We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel when visiting the University of North Carolina.”
Review of The Carolina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Carolina Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 16, 2010

My daughter and I made a college visit to the University of North Carolina. The Carolina Inn is right on campus. We parked the car and didn't need to worry anymore about finding parking because we just walked everywhere we needed to go. The hotel is exceptional. We received a warm welcome with two chocolate chip cookies. In our opinion, this is an exceptional hotel with a great location.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blue_Aces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,319 - 1,325 of 1,419 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2010

My fiance and I enjoyed our stay here and would stay there again. We were visiting friends who live in Chapel Hill. Our first room was AWFUL - it was supposed to be a Queen room and it had a bed that felt smaller than a Queen. There was a large plaster column that jutted from floor to ceiling in the corner of the room that was traingular and I presume structural (air vent? AC? fireplace shaft?) so the room which was tiny felt even smaller due to this corner blob that felt liked it loomed over the bed. there was almost no floor space and one tiny window. I asked to have us moved but due to a wedding they were sold out. The next day we were moved to a lovely corner room with a King sized bed and it was very pleasant and well sized. The staff were always nice and efficient. They give you free chocolate chip cookies they bake themselves. They do a high tea/ afternoon tea-service each day, you must order 24hrs in advance as they bake it fresh, and they can do GLUTEN FREE!!! We didnt have it as we found out too late, but I was excited it was an option. My main issue - the foyer is overpoweringly fragranced with either candles (I didnt see any) or air freshener or maybe its potpurri? Whatever the fragrance it smells floral perfume in the air EVERYWHERE in the ground floor and it really bothered me. From a health perspective chemical fragrances in enclosed spaces are toxic, plus honestly it's really unsophisticated - who wants to inhale mall beauty product smells with every breath? Also, perfumes tend to give me headaches.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlastairCookieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Stylish hotel, friendly staff, beautiful grounds and rooms

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanberraJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Our trip was neither leisure nor business; my son was getting oral surgery at the hospital. The hotel was extremely accommodating - including a shuttle that took and to and from the hospital. Aaron, the shuttle driver, was back at the hospital before they wheeled my son outside. He called ahead to the hotel to have a wheelchair awaiting our return. Everyone was very helpful.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank tarheellisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We just arrived home after a 3 night stay at The Carolina Inn in Chapel Hill. We absolutely loved it. Upon arrival we were greeted at the door and a very gracious young man named Mac handed us a homemade chocolate chip cookie and made our arrangments for our visit. We were in Room 348 and we were pleased. It is decorated in Old South elegance and the bed was very plush and comfortable. We had makings in our room for coffee/tea and the staff had left us orange juice and fresh fruit which we had requested. The turndown service with chocolates was nice. All of the staff are wonderful. One of the best parts of our stay was the Carolina Crossroads Restaurant at the Carolina Inn. It is a Mobile Four-Star restaurant(one of only two in the State) and is a Four Diamond AAA winner. The breakfasts and the dinners was superb! I can't say enough about how good the food is. There is free access to computers, free USA Today and local newspapers and the amenities in the bathroom are high quality. We were very very pleased with our stay and hope to go back next year! Don't hesitate to book your stay at The Carolina Inn. It is a wonderful experience in Old South grandeur.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTheSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Be sure to request a renovated room. If you hate small rooms, you should insist on a king or two doubles. The queen room was cozy and perfect for us, but my husband might have liked a larger room.

Love this hotel and my ultimate test of how good a hotel is... did i want to stay longer? Yes! Honestly, I would have liked to have stayed another 4 days! Really wanted to take an afternoon nap in that bed. Bedding was fabulous. Be sure to request a renovated room. They were still renovating when we were there. The decor was fabulous. It isn't clean lines modern by any means, but it is tasteful, classy - marble baths, clean white fluffy bedding, and gorgeous window treatments, rugs. Furniture is all local mahogany and very nice.

Loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PugetSoundGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We got in early, 10 AM or so and they had our room ready. No fuss. No special request. It was clean, comfortable, lovely decor. Parking was easy and reasonable at $10/day. If not for our daughter who has special needs we would have been within walking distance to at least good food and an art museum. Would have been happy to stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NebraskaLatvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
1.8 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
678 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#11 of 18 in Chapel Hill
33 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Inn

Address: 211 Pittsboro St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516-2739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: $160 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chapel Hill, at the doorstep of the beautiful campus of The University of North Carolina. Come experience world-class service, elegantly appointed guest accommodations, superb dining, outstanding meeting and banquet facilities, and an expert staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Carolina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing