We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Nearby Hotels
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel(Chapel Hill)(Great Value!)
$113
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rizzo Center(Chapel Hill)
$199
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Carolina Inn(Chapel Hill)
$199
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Courtyard Chapel Hill(Chapel Hill)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Franklin(Chapel Hill)
$167
Curio.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloft Chapel Hill(Chapel Hill)
$124
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chapel Hill University Inn(Chapel Hill)(Great Value!)
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill(Chapel Hill)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$143
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveler rating
71
86
62
15
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
86
62
15
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsservice roadchoice hotelsroom was cleanfront desksausage biscuitsfridge and microwavequiet locationhot breakfastwater pressurenice breakfastunc hospitalfree breakfastfranklin streetmartycerealcomforterlinens
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 258 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visting family in the area, and pre-booked accomodations at this motel. Motel is in decent shape, although renovations in our room look like they were done by amateurs. King Bed was very comfortable. One feature I don't care for is that the sink is in the sleeping area, apart from the bathroom. I prefer a complete bathroom with sink, toilet, and tub all in the bathroom.
Breakfast was the same everyday and had hot choices on it...precooked microwaveable omelet or sausage biscuit or make your own waffles. There were cold items also -- cereal, fruit, rolls, breads.
For the price, the value is what you would expect. Other hotels may be better, but you will be paying extra too. Since we are only in the room to sleep at night, we can't justify paying any more for accomodations, and are grateful there are some average price places like this to stay in.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al73vw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Quality Inn in Chapel Hill offers a good place to stay for a night or more. It is simple, but comfortable and has a nice extra touches. Given the price, it is much more affordable than others in the city that charge you up to three times as much and don't offer simple things like breakfast or internet for free.

The hotel from the outside doesn't look that exciting. Depending on which direction that you come from, the hotel may be hard to find at night if you're not paying attention. If you come in from the rear, there is no light on the sign. However the front sign is lighted and impossible to miss, but your GPS likely will not send you this way unless you're coming from Durham. The check in went fairly quick but really no issues. If you have issues going up stairs, make sure that you ask for a first floor room. There is ample parking around the hotel.

The room was clean and had a king bed, table, chair and two end tables. The sink is in a separate room from the toilet and bathtub. The only strange thing about the room was that the small refrigerator was on the floor. Not sure why they couldn't put in on a small table in order for you not have to reach down to the floor to use it. There is good soundproofing even facing the street. It was hard to hear even car horns going off. The shower head had a lot of pressure, while the pressure in the sink was not as strong as I would have preferred. The internet is free, but was too slow to play any videos and some pages opened slowly.

The lobby is where the fee breakfast is located. There is also coffee and tea available anytime. There are also fresh baked cookies available at reception. Breakfast was from 0630-0930, so make sure you get up early if you want to eat at the hotel. There is also a sports bar (Bailey's) which you get 10% off by showing your room key and a Chinese restaurant within walking distance.

If you are in Chapel Hill, the Quality Inn is a good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was the best that our family has literally ever experienced. My family was in town because my cousin had brain surgery at UNC Hospital. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay alot easier; especially the Sales Manager - Barbara Leedy.
Unfortunately, my cousin has to go back soon for another surgery in the area soon for more problems with the surgery. The only thing to look forward to is the hospitality that this hotel will more than likely show us again ( if there is a vacancy at that time). Thanks Barbara!

- Amy and Kenneth Branch - South Carolina

Room Tip: You are missing out if you have to be in the area and do not stay there - especially if it is at all associated with having to go back and forth to the hospitals there.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, General Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you so much for such a rave review. We try to pride ourselves on taking care of the guests and their needs. We are sorry that your stay had to be under such unfortunate circumstances. If you need anything at all in the future please do not hesitate to call me.


Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at his hotel for 3 nights in August 2012. We were in the area for a wedding.Our family stayed at the Carolina Inn, which was about triple the price. This hotel has the absolute BEST prices on rooms, except for the University Inn, which has equal prices.
But, as a bonus, you get free breakfast here every morning, which was very good. Also, free internet/computer to use in the lobby anytime. The staff is friendly and well spoken. There is an outdoor pool that looked very nice, but we didn't have time to use it. There is also vending machines on the property, and a chinese buffet restaurant. Downtown Chapel Hill is about 2 miles away. RDU Airport is a 30 min drive.
So now for the not so great things... When I booked this hotel thru Hotels.com, it was a Hampton Inn. No one ever called or emailed us to tell us that the property had changed hands and was now a Quality Inn. So we spent 20 minutes driving all over the place trying to find the Hampton Inn, until a local person told me it was now a Quality Inn. We found it, and luckily during the day light hours, because the entrance is off a service road, and the sign is burnt out, so at night it is nearly impossible to see the entrance.
Our room had a musty/wet dog type of odor, that stayed the whole time we were there, it did not go away on it's own. They dont vaccuum the corners of the room, or behind the funiture, because there was dust and food crumbs all over the carpet, except for right on the main traffic area of the toom. Also, we removed the comforter the kept it on the floor, because when we first entered the room, it had food crumbs on it. Also, no housekeeping is done on Sundays, I don't know if that is standard practice or not.
But, overall it was fair/good. What do you expect for about $75 per night? It ain't the Ritz, but it's adequate.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 109, musty smell.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redrum1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, General Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciated the positive feedback and we will work hard on the items that were not so positive during your stay. Please let me know if you need anything in the future!

Thank you,


Alvin Sellars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay... Very private and clean hotel. My kids are at UNC a freshman and Jr. We stayed here as a Hampton and paid 89.00 UNC rate and now with quality inn we paid UNC rate which was lot lower.
We will be back several times and stay at this inn again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uncmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, General Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you so much for your great review. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally during your return stay if you need anything at all. Good luck to your kids at UNC and safe travels to you and your family.


Thank you,

Alvin Sellars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews