We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very nice Quality Inn!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Chapel Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice Quality Inn!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I am in the hotel industry so I have high expectations & they were met! Each guest services agent we interacted with was polite, professional & friendly. The room was clean, you could tell it was an older property though. It needed some maintenance, but was nice overall. The pool looked clean & well kept, tho unfortunately we weren't there long enough to use it. The only downside was breakfast, the waffle machine was down & there wasn't alot of options, as many of the other guests were commenting. Overall very nice & we'll be back!

Room Tip: No elevators, so req 1st floor if you don't travel light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our property. Please accept my apologies for our shortcomings in the breakfast area. We will surely make sure that the issue is addressed. We try to give the best service possible so I am glad the staff was friendly and professional! Please come back to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    76
    55
    14
    15
See reviews for
73
35
31
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel didn't blow me away, but it had everything we needed for a very enjoyable stay. The pool was a great temperature, clean, and not overly chlorine-y. The front desk was very friendly, the rooms were clean, and I was pleasantly surprised by the complimentary breakfast spread.

I was visiting UNC, which was a very short and easy drive away. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate you giving us great feedback about our property. We acknowledge the shortcomings as well as the things we are doing well. We will surely make an effort to continue to service our guests the best way possible! Please come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay this weekend at this hotel. Formerly a Hampton Inn, the property is clean, well-maintained, and just far enough off the main highway that it is very inviting and quiet.

My room was excellent. Furniture, carpet, and countertops in the bathroom area were all very clean and looked very well-maintained.

I did not get to eat the continental breakfast because I slept too late, but if it was on-par with other Quality Inns I have stayed at, I'm sure it is much the same - waffles, yogurt, cereals, etc.

The only negatives I can offer about my stay are the following: Check-out time is at 12 noon and the housekeeping staff woke me out of a sound sleep at 9am to do service. I got in late and wanted to take advantage of sleeping late, which did not happen. I called out and said I was still sleeping and they attempted to enter the room anyway. Less than an hour later someone attempted to enter the room again without even knocking. If I had not had the extra security lock turned over on the door they could have entered without any great effort. Also, there were no 'do not disturb' placards available to hang on the door.

Lastly, the hotel is very hard to find via GPS. The address listed does not even get you close to the hotel unfortunately. Once on the grounds my GPS listed the location as being off of a 'service road', not off Fordham Blvd. The service road parallels Fordham, and this may be why it gets confused. Be wary, and have the phone number on hand in case you get lost.

Very clean, a great value, and a great close location to downtown Chapel Hill. Just try to clarify when housekeeping will do service in the mornings so you can truly take advantage of a nice, late checkout time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward D, General Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for a night on our way to Myrtle Beach. Great price, room was small but comfortable, nice pool, friendly and helpful staff. We had two kids with us (11 and 7), they loved the pool. If you are staying for a long time, probably not your place. But for a night or two, it served its purpose well. Convenient to UNC campus and places to eat. Only drawback...worst pillows in history. Bring your own.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward D, General Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCoast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had to grab a place for 2 nights while visiting my daughter at UNC (campus just a few minutes away). It was clean, quiet, light breakfast, and everything I needed (no passw'd internet!) Would have loved to spend time at the small pool, but didn't. Slightly older property, but rooms were great, as was landscaping. Very nice, helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mom_dad_two_kids4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! Our goal is to please all of our guests, every time. We are happy that we were able to give you an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again in the future and again, thank you from all of the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The vanity & toilet were visibly dirty & easily wiped clean by us. The coffee maker did not work. There was no liner in trash can. In our neighboring room, there was a very loud domestic issue around 11pm that continued on the deck outside our door. They appeared to be "residents" rather than guests. Upon arrival in the evening & even upon leaving the next morning, there was an older gentlemen seated outside his downstairs room just down from the office who was intoxicated & surrounded by beer cans for all to see & pass by. The atmosphere gave our family an uneasy, not safe, scary feeling. The hotel appears to now be a "home" for many. We were very disappointed. We stayed here when it was Hampton & had only great experiences. We will not return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We take all of the feedback of our guests very seriously and thank you for your insight. We will look to improve on the items you mentioned and hope that you and all of our guests will look at the entire picture of our reviews as opposed to a one off stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chapel Hill hotels

Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
120 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a great stay at Quality Inn Chapel Hill. The room was very clean with all the comforts we needed - blow dryer, iron, toiletries, etc. There was a nice little outdoor pool that some children were splashing in when we arrived. Although we didn't' swim in the pool, it appeared to be very clean and well kept. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. I was pleasantly surprised to find a very nice breakfast available in the morning in the lobby - waffles, cereal, breads/pastries, fruit, etc. It was overall a wonderful experience and although I will be moving to Chapel Hill and won't likely need to stay again, I will recommend it to all friends and family that may come to visit! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OurDogLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are grateful that you would recommend our hotel to others. It is because of guests like you that we continue to try to improve based on feedback. Thank you again from all of the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
2.2 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#9 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel
#11 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
#10 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Chapel Hill

Property: Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Address: 1740 Fordham Blvd, Hwy 15-501, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-5884 (Formerly Hampton Inn Chapel Hill)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Chapel Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing