We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$329
Fully refundable before Sun, May 26
No prepayment needed
$296
Fully refundable before Thu, May 23
Hyatt.com
Enroll free for lower prices
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Betsy E
Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Love this inn!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 7, 2017
This is the perfect place to stay when in Chapel Hill, with history, gorgeous hotel, great location and professional staff all working together to make it a memorable experience! Our friends who were with us were very impressed with the hotel and Chapel Hill. Thanks so much.
Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this review
Responded Aug 10, 2017
Dear Betsy E,
What a delight to read the notes from your recent stay! Through our southern graciousness and hospitality, we take pleasure in making the Carolina Inn a haven for an authentic and memorable experience. Thank you for your high praise and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
Booking.com
$189
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $189
  • Algotels
    $169
  • Expedia.com
    $189
1.8 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$144
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.0 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$212
  • Tripadvisor
    $212
  • Official Site
  • Algotels
0.3 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AC Lobby
Booking.com
$116
  • Priceline
    $116
  • Algotels
    $109
  • Expedia.com
    $129
0.3 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
$133
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    $121
  • Expedia.com
    $133
4.0 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Skyscanner.com
$144
  • Trip.com
  • Hyatt.com
    $144
  • ZenHotels.com
    $144
1.5 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$179
  • Residence Inn
  • Booking.com
    $179
  • Priceline
3.0 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Sheraton.com
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    $140
  • Skyscanner.com
    $135
  • Expedia.com
    $140
3.0 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chapel Hill
Reviews (2,210)
Filter reviews
2,210 results
Traveler rating
1,709
318
104
43
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,709
318
104
43
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the crossroads southern charm unc campus historic hotel franklin street front porch rooms are small place to stay self parking visiting chapel hill the location is perfect wonderful stay college town history carolina wedding valet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
898 - 903 of 2,210 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful. The history is great.

However, we listened to the elevator shaft all night long. Neither of us slept due to this.

Additionally, we also heard when a truck came to make a delivery at 2 AM (you could hear the obnoxious beeping when it backed up).

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank jamieblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017

Dear Jamie L,
We are truly sorry and hope you will accept our apologies for the noise issues you experienced during your recent stay at The Carolina Inn. Our goal is to provide restful and relaxing accommodations to all of our guests, so it is very disappointing that we failed to deliver during your visit. We do appreciate you taking the time to share this feedback and hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017

I loved this hotel and wish we could have stayed longer. We were there for one night just to break up our drive to the beach, and could not have had a nicer evening. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a King room on the top floor. Bed was very comfortable and the decor was lovely, even in the hallways. I honestly just wanted to chill in the lounges near the elevator, which is not a reaction I've ever had to a hotel before. We had a lot of fun just wandering around through the hotel and grounds. Right on the UNC campus so it's in walking distance to everything. We definitely plan on coming back.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank IsabellaCrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017

Dear IsabellaCrane ,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at The Carolina Inn. We are very pleased to read that you were upgraded to a King room upon arrival, enjoyed a great night’s rest, and were able to enjoy our hotel’s ambiance as well. Thank you for all of your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017

Beautiful history paired with luxury...piano playing, tea time, beautiful fresh flowers, the look of a luxury B&B, with the updated hospitality and grounds you'll only find in Carolina! I attended graduate school on campus. I would often end up with a really good deal on Carolina Inn and loved it- felt like I was an imposter among all the patrons donning their robes and walking the terrace! It truly is a historical piece of UNC and it is luxurious and historically interesting at the same time. Food/Restaurant/Room Service is to die for. Get ready for that. Wonderful hotel, just a bit pricey if you are not aware of deals/specials/special online quotes. Go UNC!

Room tip: Each room had a view- I asked for a garden view and saw a wedding!
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Dear nctravelgirl29,
Thank you for the excellent review! It brings us much pleasure when we hear alumni returning to Chapel Hill and remembering their fond Carolina memories at our hotel. As a historic landmark in Chapel Hill, we take great pride in our venue steeped in Carolina history and traditions, so we’re delighted to read such high praise. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017

Great location within walking distance of restaurants and stores. Booked a room and breakfast rate. The breakfast buffet had a huge selection and the food was excellent. We also had dinner at the Inn and that was good also. The room was quiet, the bed comfortable, and the shower had great pressure. My only complaint is no wifi in the room...had to go to the lobby.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank corrineBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Dear corrineBoston,
Thank you for the great review. Being the only hotel on the UNC Chapel Hill campus, we love that our guests are only a short walk from historic Franklin Street. We are delighted you had a chance to enjoy breakfast and dinner at our Crossroads restaurant. We are also glad you found our accommodations to be relaxing, however, we do want to apologize about the Wi-Fi inconvenience. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon and provide a flawless visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017

We visited Carolina Inn for a long weekend and what a super weekend it was. Room was nice, the bar and snacks we tried were tasty and varied and the hospitality lavished on us by the staff was first rate. Well done!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank ajfeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Dear ajfeather,
Thank you very much for the wonderful review! We are delighted to hear you had an amazing stay with us. Your impression of the Carolina Inn is exactly what we hope each guest takes away upon leaving the hotel. Thank you again for such kind words. We hope to welcome you back to the Carolina Inn on your next trip to Chapel Hill!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews