We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful front desk and nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chapel Hill University Inn
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I booked this hotel because it was close to Durham as well as Southern Seasons and Trader Joes--walking distance to both--nice shopping very close by and not far from UNC and Duke. The front desk was always busy when I went through the lobby but they found the time to help me out or answer my questions. They were very attentive and very pleasant, they never made me feel rushed. Wasn't sure if we would get a room with 2 doubles beds our first night because they were all booked when I made the reservation. Ended up we did, they made a note on our reservation and followed through on their promise. Nice rooms both times I stayed there that week and will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madalex2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 495 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have spent 4-5 nights there at different times, in the past 60 days. Rooms are roomy, nice and clean. The service is personable and great. This is the best place, for the price, we have ever stayed, anywhere!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Chapel Hill University Inn is a great place to stay. The staff first of all is very courteous and helpful. They try to accommodate all of your needs. The King room in the Football section where we have stayed since 2011 when my son first attended UNC has been wonderful every time. During orientation they provide all kinds of snacks and drinks which I have never experienced at any other hotel. They have a great restaurant called Timeout which serves very good food. You can order the food and take it back to the room if you prefer or eat in the restaurant. They also have a great pool and workout facility. The hotel is currently doing some re-decorating so i'm sure it will be even nicer than it is now.

They also have a great discount plan called Carolina Parent Plus Program. if you're looking for a great place to stay. THIS IS THE PLACE!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RSAP1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed here for a night after getting late into town-the room was clean and ready and the bed was very comfortable.

Shared amenities are average and the bathrooms need some updating but a great value for the price!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mercergk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel has made tremendous strides since the flood. While the lower rooms are still being repaired the upper rooms are fine. Ours did have comfortable bed, microwave, fridge. High school reunion was based there and we had fun with music and friends. Food needs improvement but there are many great restaurants close by. Pool is back to normal. Price was a bargain. Location ideal.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room on back side away from highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug6501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

At first it seemed like kind of a dumpy place from the looks on the outside but the rooms are all very clean. The rooms are small but the bathroom is nice and the tv is good enough. The beds I had no problem with and the pool was wry nice (they even had a little basketball hoop on the edge of the pool). Overall it was a very good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriots2667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

So I'm sitting in my motel room now and have to agree with everything Douglas B. said in his review. The bottom portion of the hotel is being gutted so yeah, there's that. The hotel is old and definitely shows its wear. The beds are uncomfortable. There is no mini-fridge in the room although there is one sitting directly outside my door on the walkway. But the biggest issue for me is how poorly the AC is working and you know it's bad when they provide a fan in-room to combat the heat. Mid-July in NC is bad enough, but this is almost unbearable. If I hadn't booked through Hotwire then I would most definitely go get a refund and go to the quality inn right around the corner. Only positive is the front desk staff, which was exceptionally nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snm0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
#15 of 18 in Chapel Hill
246 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
#12 of 18 in Chapel Hill
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Chapel Hill / Southern Village
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#11 of 18 in Chapel Hill
31 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapel Hill University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Hill University Inn

Address: 1301 Fordham Blvd, Hwy 15-501 at Eastgate, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-5803 (Formerly Holiday Inn Chapel Hill)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chapel Hill
#5 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: $56 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chapel Hill University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chapel Hill University Inn is known as the “Home of the Sports Experience” and is proud to showcase the winning traditions of the University of North Carolina Tar Heels. This sports themed hotel is the only full-service moderately priced hotel in Chapel Hill. The hotel is within walking distance to Trader Joe’s, Starbucks, SteinMart, shopping, more restaurants, and drug/ grocery stores. Hotel is located just 2 miles from UNC and downtown Franklin Street.Guests will enjoy complimentary Wireless internet access throughout hotel and in guest rooms. Other amenities includes: Free access to Kinetix Health Club and on site fitness center, business center, outdoor pool, and guest laundry facilities. Complimentary gourmet coffee is available 24/7 in the lobby. Hotel has a relaxing courtyard with covered seating and Adirondack chairs, as well as a gas grill and picnic area. Daily local shuttle service is provided to designated stops on UNC campus, UNC Hospitals, Franklin Street, the Friday Center and University Mall. Time- Out Sports Bar and Restaurant is on site. Watch any sports event on one of the 17 HDTV’s, play pool or video games. Open for breakfast and dinner, and will soon be opening for lunch. Time-Out is home of the famous Chicken and Cheddar Biscuit and was featured on Travel Channel’s Man vs. Food show. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chapel Hill University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapel Hill University Hotel Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing