We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class hotel, service and southern charm. Decor was fantastic - i wanted to stay longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Carolina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carolina Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First class hotel, service and southern charm. Decor was fantastic - i wanted to stay longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

Be sure to request a renovated room. If you hate small rooms, you should insist on a king or two doubles. The queen room was cozy and perfect for us, but my husband might have liked a larger room.

Love this hotel and my ultimate test of how good a hotel is... did i want to stay longer? Yes! Honestly, I would have liked to have stayed another 4 days! Really wanted to take an afternoon nap in that bed. Bedding was fabulous. Be sure to request a renovated room. They were still renovating when we were there. The decor was fabulous. It isn't clean lines modern by any means, but it is tasteful, classy - marble baths, clean white fluffy bedding, and gorgeous window treatments, rugs. Furniture is all local mahogany and very nice.

Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PugetSoundGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    916
    207
    64
    20
    17
See reviews for
444
245
63
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

We got in early, 10 AM or so and they had our room ready. No fuss. No special request. It was clean, comfortable, lovely decor. Parking was easy and reasonable at $10/day. If not for our daughter who has special needs we would have been within walking distance to at least good food and an art museum. Would have been happy to stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NebraskaLatvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

I have stayed at the Carolina Inn on many occassions (for TarHeel sporting events mostly)! I always enjoy myself! It is important to understand that this is a boutique hotel, so every room and every stay has been different (but great) for me. Their rooms are like a box of chocolates...you never know what delicious surprise is waiting for you inside! When you know you are coming to Chapel Hill...book that day, because getting a room vacant is not an easy task. Go Heels!

Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank glendon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

The Good:
- Location , you can walk all around town and do not need a car while staying
- Reception area is very pretty
- We got a rate $160 bed and breakfast which we thought was good
- Food was excellent throughout
- Free internet access for guests
- Four computers for free internet access
- Pretty hotel

The Bad:
- Building work is happening at present (August 2010). Walking to our room involved going over cardboard, walking around ladders and workmen. Though I appreciate this needs to happen, customers should be warned when building working is happening at time of booking. The lack of warning shows a distinct lack of thought and customer care by this hotel.
- Bathrooms were the smallest I have ever seen in a hotel. It was hard for one person to be in there never mind two.
- Our bill missed a number of large charges which was to our advantage, but does suggest a lack of attention to detail at this hotel.
- Parking charge of $10 for self parking is mean
- Staff were generally pleasant but were not always motivated to be helpful.
- Watch out for the taxes per room per night. It added $60 a night to our bill.

We would return once the building work is complete.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 195binney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, INdiana, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

Overall a great experience! I arrived and the hotel staff was very welcoming; they provided a fresh chocolate chip/toffee cookie upon checking-in. My room had been newly renovated (likely within the last 3 months) and it was very classy. Great linens. Modern bathroom.

I had a minor issue with my air conditioning. Upon contacting the front desk, a tech immediately came to my room and alleviated the issue. He also followed-up by calling 20 minutes later to determine whether there was anything the air conditioning was functional or if there was anything that could be done to better my stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nschleicher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

Its a bit pretentious, the rooms are small, and there is no pool -- but has a great location for nightlife on Franklin street and very handy for visiting the university. Also can get a decent rate if you book far enough in advance (tho will still get stuck for $10/ni parking which seems a bit excessive)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bebrbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

My boyfriend & I stayed at the Carolina Inn for a friend's wedding. About a month after our stay, both credit cards we used at the hotel were 'compromised" aka stolen. Neither the hotel nor the hotel's management company contacted us. I was able to identify where the card was stolen because several of our friends that also stayed at the hotel had their cards stolen as well. I contacted the hotel & they gave me the 1-800 number for their management company, Destination Hotels, & offered no compensation for my inconvenience. The hotel was very nice and analogized but I did have to call 3 times before I was given the number of the management company. I called Destination Hotels. They merely asked for the location of my stay, my name & phone number. They said they had "uncovered a malicious software program inserted into its credit card processing system from a remote source. The software breach has been corrected." They said there was an ongoing investigation & no compensation was available. He added they were also a victim of the attack. The hotel was nice, maybe a little overpriced. This situation ruined my opinion of the hotel. I will not stay at this hotel or any other hotel managed by Destination Hotels again.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KLC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCarolinaInn, General Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for contacting us regarding your payment card. We take this issue very seriously and apologize for any difficulty you had in reaching us to discuss this situation. Immediately upon learning of the breach we advised and cooperated fully with the various credit card companies and law enforcement. The system breach was widely reported in the media and letters were sent to all past hotel guests in our records letting them know of the situation. I’m very sorry if you did not receive one of these notice letters. We value your business and I welcome the opportunity to personally discuss this issue with you. Please contact me directly at 919-933-2001 In the meantime, we’ve also posted important updated information on our Web site about this issue under our “Special Notice” link. Please visit this site to obtain important information to prevent fraud.


Sincerely,
Shawn Gracey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
2.8 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 17 in Chapel Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Inn

Property: The Carolina Inn
Address: 211 Pittsboro St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516-2739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chapel Hill, at the doorstep of the beautiful campus of The University of North Carolina. Come experience world-class service, elegantly appointed guest accommodations, superb dining, outstanding meeting and banquet facilities, and an expert staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carolina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing