charlotte Douglas International Airport, the Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road hotel is centrally located to popular area attractions including the Charlotte Motor Speedway, Bank of America Stadium, the Carowinds Amusement Park and the Billy Graham Library. Ideal for business travelers, couples looking for a getaway, and busy families, Hyatt Place features a selected range of services aimed at providing casual hospitality in a well-designed, high-tech and contemporary environment. Our free high speed wireless internet allows you to stay connected in the comfort of your room, or utilize our business center for any other printing or computing needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road Hotel Charlotte
Hyatt Charlotte
Charlotte Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing