We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$329
Fully refundable before Sun, May 26
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
$296
Fully refundable before Thu, May 23
Get rewarded with One Key
Hyatt.com
$296
Enroll free for lower prices
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
cangirl44
Cave Creek, Arizona

Amazing

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 13, 2017
We chose to stay at The Carolina Inn for our 31st wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. The front desk staff, the restaurant and bar as well as the Pittsboro Street cafe provided excellent service and food. The room was beautiful and well appointed.
Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this review
Responded Oct 18, 2017
Thank you for the wonderful review. We were honored that you chose us for such a special occasion. We were very pleased to read that you found our staff to be hospitable and accommodating. We appreciate all of your kind words about our food at the Carolina Crossroads Restaurant and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back for future anniversaries and getaways!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
Booking.com
$189
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $189
  • Algotels
    $169
  • Expedia.com
    $189
1.8 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$163
$144
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.0 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$212
  • Official Site
    $212
  • Priceline
    $212
  • Hotels.com
    $212
0.3 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AC Lobby
Booking.com
$116
  • Hotels.com
    $129
  • Algotels
    $107
  • Priceline
    $116
0.3 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
$133
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $133
  • Skyscanner.com
    $121
  • Priceline
    $133
4.0 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Skyscanner.com
$144
  • Hyatt.com
    $144
  • Trip.com
    $144
  • ZenHotels.com
    $144
1.5 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Residence Inn
$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    $179
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • Hotels.com
    $179
3.0 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Club Lounge
Sheraton.com
$140
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    $140
  • Skyscanner.com
    $135
  • Expedia.com
    $140
3.0 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chapel Hill
Reviews (2,210)
Filter reviews
2,210 results
Traveler rating
1,709
318
104
43
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,709
318
104
43
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the crossroads southern charm unc campus historic hotel franklin street front porch rooms are small place to stay self parking visiting chapel hill the location is perfect wonderful stay college town history carolina wedding valet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
844 - 849 of 2,210 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2017

Such a nice room, comfortable seating, well appointed, great table separation and decent acoustics so you can carry on a conversation no matter how many folks are in the place. The menu is limited, but with so many interesting twists. Not sure how to describe the cuisine in general....fusion, yes, some of that, Southern, well, yeah, lots of that. Not sure if this is in general or just on Sunday evening, but there are no specials.
I had a salmon entree and I cannot remember the last time I had salmon so tasty. The heirloom tomato salad is the perfect place to start. The beer and cocktail menu is quite good, the wine list, meh. Service is professional, attentive and not cloying, the staff good with young children (the children's menu is one of the best I've seen anywhere, not the usual chicken-fingers-and-hot-dogs.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank castoff13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CrossroadsCH, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

Thank you for your kind review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017

Very close to campus. The halls are adorned with pictures and memorabilia from UNC. The rooms are small, but the bathrooms are clean and recently remodeled. There is a fitness center on the first floor. You will find a punching bag with "Duke" and "NC State" insignias!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SpikeIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017

We are delighted to read the comments from your recent stay! Thank you for all of your kind words regarding our location and our collection of biographies of noted UNC alumni, faculty, and landmarks. We appreciate the complements about our fitness center as well. We are glad you like the decor! We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in our area again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017

The Carolina Inn is so great, I almost want to keep it a secret!
If your visiting UNC or in the area, it's the best Hotel in Chapel Hill and the service is really 5 star. The fresh cookies at the front desk are an example of the little things that make this a great place.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bradh776
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017

Thank you so much for the great feedback regarding your recent stay at the Carolina Inn. We are delighted that you found the service and hospitality exceptional. We are also pleased you had a chance to enjoy the sweet taste of the south with our house-made North Carolina pecan chocolate chip cookies. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017

Lovely hotel, beautiful property, and wonderful staff. I can't wait to stay again at this home-away-from-home during my next visit to Chapel Hill, NC. From arrival to check-out, everything was a first-class experience at The Carolina Inn. Great accommodations, on-site dining, and centrally located to on-campus activities. And Franklin Street is within walking distance too! Treat yourself and those you travel with to an experience you'll always remember!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chrishH1721NQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017

Thank you very much for the great review. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Since 1924, The Carolina Inn has striven to offer the finest in lodging, dining, and hospitality and we are pleased to hear that you were able to experience all three! Being the only hotel on the UNC-Chapel Hill campus, we love that our guests are only a short walk from all university destinations and historic Franklin Street. Thank you again for your kind words about the hotel. We hope to see you on your next trip to Chapel Hill!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017

Lovely, historic hotel located in the heart of UNC-Chapel Hill's campus. Known for Fridays on the Front Porch, the Saturday Make Your Own Bloody Mary Bar, and afternoon tea in the lobby. Fantastic food, service, and the place to be on game day!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Excursion583946
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017

Thank you for the lovely review! Being the only hotel on the UNC Chapel Hill campus, we love that our guests are only a short walk from all university destinations and historic Franklin Street. We are glad that you had a chance to enjoy Carolina Crossroads’ Fridays on the Front Porch and the Make Your Own Bloody Mary Bar. We love hosting guests during UNC Football weekends and we are pleased to hear that you chose to spend your game day with us! We look forward to your next visit to Chapel Hill and The Carolina Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews