We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Nearby Hotels
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel(Chapel Hill)(Great Value!)
$134
$104
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Chapel Hill(Chapel Hill)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chapel Hill University Inn(Chapel Hill)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Chapel Hill(Chapel Hill)
$109
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Franklin(Chapel Hill)
$197
Curio.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloft Chapel Hill(Chapel Hill)
$127
$96
Aloft.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill(Chapel Hill)(Great Value!)
$113
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carolina Inn(Chapel Hill)
$239
CarolinaInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveler rating
71
85
62
15
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
85
62
15
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsservice roadroom was cleanchoice hotelssausage biscuitsfridge and microwavehot breakfastquiet locationwater pressurenice breakfastunc hospitalcalled the front deskfree breakfastfranklin streetmartycerealcomforterlinens
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 257 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Although the Hampton Inn in Chapel Hill, NC is not as new as most of the other Hampton Inns we have stayed at; it is clean and the service is very good. It has outdoor stair cases and walks which on a rainy night is a minus, we had such a a night. The location did make up for some of this.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skippy1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This is a redo of an older motel, and it shows. The rooms are fairly comfortable, but the noise is maddening. Unfortunately, we stayed on a weekend when there was a UNC home game. Our original rooms faced the parking lot, and the first night we got absolutely NO SLEEP!! We called the desk twice and finally banged on the door between rooms, neither of which yielded much success. We requested to be moved for the next two nights and were able to get some sleep from second-floor rooms that faced the courtyard. Even so, the AC was unbelievably noisy. Mine even made noise when turned off. Noise comes from the rooms next door, the rooms above, and the outside. Rolling luggage and the maintenance cart make for late nights and early mornings because they travel on concrete walkways right outside your door.
Breakfast is minimal.
A couple of bright spots: TV's are nice and the staff is excellent! They were helpful and tried to make us happier; unfortunately, they were limited in the quality of the accomodations they could offer.
I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from any room that faces the parking lot! It is worth the money to get a larger room; the small rooms are claustrophobically small! It is impossible to get away from the concrete walkways as all rooms have outside entrances.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyFarmReb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Clean room and bathroom. Included king size bed, armchair with footstool, desk, wardrobe, small fridge & microwave and space to move around and not feel cramped. I appreciated the additional floor lamp that made it possible to read in the armchair. The bathroom had adequate shelf space around sink for all our stuff even though the coffeemaker was also there. Heater was a bit noisy, but possible to ignore. Can't comment on breakfast because we had morning medical appointments (allowed nothing to eat for the preceeding 12 hours).

Room Tip: Hotel is on 2 floors with exterior room entrances and no elevator. If mobility is a problem, ask for first floor if not offered.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzaru22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

This motel more than met my expectations. We had a very nice room overlooking a wooded lot. The location is excellent and in a very quiet, off-road spot, yet close to a shopping center. The rooms are not luxurious, but are very good. The breakfast was quite good also, with hot waffles. The price was much more reasonable that most of the places we checked.

Room Tip: Two story facility, all rooms open to outside, either ground floor or balcony.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picturegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

WHY YOU'D STAY HERE:

* You're a heavy sleeper.
* You can't resist the allure of making your own waffle or microwave sausage & biscuits.
* The alternative is sleeping on the floor when you're visiting your sister.

WHY YOU'D STAY ELSEWHERE:

*You feel like spending more than $100/night.

BOTTOM LINE:

*You get what you pay for. In this case, you're not paying a lot. For your price, you get a clean (albeit small) room and access to hot breakfast (although the chaos that ensues in the self-serve setting might make you want to fight the Civil War all over again.) The three-machine exercise room, wireless internet, pool, and free parking are nice, but they barely sweeten the deal.

I rated this three stars based on hotels in this price range rather than all the lodging options available. I feel the hotel has too many flaws to warrant a higher rating. I could overlook the weak internet signal, but not the incredibly noisy heater that made me choose between warmth and quiet on a November night. I might give a pass on the weird industrial engine noises coming from the bowels of the hotel at all hours ( commercial washing machines?) but not the confusing design of the door, intended to prevent guests from locking themselves out, resulting in the doors being slammed to close them. At least that's what guests end up doing. If there's another way to do it, it isn't obvious enough, and it's not pleasant when people start banging them closed at 6:30 AM and you're still on west coast time.

At least the bed and pillows were pretty comfortable. I slept soundly in the short window of time after I shut the heater off until the door slamming began.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms don't open to the parking lot. If you don't mind walking, they're probably a little quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curlywillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews