We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh... Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chapel Hill University Inn
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Spent 4 nights here. I wasn't in the room much except to sleep and shower; that was for the best. It's clean for the most part, but very worn. There had been water damage in the bathroom walls at some point. I kept smelling smoke from the people smoking outside (yuck!). People outside one night were up 'til 4 AM talking, keeping us awake.

Our room did have a refrigerator and small microwave, a nice bonus as Trader Joe's and Whole Foods are both nearby. Front desk staff were friendly. I did not try the on-site restaurant. Free wifi worked fine. And, the room was very inexpensive; you get what you pay for.

I'll likely go elsewhere if I return to the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirstenpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 497 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed here for a week while attending a conference at UNC - I was using my own money, so price was a strong consideration. I got a good rate through hotwire (around $50/night), and was happy with the quality/price ratio. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, although the pillows were lumpy. I do recall being a bit frustrated by lack of outlets to charge my phone and such, but this is easily enough remedied by unplugging the hair dryer when I was not actively engaged in drying my hair! My only real concern was that it was a bit damp - if you have allergies this is a real consideration. Otherwise, the location is very convenient to UNC and I-40, has a shopping center with Trader Joe's and Starbucks across the street, and a Whole Foods nearby. If price is a major consideration, then this is very good value. Also, they have smoking and non-smoking rooms, so be sure to specify which you want - I was put in a smoking room the first night because I hadn't specified, but they were friendly about switching me when I asked the next day.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a non-smoking room if that is what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

we are in our fifties and have been to many places. Our room smelled like musty cigarette smoke. The Internet acsess was terrible. It was outdated and couldn't find enough plugs to charge our phones etc without having to unplug lighting. On a scale 1 to 10 I give it a three. Outdated decor. Small pillows. Suppose to get a king size bed but when we got there they told us that wasnt available....what's that about?

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yogidavis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had to have the toilet plunged at 2am, and again at 9am. The air conditioning didn't work and we were told "that's as good as it's going to get." (The coffee maker didn't work either.) When we reported to the front desk, they said "thanks for letting us know ..." We were charged more than the price quoted on our reservation, and the "manager" couldn't explain why we were charged more - we've been directed to the "account manager." The quoted price was too high as it was, considering there was no breakfast. The "breakfast buffet" was scarce, looked horrible, and $8.99. Check in time wasn't until 4pm, and the pool closed at 9pm. There was a restaurant/bar advertised, which closed at 11pm on Saturday night. Late night desk clerk was rude.Terrible night's stay! The worst we've had in Chapel Hill, and we frequent this area. Our advice would be to LOOK ELSEWHERE!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank april4171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

If you are a business traveler, skip this place. Not a single electrical outlet in the room that was accessible without moving furniture to get to it. Also, no desk. And an old, lousy TV. Room was clean, and the bed was comfortable, so not totally unsatisfactory.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCjohnboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We got a very good deal for our 2 night stay; $65 per night. That being said, it isn't worth more than that.

The rooms are small and dark and out of date. The bedding is not good quality. The windows aren't very private. It's much more "motel" than it is "inn".

On a good note, the pool is cute, there's a small wooded area for picnics and BBQ's, and the on-site restaurant was surprisingly good and tasty. The staff was nice too. If you get a good deal, it is nice for an over night or for a cheap stay for a family.

It is located along a busy street, with a little "mall" across the street that has some shopping and a Starbucks and a late night convenience store along the other end. It's about 3 miles to downtown Chapel Hill.

I wouldn't stay there again, but for $65/night it wasn't horrible.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We recently stayed at the Chapel Hill University Inn using a Groupon. Our room was outdated but extremely well kept. Upon checking in we were told our reserved room was not available yet because the carpets were still damp from being steamed. We were quickly given another room without much fuss. The only hassle I encountered during our stay was given the fact I used a Groupon to pay for our stay. I combined two Groupons for two nights. In order to use both Groupons I had to make two separate reservations and check out after my first nights stay and check back into the same room the next morning. Our guest-room was extremely clean and smelled very fresh. The pool area was very clean and had a wonderful cabana tent with outdoor furniture placed within the pool fence. There were many lounge chairs situated around the pool along with hotel towels for your use. There was a nice grassy area with chairs and a grill for guest use directly behind the pool area. The hotel also offers a shuttle that runs specific hours on certain days of the week. We did not take advantage of this amenity due to the fact that I have a small child whom I would need to transport a stroller and car seat to the shuttle van. It was much less hassle in our case to drive our own vehicle. If a Groupon becomes available again for this Inn I would take advantage of it because it was a reasonably price get-a-way for our family which was centrally located to a lot of the main attractions of Chapel Hill.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank efjclf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
#15 of 18 in Chapel Hill
246 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
#12 of 18 in Chapel Hill
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Chapel Hill / Southern Village
1.9 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
466 reviews
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#11 of 18 in Chapel Hill
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapel Hill University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Hill University Inn

Address: 1301 Fordham Blvd, Hwy 15-501 at Eastgate, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-5803 (Formerly Holiday Inn Chapel Hill)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chapel Hill
#5 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: $56 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chapel Hill University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chapel Hill University Inn is known as the “Home of the Sports Experience” and is proud to showcase the winning traditions of the University of North Carolina Tar Heels. This sports themed hotel is the only full-service moderately priced hotel in Chapel Hill. The hotel is within walking distance to Trader Joe’s, Starbucks, SteinMart, shopping, more restaurants, and drug/ grocery stores. Hotel is located just 2 miles from UNC and downtown Franklin Street.Guests will enjoy complimentary Wireless internet access throughout hotel and in guest rooms. Other amenities includes: Free access to Kinetix Health Club and on site fitness center, business center, outdoor pool, and guest laundry facilities. Complimentary gourmet coffee is available 24/7 in the lobby. Hotel has a relaxing courtyard with covered seating and Adirondack chairs, as well as a gas grill and picnic area. Daily local shuttle service is provided to designated stops on UNC campus, UNC Hospitals, Franklin Street, the Friday Center and University Mall. Time- Out Sports Bar and Restaurant is on site. Watch any sports event on one of the 17 HDTV’s, play pool or video games. Open for breakfast and dinner, and will soon be opening for lunch. Time-Out is home of the famous Chicken and Cheddar Biscuit and was featured on Travel Channel’s Man vs. Food show. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Chapel Hill University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapel Hill University Hotel Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing