We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really recommend this place - Fresh interior, pleasant staff, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South
Ranked #57 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Key West, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“I really recommend this place - Fresh interior, pleasant staff, convenient location”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Really, what else do you want from a hotel? I really like this La Quinta and it is my stopping place of choice as a snowbird (who am I kidding, I travel this route almost X2 a month!) en route from Toronto-Florida Keys-Toronto. I've stayed here at least 3 times - thought I had reviewed it before, but it appears not.

The rooms here are clean, up to date, the heating and a/c work well. Rooms have a nice design feature to them to - a little alcove for the fridge for those rooms that have them - someone actually planned the rooms so they weren't simply a box!

They welcome dogs and there are two good dog walking routes right near the hotel. Hotel is near the freeway. Showers have good shower heads and plenty of hot water. Internet works like a charm. Breakfast included is basic (but as with all LQ's - full of carbs and sugar; really wish they'd get some healthier fare). The parking lot is well lit out front (having said that, caution is due - the hotel is very careful to warn you to take sensible precautions about your car and the one time I saw something shady in the parking lot, they had security address it IMMEDIATELY. Reasonable hotel rates (you save more if you book 2 weeks in advance). Part of the chains reward system that, in broad terms, you get a free night for every ten stays.

Dog friendly hotel - meaning no extra charge for dogs - is perfect as we like to travel with our dog (which is why we don't fly much on these trips).

My non-nuclear family stays here (tripadvisor, change your icons please), so I'm calling this "couples". LGBT friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IaOrana_Maruuruu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    274
    157
    67
    37
See reviews for
300
197
76
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Good airport location. Front desk staff was always polite and helpful - dealt with 3 different staff members. Continental breakfast is sufficient. Rooms clean and quiet. Nice tv.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This property was well more than I had expected after reading the reviews. Being a "pet friendly" (with no size limits) it is very well kept. Check-in and out were a breeze. Staff were helpful & knowledgeable of the area. Room was clean and beds comfortable. The location is very convenient too most all attractions and just a mile from the bus/rail station, which makes it so simple to easily get around the city without worrying about parking costs. I will stay here again :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I stayed the nite of Feb 12th as I had an early flight the next morning. Since I had stayed at LaQuinta Inns before, I felt it was a safe bet plus they have a Rewards program. Thank goodness I had stayed at others before this one because if it was reversed, I would not stay at a LaQuinta hotel ever again! As soon as I walked in the small lobby area, I could smell a strong odor of a laundry dryer - not a bad smell - just not something you would think to smell in a hotel lobby. Soon found out the laundry facilities were just down the hall - felt bad for those staying in the ground floor rooms. We were assigned a room on the 4th floor. As we made our way with our bags down the hall from the lobby, it felt really creepy like maybe this place used to be a psych ward or a hospital where people went to die. They painted the walls a very dreary pale yellow which was not "bright" at all and then with seeing the laundry facilities there and all these locked doors, it just gave me the creeps. Got to the 4th floor and as we walked in our room, it absolutely reeked of mildew and stale smoke. I gagged! Went back to the lobby where they said most rooms on the 4th floor were smoking rooms. I didn't know you could still have that but why not ask? totally gross. He gave us a room on the 2nd floor which smelt old & funny but not strong. The bathroom was clean but I told my son not to take his socks off until he was ready for bed! The towels in the bathroom absolutely reeked of smoke and this was a non-smoking room! We decided to wait until we got home to shower. The heater & fan in the room was noisy and it was either on high or low as the auto didin't work. Breakfast was continental like toast & muffins - nothing spectacular but it is included as well as free wi-fi and they allow pets. The pictures DO NOT depict the decor of this hotel AT ALL. The lighting in the rooms were terrible with yellow shades for the lamps (maybe they used to be white?) with the reflection off the pale yellow walls - I couldn't put my make-up on other than in the bathroom. Pillows were old and 'crunchy'. Gross all around really and thats why I wanted to do this review. The pictures on the website are from the property management and are NOT a true reflection of what this hotel looks likes. I will not stay here again but I do love other LaQuinta hotels. This hotel will give LaQuinta a bad name.

Room Tip: No such thing as a good room from what I saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadaeh_0313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Best La Quinta we have stayed at. Very safe neighborhood, big rooms and nice staff. Definitely will stay again when traveling to Florida. Great to find a pet friendly hotel with such great rooms. The only downside was the heating system was noisy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eagle Lake
Sleep Inn Billy Graham Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South
Address: 4900 South Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC 28217-2404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Eagle Lake
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South Hotel Charlotte
La Quinta Inn And Suites Charlotte Airport South
La Quinta Charlotte
Charlotte La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing