We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$329
Fully refundable before Sun, May 26
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
$296
Fully refundable before Thu, May 23
Get rewarded with One Key
$296
Fully refundable before Thu, May 23
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
blacklagoon37215
Nashville, Tennessee

Historic inn nice surroundings,small room

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 3, 2017
I overall really liked this hotel. The common areas are beautiful in a "southern decor" type of decorating. Everything is polished,clean and refined. My only complaint is that my room was very small. I understand that in a historic building ,you cant be in control of the way that spaces are laid out. But.....my bathroom was huge, I had an entry hall that was quite nice....and then the main room was tiny. The room was beautiful,quaint and like a cool attic space since it was on the top floor. The bath products are Nest, which is a great brand .Several other nice ammenities. The restaurant is pretty good, but I would more recommenb exploring the local fare around Chapel Hill.
Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this review
Responded Nov 8, 2017
Thank you so much for your review! Our mission is to provide guests with gracious southern hospitality in our treasured historic venue. With the décor inspired by historical southern antiques along with the latest modern amenities, it’s pleasing to hear how our guests discover and enjoy a unique southern experience. Thank you again for the kind words about our cleanliness and our amenities. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    $179
  • Skyscanner.com
    $152
  • Expedia.com
    $179
2.8 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
$189
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $189
  • Algotels
    $169
  • Expedia.com
    $189
1.8 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$163
$144
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $144
  • Tripadvisor
    $144
  • Priceline
2.0 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$212
  • Official Site
    $212
  • Tripadvisor
    $212
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AC Lobby
Booking.com
$116
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
    $107
  • Expedia.com
    $129
0.3 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
$133
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    $121
  • Expedia.com
    $133
4.0 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Skyscanner.com
$144
  • Trip.com
  • Hyatt.com
    $144
  • ZenHotels.com
    $144
1.5 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$179
  • Residence Inn
  • Booking.com
    $179
  • Hotels.com
    $179
3.0 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Sheraton.com
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    $140
  • Skyscanner.com
    $135
  • Expedia.com
    $140
3.0 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chapel Hill
Reviews (2,210)
Filter reviews
2,210 results
Traveler rating
1,709
318
104
43
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,709
318
104
43
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the crossroads southern charm unc campus historic hotel franklin street front porch rooms are small place to stay self parking visiting chapel hill the location is perfect wonderful stay college town history carolina wedding valet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
823 - 828 of 2,210 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2017

Can't beat the location but each time we visit we seem to get a smaller and smaller room. The price-size ration is terrible. If it weren't for the location I would not stay there. Nothing more to say...

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Dear Leslie Meyers,
I am disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We did update your guest profile regarding the room size and will do our best to upgrade you to one of our more spacious rooms in the future. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017

Great location, but rooms are small and always seem to have trouble with reservations. Again, our room was not what we had reserved and given the extremely high pricing for football weekends, you would expect better service and amenities.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank joeg375
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Dear Joseph Griswold,
I send my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. Our staff pride themselves on providing honest and high quality guest service. I have passed your notes along to our reservations team so that we can improve our service in the future. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you consider returning to The Carolina Inn in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017

Beautiful property and friendly staff. Walking distance to campus and downtown Chapel Hill. In my opinion, the rooms may need a little bit of updating, but that is hardly a dealbreaker. Definitely recommend!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 942gauhara
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Thank you for your wonderful and candid review. We treasure our central location and we love hearing when our guests enjoy their experience. We will continue to work hard to maintain our historic Inn to the standard of excellence! On behalf of the entire Carolina Inn team, thank you, and we'll be sure to pass along your kind words to our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile

Our party of 4 had a very pleasant and enjoyable afternoon tea. Scones were warm and served with homemade lemon curd, jam and Devonshire cream. A wide variety of teas and each of us received our own pot of delicious tea. Savories and sweets were unique and delicious. Our hostess was very knowledgeable and we were never rushed to leave. The property is beautiful and the history is so very well presented that you'll want to read all the placards around the premises! Free parking on site.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 690CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Thank you for sharing this great review! We are delighted that our restaurant team was extremely accommodating and that you enjoyed having afternoon tea with us. Thank you for the kind words about the décor of our historic hotel as well! We look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017

Staff is Friendly, accommodations are super comfortable and the location can't be beat! It was disappointing that there is not a pool or hot tub... And check in isn't until 3pm. They are popular, so don't assume you'll get in early.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2017

Thank you for the kind words about our staff and our location! We will continue to work hard to ensure that we maintain the standard for comfortable accommodations and amazing services! We look forward to your next visit to Chapel Hill and The Carolina Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews