We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable and the staff is very welcoming. The rates are very good and there's a hot breakfast on top of it all. if you are unfamiliar with the area, the location is a little tricky but the signs help. It's essentially tucked behind the jiffy lube.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank NSimenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 253 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed at the Quality inn in Chapel Hill for a few days during Christmas. The price was decent, the rooms were clean and sufficient for our purpose. I was a bit disturbed that our room was not serviced our 2nd day and I had to go to the front desk to get and wait for towels and washcloths. I couldn't understand how this was possible when the majority of the Inn was empty.

The bed was decent, but I hated the pillows, which we have affectionately named "Pillow Nuggets." I would stay there again, if I can get a cheaper price on line.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harlemstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here one night during a conference we were attending. The room was very clean, very quiet, and adequate. This is not a fancy hotel but the setting is lovely. Many trees and back from the highway so the noise level is not high. It was close to town and also very well priced for the area. We would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelersNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, General Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased to know that we were able to give you a good stay during your time at the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was in Chapel Hill for business and chose the Quality Inn to stay. The price was competetive and check in was quick and accurate. The room was clean and is better than most of the other Quality Inns I have stayed at recently. Easily accessable to local restaurants and there is a Mall practically across the street.
The only negative was the address does not pull up on a GPS system. I did not arrive until 9pm and was pretty tired. The Garmen took me to an address where there is absolutely nothing. I eventually had to call and have them give me directions. Just make sure you know where this Quality Inn is at before you go because your mapping system will guide you elsewhere. I alerted the manager and they said that they are already aware of this problem.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlr8105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, General Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your review regarding the hotel. I am glad that we exceeded your expectations! I am sorry for the issues you had with finding us intially and we will continue to try to get that issue rectified for future guests. Please come back to visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visting family in the area, and pre-booked accomodations at this motel. Motel is in decent shape, although renovations in our room look like they were done by amateurs. King Bed was very comfortable. One feature I don't care for is that the sink is in the sleeping area, apart from the bathroom. I prefer a complete bathroom with sink, toilet, and tub all in the bathroom.
Breakfast was the same everyday and had hot choices on it...precooked microwaveable omelet or sausage biscuit or make your own waffles. There were cold items also -- cereal, fruit, rolls, breads.
For the price, the value is what you would expect. Other hotels may be better, but you will be paying extra too. Since we are only in the room to sleep at night, we can't justify paying any more for accomodations, and are grateful there are some average price places like this to stay in.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al73vw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Quality Inn in Chapel Hill offers a good place to stay for a night or more. It is simple, but comfortable and has a nice extra touches. Given the price, it is much more affordable than others in the city that charge you up to three times as much and don't offer simple things like breakfast or internet for free.

The hotel from the outside doesn't look that exciting. Depending on which direction that you come from, the hotel may be hard to find at night if you're not paying attention. If you come in from the rear, there is no light on the sign. However the front sign is lighted and impossible to miss, but your GPS likely will not send you this way unless you're coming from Durham. The check in went fairly quick but really no issues. If you have issues going up stairs, make sure that you ask for a first floor room. There is ample parking around the hotel.

The room was clean and had a king bed, table, chair and two end tables. The sink is in a separate room from the toilet and bathtub. The only strange thing about the room was that the small refrigerator was on the floor. Not sure why they couldn't put in on a small table in order for you not have to reach down to the floor to use it. There is good soundproofing even facing the street. It was hard to hear even car horns going off. The shower head had a lot of pressure, while the pressure in the sink was not as strong as I would have preferred. The internet is free, but was too slow to play any videos and some pages opened slowly.

The lobby is where the fee breakfast is located. There is also coffee and tea available anytime. There are also fresh baked cookies available at reception. Breakfast was from 0630-0930, so make sure you get up early if you want to eat at the hotel. There is also a sports bar (Bailey's) which you get 10% off by showing your room key and a Chinese restaurant within walking distance.

If you are in Chapel Hill, the Quality Inn is a good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was the best that our family has literally ever experienced. My family was in town because my cousin had brain surgery at UNC Hospital. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay alot easier; especially the Sales Manager - Barbara Leedy.
Unfortunately, my cousin has to go back soon for another surgery in the area soon for more problems with the surgery. The only thing to look forward to is the hospitality that this hotel will more than likely show us again ( if there is a vacancy at that time). Thanks Barbara!

- Amy and Kenneth Branch - South Carolina

Room Tip: You are missing out if you have to be in the area and do not stay there - especially if it is at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, General Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you so much for such a rave review. We try to pride ourselves on taking care of the guests and their needs. We are sorry that your stay had to be under such unfortunate circumstances. If you need anything at all in the future please do not hesitate to call me.


Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#7 of 18 in Chapel Hill
527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel
#11 of 18 in Chapel Hill
422 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
#12 of 18 in Chapel Hill
142 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Chapel Hill / Southern Village
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#10 of 18 in Chapel Hill
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Chapel Hill

Address: 1740 Fordham Blvd, Hwy 15-501, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-5884 (Formerly Hampton Inn Chapel Hill)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Price Range: $62 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Chapel Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Inn Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing