We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of The Carolina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carolina Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 17, 2010

I booked three nights at this hotel so I could visit my daughter who attends UNC. Carolina Inn had a special rate that included breakfast that they advertised as a 72 hour sale on their web-site. We had a wonderful time and I cannot give a high enough rating in all catagories for this place. I felt so welcome and cared for. I hope to be able to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naturewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,352 - 1,358 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2010

The unexpected show in the weather forecast caused us to leave for the Triangle earlier than expected, therefore we arrived at the Carolina Inn at 11:30am. The staff was more than happy to let us check-in early, which was wonderful. We were there for a memorial service for a friend's daughter. A reception was held in a nearby neighborhood, and instead of our group taking several vehicles in the bad weather, the Inn delivered us all and picked us up in the hotel van. Very helpful! Since the weather was so bad, we spent all of our down time at the hotel. After the service, we set up housekeeping in the sunroom where we ordered pizza, and the staff set us up with plates and napkins. The next morning, we were taken to a private dining room for breakfast. It was beautiful, and such a great way to end our bittersweet weekend with friends. The staff was there for all of us every step of the way. Thank you for a memorable weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeytoler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

I arrived to the hotel, and the staff was courteous, friendly and knowledgeable. I went out for dinner, and upon my return, my room was turned over for bed. The rate was unbeatable, and it's central. Great choice.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmoay020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

I have stayed at the lovely Carolina Inn several times and every time, I am a bit sad to leave. I love this hotel for its the location, the decor, the staff, the overall warm and homey atmosphere. Will stay there every time I visit Chapel Hill. Only suggestions are for additional parking space during busy fall weekends (football, wedding, Greek events all at same time cause gridlock and lack of parking spots) -- and more concrete ramps for when you're walking with luggage from hotel to self-parking.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HornsHeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

Having read through the previous reviews, there's little that I can add. It's all true.

The Carolina Inn is a charming Southern home, oozing hospitality for Carolina alumni. It's also an older property, with lots of quirks, including many smaller rooms with uneven floors and tiny bathrooms. It's THE place to stay if you're going to football games or other campus events. It's within walking distance to "everything". It's pricey. It's priceless. Most people who stay there love it dearly, and come back time and time again. It's not for everybody.

Personally, I enjoy staying at the Carolina Inn. I'm a UNC alumnus and I feel at home there. It strains my wallet a bit to stay there, but I've never been sorry I visited.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobeTrotterGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

The Carolina Inn is a lovely gem of a hotel. We were there for a family wedding. It is a beautiful wedding location oozing with southern charm and hospitality. They have perfect settings for both an inside or outside wedding. On this occasion the weather was iffy so the hotel prepared both the outside and inside venue for last minute decisions. The hospitality offered by all of the staff was amazing. From the moment we arrived we were addressed by name throughout the property. We had a generously sized room and bath but the bath needs more counter space for spreading out toiletries. Location couldn't be better for those visiting the area. Get out and walk around and enjoy the southern charm of a college town in NC. This hotel strives to make itself a comfortable, home away from home among elegant surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cotmoring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Spent a night at The Carolina Inn in Chapel Hill, NC. Room was small, very nicely furniched but without many of the amenities a hotel like this shojld have nowadays. Bathroom was very clean, but looked like it had last been updated twenty years ago. Hotel staff friendly and gracious... very Southern. Conference facilities were OK, but could have been updated a bit.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KARXPRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
1.8 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
683 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
1.7 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
472 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Inn

Address: 211 Pittsboro St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516-2739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: $175 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chapel Hill, at the doorstep of the beautiful campus of The University of North Carolina. Come experience world-class service, elegantly appointed guest accommodations, superb dining, outstanding meeting and banquet facilities, and an expert staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Carolina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing