We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chapel Hill University Inn
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Was hoping to stay at a house closer to UNC-Hospital, but was full. The SECU Family House suggested the Inn. We went for it. It was more than I expected. Nice, clean, comfortable, warm , & more than we needed. It was impressive that it had the Gideons Bible. We were there to spend time with my brother-a patient at UNC-Hospsital. It was more like a vacation. Thanks again for being there. Check in and out was great. Very friendley.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 495 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

I enjoyed my stay. The location of the Inn is ideal. Itseems as if the neighborhood is growing I saw lots of development that was exciting. Chapel Hill offers quiet sophistication with it's many restaurants and history which the Inn manifest.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atpromiseland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

No luxury. This hotel took me back to the 50s . . . it's pretty worn out but as others have said, the location is great and the price is pretty reasonable. Take your own toiletries, because all you get is soap and a tiny shampoo. My room had a microwave and fridge, though at check-in they told me I'd have to pay $5 extra for those and I opted out, so they were a nice surprise. My room was clean and comfortable, first floor with my car just outside the door, but I had to air it out - the air freshener smell was overpowering when I walked in! Heat was adjustable, room had hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffeemaker, wifi. My biggest problem other than the smell was the key cards . . . had to go back to the office twice to have them reset after they wouldn't work - not fun. Also had to try two different ice machines to find one that worked. Did not try the adjoining sports bar which also serves breakfast. Chapel Hill is always terrific, so if you're not spending much time in your room, this hotel would be adequate. I started to switch to the newer Days Inn nearby before I arrived, but they were so rude when I called that I changed my mind. The front desk folks at this place were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jude48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Good things: the location is excellent; near the grocery store, restaurants and downtown. The price is good and they give a discount for three nights of stay.
Bad things: the room was too hot all the time... even though we tried to turn down the heat, it didn't work at all. The last night the card key didn't work, it was around 3 am and we had to go three times to the front desk to try to get a new card key but each card key but none of the new cards work. At the end they had to wake up the maintenance guy to open our room. I didn't like the design of the room with the big windows in the front, because it does not give you any privacy at all.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sofia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Whoever wrote the positive reviews for this hotel was either confused or has very low expectations. From the check in with a front desk clerk with an attitude, scribbled room directions, hair on the bathroom floor, and a sloping bathroom ceiling, the whole night was an experience in tolerance. If I had not paid through the Internet, I would have left. The absolute worst place.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHtarheels, Director of Sales at Chapel Hill University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

We apologize for the experience you had at our hotel. These service issues are certainly not typical of our staff. We continually strive to provide great service, affordable rates and clean, comfortable rooms for our guests. We will share your comments with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you are a Tarheel fan you will love this hotel. And even if you're in town for another reason, such as a music event, gallery opening or other sporting event, this is a nicely maintained place that is clean and dog friendly. It's in a very busy part of town, and very convenient to Franklin Street. So if you are looking for a lot of quiet, this might not be the choice since there is a lot going on in a relatively small area. But, if you are visiting Chapel Hill to have fun and convenience, this is a nice place with friendly staff. The restaurant located at the Inn is very nice too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had a room with a king sized bed. Although it was small, it was very clean. It was once a Holiday Inn, so my brother tells me. Since it has a sports theme (the handles on the doors of the lobby are baseball bats), he made a comment on feeling like he was in the ocean (so much blue around). It has a restaurant and bar connected to it called "Time Out." A friend of mine who was there with her husband on a different trip said the food was quite good.The personnel were very friendly and helpful. It is on a large intersection N Fordham Blvd with easy access to 15-501. I have no hesitation saying it is good for people on a budget!

Room Tip: There are smoking rooms are on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElsieDubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
#15 of 18 in Chapel Hill
246 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
#12 of 18 in Chapel Hill
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Chapel Hill / Southern Village
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#11 of 18 in Chapel Hill
31 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapel Hill University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Hill University Inn

Address: 1301 Fordham Blvd, Hwy 15-501 at Eastgate, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-5803 (Formerly Holiday Inn Chapel Hill)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chapel Hill
#5 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: $56 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chapel Hill University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chapel Hill University Inn is known as the “Home of the Sports Experience” and is proud to showcase the winning traditions of the University of North Carolina Tar Heels. This sports themed hotel is the only full-service moderately priced hotel in Chapel Hill. The hotel is within walking distance to Trader Joe’s, Starbucks, SteinMart, shopping, more restaurants, and drug/ grocery stores. Hotel is located just 2 miles from UNC and downtown Franklin Street.Guests will enjoy complimentary Wireless internet access throughout hotel and in guest rooms. Other amenities includes: Free access to Kinetix Health Club and on site fitness center, business center, outdoor pool, and guest laundry facilities. Complimentary gourmet coffee is available 24/7 in the lobby. Hotel has a relaxing courtyard with covered seating and Adirondack chairs, as well as a gas grill and picnic area. Daily local shuttle service is provided to designated stops on UNC campus, UNC Hospitals, Franklin Street, the Friday Center and University Mall. Time- Out Sports Bar and Restaurant is on site. Watch any sports event on one of the 17 HDTV’s, play pool or video games. Open for breakfast and dinner, and will soon be opening for lunch. Time-Out is home of the famous Chicken and Cheddar Biscuit and was featured on Travel Channel’s Man vs. Food show. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Chapel Hill University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapel Hill University Hotel Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing