We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,609)
Filter reviews
1,612 results
Traveler rating
1,232
257
80
23
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,232
257
80
23
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe crossroadssouthern charmunc campushistoric hotelfranklin streetfront porchchocolate chip cookiesrooms are smallplace to stayself parkingwonderful staytar heelthe location is perfectcollege visitturn down servicebed was very comfortablehistory
Filter
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 1,612 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2017

Recently, I had the opportunity to stay at the Carolina Inn, while in Chapel Hill on business. To call this place ELEGANT would be an understatement.
When you walk in to the building, the smell of apples and cinnamon permeates the air. Beautiful hardwood floors everywhere. The hotel staff are always busy cleaning something, even the chandeliers. The walls of the hotel are tastefully decorated with photos of famous alumni of nearby University of North Carolina, as well as historic photos of the university itself. The hotel is actually on the UNC Campus. The hotel restaurant, Crossroads Chapel Hill, serves a variety of local cuisine, as well as typical 'American' dishes. I wasn't there long enough to sample much of the menu, but what I did try was excellent. The rooms were VERY nice. I had access to a safe, large enough to keep a lap-top computer, a microwave oven, mini fridge, and TONS of storage space for my belongings. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family, or anyone looking for an amazing place to stay while in the area.

Room Tip: No bad rooms that I'm aware of.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank StewieYWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

What a delight to read the notes from your recent stay! We pride ourselves on ensuring guests feel that they are truly part of the place, so we are delighted to hear that you experienced authentic southern hospitality in our historic hotel. Thank you for all of your kind words regarding our Crossroads Restaurant, location, staff, rooms and our collection of biographies of noted UNC alumni, faculty, and landmarks. We look forward to welcoming you back if you happen to be in the area again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2017

This is really a first class hotel near everything in Chapel Hill! UNC Campus, sports arenas, UNC Hospital - they are all near by. The facility itself is well maintained and 'fresh" in every area. The rooms are well equipped and roomy. The beds are comfortable, the linens great. Housekeeping is superb. The best part are the people on staff! From valet parking to check in to housekeeping - everyone is friendly and willing to help.

Room Tip: Only three floors in all. You will be comfortable on either.
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jim4249541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Thank you for the great review! We were very pleased to read your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Carolina Inn, especially that you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to the rest of the team. Thank you so much for your kind words about our great location and beautiful rooms, as well. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2017

This was a perfect spot for a family wedding. Everyone was cordial and very helpful . The venue was beautiful and really help make the whole stay very memorable. My only suggestion is that they have more gluten free options available in the restaurant. Since being gluten free is not a choice for myself and my family the options were very limited ( but I should add they did a wonderful job for the rehearsal dinner and wedding itself providing us with many gluten free choices) I also think some of the wait staff were not as informed about gluten free foods that were available or could be modified. Everything else was first rate and I would highly recommend your beautiful Inn !

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank paulmD5741CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

Dear paulmD5741CR,
Thank you for sharing your review and your positive feedback about our staff and venue with the trip advisor community. I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations and fell short with service and gluten free meal options in our restaurant. I went ahead and shared your comments with our Culinary and Restaurant Management team in order to ensure we are improving in the areas we have fallen short. Thank you again for your comment and we hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2017

This is truly a grand hotel from the heyday of great city hotels, the 1920s-30s. Superbly decorated and well staffed by the type of cordial men and women you expect in a classy southern hotel. The room was small (as expected) but certainly pleasant and comfortable. Within easy walking distance of restaurants and entertainment as well as being next to the University campus. Nice experience.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0rgiL0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Thank for the kind words regarding our location and history. We treasure our central location in Chapel Hill and embrace our identity as The University's Living Room! We look forward to your next visit to the Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2017

Clean, Comfortable, Classy and the entire hotel staff was On Point! The wedding we attended was so well done. The ball room was gorgeous, the service staff, courteous and well trained.
The hotel staff flawless with their customer service.
Our King bed was difficult to get out of due to the extreme comfort they provided!
If we find ourselves in Chapel Hill again, this hotel would be our 1st and only choice.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank danielerY1932NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Thank you for the great review! The Carolina Inn has a long tradition of hosting weddings with our own unique southern charm and grace. We make every effort to provide gracious southern hospitality to our guests, so we’re delighted that you left feeling that way. Thank you again for the kind words about our staff and accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back if you find yourselves in Chapel Hill again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews