We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“NOT a tarheel fan but enjoyed my stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chapel Hill University Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chapel Hill University Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“NOT a tarheel fan but enjoyed my stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stay here during the High School State Champianship. Was able to find a great deal from Living Social. When I got there, I learned that the person that book the reservation was not on site and actually in another state so they said some things that were not actually accurate but the guy at the front desk was nice. Stayed 2 nights and no major issues. Only problem was that it lack sufficient parking but we were able to find a parking space eventually. Breakfast was great. Staff was nice. Room was clean. Nice 37' flat screen TV. Room had a microwave and fridge that was offered free of charge. (typically $5 each).

Room Tip: I had an upstairs room near the road which I thought was going to be very nosy but it wasnt. I the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Me-Luv-2-Travel-too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    84
    61
    44
    27
See reviews for
137
51
57
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The room had an overwhelming aroma of a chemical agent used to cover odors that gave my wife a headache. When we arrived, there was only cold air coming out, even when we turned it to "heat." We asked it to be fixed and when we returned, we could only get hot air, even when we turned it to "cool." The bathtub didn't drain. No refrigerator in the room. Also not enough plugs to plug in electric devices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winstonthecat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We recently traveled to Chapel Hill for a busy university weekend and waited too long to make our reservations. We ended up at the University Inn and were truthfully not expecting to be very comfortable but ended up being quite surprised. The staff was wonderful, the accomodations, while dated, are very clean and comfortable. This is a great value!

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room if you are not a smoker - because this is an older hotel, the smoking roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

See above and repeat three times. Do not stay here. We were booked in a Smoking Room although we requested non-smoking. There is no end to the noise. You can hear everything going on outside. It's just extremely unpleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pattipeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konigsfeld, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

If you know Chapel Hill, there´s not that many reasonably priced places to stay. The University Inn is one of them. Although the property is rather dated, it is clean and has the usual amneties.
The front desk staff wasn´t very friendly, but took care of our complaint about bad TV reception right away.
It was our second stay there and we would come back.

Room Tip: Our room was towards the main road, we didn´t have noise problems though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My family and I were visiting the UNC campus and stayed one night here. The room was clean and neat and even with two beds there was plenty of room for the four of us to move around comfortably without constantly being on top of each other. The bathroom was also clean and seemed to have just a bit more space than most other hotel rooms.

The weather was rainy and cool so we didn't get to use the pool that was just outside the door to the room but I did notice that the grounds and common area were well-maintained and I would have enjoyed the chance to use one of the outdoor spaces for a family picnic.

The staff was courteous and friendly. Checking in and out was quick and easy and the hotel is very close to the campus and Franklin Street making exploration very easy.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: This hotel frequently offers online discounts making it an even better deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Was hoping to stay at a house closer to UNC-Hospital, but was full. The SECU Family House suggested the Inn. We went for it. It was more than I expected. Nice, clean, comfortable, warm , & more than we needed. It was impressive that it had the Gideons Bible. We were there to spend time with my brother-a patient at UNC-Hospsital. It was more like a vacation. Thanks again for being there. Check in and out was great. Very friendley.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
2.7 mi away
The Franklin Hotel
The Franklin Hotel
#4 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#2 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
#12 of 16 in Chapel Hill
3.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
#10 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapel Hill University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Hill University Inn

Property: Chapel Hill University Inn
Address: 1301 Fordham Blvd, Hwy 15-501 at Eastgate, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-5803 (Formerly Holiday Inn Chapel Hill)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chapel Hill
#5 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chapel Hill University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chapel Hill University Inn is known as the “Home of the Sports Experience” and is proud to showcase the winning traditions of the University of North Carolina Tar Heels. This sports themed hotel is the only full-service moderately priced hotel in Chapel Hill. The hotel is within walking distance to Trader Joe’s, Starbucks, SteinMart, shopping, more restaurants, and drug/ grocery stores. Hotel is located just 2 miles from UNC and downtown Franklin Street.Guests will enjoy complimentary Wireless internet access throughout hotel and in guest rooms. Other amenities includes: Free access to Kinetix Health Club and on site fitness center, business center, outdoor pool, and guest laundry facilities. Complimentary gourmet coffee is available 24/7 in the lobby. Hotel has a relaxing courtyard with covered seating and Adirondack chairs, as well as a gas grill and picnic area. Daily local shuttle service is provided to designated stops on UNC campus, UNC Hospitals, Franklin Street, the Friday Center and University Mall. Time- Out Sports Bar and Restaurant is on site. Watch any sports event on one of the 17 HDTV’s, play pool or video games. Open for breakfast and dinner, and will soon be opening for lunch. Time-Out is home of the famous Chicken and Cheddar Biscuit and was featured on Travel Channel’s Man vs. Food show. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Chapel Hill University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapel Hill University Hotel Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing