We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay......................”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chapel Hill University Inn
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for an overnight. The room was comfortable and coffee was available in the lobby. For those that what a night cap there is a sports bar in the lobby. Did not have an early breakfast, but did have some treats on the bed when I checked in. Had to return to hotel for check out, because lobby was not 24 hours. Oh, well!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadwarrior988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 505 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel is dirty and loud. The floors in the rooms feel saturated with filth, almost greasy. Woak up with bites in my legs (not sure from what). People are loud outside of the rooms. Stay at your own risk. A days inn is across the street and might be a better option.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LhasaLouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

First of all, don't believe what you read on the website... The website said that the hotel was closed permanently. I let the front desk know that when we got there. Site needs updating. Luckily, we followed our instincts and our confirmed reservation and got there to find our great room.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Chapel Hill University Inn. We had a side room with a football on the door...don't remember the number. Anyway, we were there 2 nights for orientation at Chapel Hill...like everyone else that weekend. We will definitely stay there again when in town. We didn't use the spa, so no comment below. I thought the staff was nice and helpful. Check out was quick and easy.

The towels and pillows were great. I really think I could have spent the whole day in that comfy bed. We had a king-size one!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmabe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay. Very close to UNC-Chapel Hill, dining, shopping. Room was clean and bargin priced . Staff was friendly and helpful. Grounds were well kept.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is where we often stay when visiting our university student. This is not the "high end" place to stay in town, but it is clean, comfortable, quiet,accepts pets, is convenient and gives student families a good price. Staff is pleasant, helpful. They do not provide a "free" breakfast, but there are a Starbucks and restaurants just across the street and a Whole Foods 3 minutes away.

Room Tip: Some rooms have mini-refrigerators and microwaves, which are helpful especially when having an exten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cofasheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Cant beat the price or the location. Great weekend away in Chapel Hill. Not the most luxurious accomodation but more then adequate. Bar and restaurant were nice and the shuttle was useful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caligrl687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

3 star hotels don't have 6 1/2ft drop ceilings in the bathroom. Very outdated, room cleaning was nothing more than having the bed made and replacing two very shabby towels.

The Good: decent location, restaurant/bar on-site (though I did not visit), the price (I got through Expedia's unpublished rates in the low$40's.

The Bad: got stuck with a smoking room, which smelled like a pool hall. Very, very bad. Front desk offered me "a can of spray.". Would have found a mother room in another hotel if it wasn't so late already. All of our clothes reek. Nicotine yellowing popcorn ceilings, cigarette burns in the carpet.

I would fate this hotel a 1-1/2 star, and for $40 could be worth it of you can get a non-smoking room. For $80+ dollars? Not a chance.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Graybeard73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
#13 of 18 in Chapel Hill
247 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
#12 of 18 in Chapel Hill
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
467 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Chapel Hill / Southern Village
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#11 of 18 in Chapel Hill
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapel Hill University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Hill University Inn

Address: 1301 Fordham Blvd, Hwy 15-501 at Eastgate, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-5803 (Formerly Holiday Inn Chapel Hill)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: $56 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chapel Hill University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chapel Hill University Inn is known as the “Home of the Sports Experience” and is proud to showcase the winning traditions of the University of North Carolina Tar Heels. This sports themed hotel is the only full-service moderately priced hotel in Chapel Hill. The hotel is within walking distance to Trader Joe’s, Starbucks, SteinMart, shopping, more restaurants, and drug/ grocery stores. Hotel is located just 2 miles from UNC and downtown Franklin Street.Guests will enjoy complimentary Wireless internet access throughout hotel and in guest rooms. Other amenities includes: Free access to Kinetix Health Club and on site fitness center, business center, outdoor pool, and guest laundry facilities. Complimentary gourmet coffee is available 24/7 in the lobby. Hotel has a relaxing courtyard with covered seating and Adirondack chairs, as well as a gas grill and picnic area. Daily local shuttle service is provided to designated stops on UNC campus, UNC Hospitals, Franklin Street, the Friday Center and University Mall. Time- Out Sports Bar and Restaurant is on site. Watch any sports event on one of the 17 HDTV’s, play pool or video games. Open for breakfast and dinner, and will soon be opening for lunch. Time-Out is home of the famous Chicken and Cheddar Biscuit and was featured on Travel Channel’s Man vs. Food show. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Chapel Hill University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapel Hill University Hotel Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing