We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price and nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chapel Hill University Inn
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good price and nice room”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I booked it on internet, and was the best price I found. The room is clean, the price is right and even being a little far from the down, the shuttle service helped a lot. Also, there is a mall across the street with everything I need for the three days I spent there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChapelHillUnivInn, Director of Sales at Chapel Hill University Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thanks for your comments and appreciate your business! We offer affordable, clean rooms for guests visiting Chapel Hill. While only 2 miles from UNC campus and downtown, our shuttle service can be very helpful to guests, so glad you were able to take advantage of that service. Hope to see you next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    110
    73
    49
    27
See reviews for
181
65
63
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed here on a trip to visit family recently. It was alumni weekend the university, so most of the hotels were sold out, especially the affordable ones in town. I'm pretty sure we booked the very last room last minute at this hotel and were left with a smoking room as the only option. The price was right so we went with it.

When we checked in, the woman at the front desk was very nice and helpful. The hotel lobby is modestly decorated and the hotel has outdoor corridors. It was what I expected though being more of a motel, so it was fine with me.

We drove around the buildings and parked close to our room. Upon entering the room, ugh, the smoke smell. I can't believe hotels even have smoking rooms still. But, we knew going into this that it was a smoking room. I just kept my suitcase closed and tried to get over it/stay out of the room as much as possible. The air wasn't on when we got in and it was super stuffy, which probably didn't help the smell... if they kept it on low at all times it might smell better. Overall the room was fine, nothing special. I felt that the sheets were clean and that's my biggest concern so it was ok. The bathroom was laid out well - big counter space. The towels were cheap and felt weird. No shampoo/lotion, just soap bar. It's more of a motel, so I was not too surprised.

After check in, we decided to check out the restaurant/bar before we went to bed. It was dead except for a couple people at the bar. It was probably close to 11pm so to be expected I guess. The restaurant I can tell gets busy during sporting games for UNC since they have a ton of TVs. The bartender was nice but could tell she was ready to get off shift. The drinks were well priced I thought.

Overall, I would stay here again if I needed to but would not get a smoking room.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orangepeel107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChapelHillUnivInn, Director of Sales at Chapel Hill University Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. We are glad that we were able to offer you a clean room, a friendly staff and a great rate while visiting Chapel Hill. While we cannot help that our smoking rooms smell smoky, I will pass on the suggestion to keep air movement in the room. We hope you choose to stay with us next time you are in the area, and feel confident if you book early a non-smoking room will make your experience even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Carteret, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I was happy with the room, the staff, and how clean the room was. The front end staff help anticipated how my stay could be improved and made the changes for me, which was nice. I would stay here again without reservations. The one improvement could be the free coffee being serve. I could not drink what they were serving.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChapelHillUnivInn, Director of Sales at Chapel Hill University Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We love when guests comment on how clean our rooms are and our helpful staff. We will pass your positive comments on to our housekeeping and front desk teams! And the next time you are in stay with us, make sure to try the new coffee!! We are replacing our coffee system this week with a better, higher quality blend! Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

While the people at the front desk were very kind and helpful, the rooms were not clean. The bathroom towels had old stains on it and when we returned to the room for the evening we found a roach crawling around. Also, the toilet would not stop making noise throughout the night. When I booked it, it was a categorized as a three star hotel, since then it has been downgraded to a 2.5. This is a motel, not a hotel. Service was fine, but the room was unacceptable and was not clean.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dollywall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChapelHillUnivInn, Director of Sales at Chapel Hill University Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. We apologize that the hotel room did not meet your expectations. We will follow up with housekeeping and laundry about the towels. In NC most likely what you saw is a called palmetto bug. During the season when you stayed with us they tend to try to find shelter inside. With our guest room doors opening to the outside this can happend but we don't find this to be a regular occurrence. We hope that you will give us another chance the next time you are in town. Thanks for the positive comments about our staff!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We arrived for a stop over on our way to Cherokee, NC. This was our halfway point. We were looking forward to seeing the UNC themed hotel, along with taking a shot at trying the TimeOut resturant that is connected to the hotel. I wish I would have know better...First off, while checking in "Heather" (which I later found out was new), seemed overwhelmed, while she was assisting me (or trying to assist me), the phone kept ringing and she would answer. Instead of her co-worker digging in her purse at the front desk looking for a personal item, she should have been helping her by answering the phone. Then the co-worker kept interupting her, with questions regarding a 3rd party credit card authorization being faxed over. 30+minutes later I finally got my keys and drove around to the "Baseball" section; we parked put our things int he room and decided to go eat and try the famouns "America's Best Sandwhich" as seen on Man vs. Food. We sat ourselves and waited a bit for "Dillon" to finally come around, only because the owner asked him "Have you waited on these folks yet"...They were quite busy on the patio for some flip-cup kick ball tournament thing...We finally ordered, and the our sandwhich came out along with our fries. Although, the sandwhich a hair on it, so I discreatly walked over to "Dillon" and showed where the hair was, he appologized and said would get us a new one. The new sandwhich arrived, but seemed microwaved at this point...My husband didn't eat his half. We then ordered a drink, when my glass came it had old lipstick on it from the previous guest. "Dillon" again appologized, and brought me a new one. It also was "Dillon's" third day on the job according to him, and he also isn't typically a bartender but becuase of the flip-cup kickball thing on the patio he was filling in. We paid for our tab, and left a nice tip as we didn't think it was "Dillon's" fault for the hairy sandwhich and lipstick stained cup and he was trying very hard. We then headed back to our room and noticed that housekeeping hadn't done such a great job preparing the room for our arrival. There was old liquor caps or mini wine bottle caps near the foot of the bed which made us wonder if the floor had been swept. The drop ceiling in the bathroom was horrible, the ceiling in the bedroom area looked like it had been painted over to conceal waterdamage. Although the LG tv was a nice flat pannel, they have it hooked up to standard cable, so a box TV picture would have been better. The lien was old (not the comforter...you could tell that was new); but the sheets had stains, and old cigarette holes in it. We were so dissapointed from dinner and the fact we were only staying one night we felt it wasn't necessary to even let them know as we didn't want to repack up everything and move/have houskeeping come in at that hour of the eveing and do whatever they would try to do.

The next morning, I ran in to dropp of keys, the young man asked what my room number was and he said I was all set. I asked if I needed anything or sign anything and he said no I was good. Once in the car, I pulled up my online banking to check to ensure everything was okay as I had already paid in full through a non-refundable fare thru Expedia. SO glad I checked because the clerk had processed my credit card I had on file for "incidentals" for $55.03. I had my husband turn the car around and went back in. I explained to the young man that I had already paid and didn't understand why I was charged $55.03; he said OH she was new, and it was just an authorization on your AMEX card. I explained I don't even have an AMEX card, and that I had already pre-paid thru Expedia; he proceeded to say that well the $55.03 is what Chapel Hill University Inn gets, and the what I paid to Expedia which was 70+dollars is what they get...I said I don't really care how the distrubition is done, it is non of my business how Expedia and the hotel get paid, I'm just concerned becuase you are now charging me $55.03 when I had already paid to Expedia $70+ in full. Not only did this make me upset to know I was now being Overcharged thru Expedia, but had nothing to do with the subject at hand. I asked to speak w/the mananger on duty which according to the sign was "Cynthia Shaw", but it was not it was the Controller for the hotel I think her name was susan...(could be wrong); She then went thru my folio and again brought up the fact that my AMEX was charged...I explained again I don't own an AMEX, she then found my Visa card and said she did see the charge would have to fax over a statement to the bank to release the funds and I could have a seat as it will be awhile, I told her I would rather just wait. After about 30 minutes I asked the young man to see where she was at as she had not returned, he came back and said she is just now faxing over the paperwork. Susan (again, unsure if that is her name), came out to let me know it had been faxed over. I asked for a recieved page so I was sure the bank got the fax, and she responded with their machine did not provide recieved pages...(I do believe all fax machines do generate a recieved page it just is a matter of if you know how to do it). I then took the GM business card, and decided if there were any further issues that I would contact her directly.

In summary, just stay elsewhere...staff seemed to not be well supported in either the dining room, or the hotel. Staff was not very friendly...a bit ubrupt and room was below par.

You may ask if the incident with being double charged didn't happen would I still have felt the same way...yes, I would and ask that you stay elsewhere for the same amount of money, either through the rate you get on Expedia, or the Hotel rate.

Room Tip: No tip...just don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnton, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We arrived in Chapel Hill one night for a basketball game and stayed at this hotel ... it was a perfect stay! My kids enjoyed the lobby area decor and the room was really clean! The location to the University was great as well. I definitely can't wait for our next stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanuet, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Yes, an odd complaint. But when a large coffee cup fills the garbage it starts to wear on you. That and the fact that they supply hardly any soaps, electrical outlets are nowhere convenient, and very little other creature comforts makes this place fine to stay at if you are looking for a budget hotel. But it you enjoy some of the additional hotel room benefits I would stay away.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
2.5 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
#13 of 18 in Chapel Hill
231 reviews
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#11 of 18 in Chapel Hill
445 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
0.7 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapel Hill University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Hill University Inn

Property: Chapel Hill University Inn
Address: 1301 Fordham Blvd, Hwy 15-501 at Eastgate, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-5803 (Formerly Holiday Inn Chapel Hill)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chapel Hill
#5 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chapel Hill University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chapel Hill University Inn is known as the “Home of the Sports Experience” and is proud to showcase the winning traditions of the University of North Carolina Tar Heels. This sports themed hotel is the only full-service moderately priced hotel in Chapel Hill. The hotel is within walking distance to Trader Joe’s, Starbucks, SteinMart, shopping, more restaurants, and drug/ grocery stores. Hotel is located just 2 miles from UNC and downtown Franklin Street.Guests will enjoy complimentary Wireless internet access throughout hotel and in guest rooms. Other amenities includes: Free access to Kinetix Health Club and on site fitness center, business center, outdoor pool, and guest laundry facilities. Complimentary gourmet coffee is available 24/7 in the lobby. Hotel has a relaxing courtyard with covered seating and Adirondack chairs, as well as a gas grill and picnic area. Daily local shuttle service is provided to designated stops on UNC campus, UNC Hospitals, Franklin Street, the Friday Center and University Mall. Time- Out Sports Bar and Restaurant is on site. Watch any sports event on one of the 17 HDTV’s, play pool or video games. Open for breakfast and dinner, and will soon be opening for lunch. Time-Out is home of the famous Chicken and Cheddar Biscuit and was featured on Travel Channel’s Man vs. Food show. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Chapel Hill University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapel Hill University Hotel Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing