We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$329
Fully refundable before Sun, May 26
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
$296
Fully refundable before Thu, May 23
Get rewarded with One Key
Hyatt.com
$296
Enroll free for lower prices
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
wandar541

Great Stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 19, 2017
I loved everything about the Carolina Inn. The location was perfect for our needs. The service was impeccable. The room was clean and charming. The bed was comfortable and the food was delicious. The Carolina Inn had all our needs and expectations covered.
Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this review
Responded Jul 20, 2017
Dear wandar541,
Thank you for the fantastic review! We are delighted to hear you had a great stay with us. We appreciate all of your kind words regarding our location, staff, food, and guestrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Carolina Inn and exceeding your expectations once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
Booking.com
$189
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $189
  • Algotels
    $169
  • Autograph
    $189
1.8 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$147
$144
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $144
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
    $144
2.0 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$212
  • Priceline
    $212
  • Official Site
    $212
  • Hotels.com
    $212
0.3 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$133
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $133
  • Vio.com
    $121
  • Hotels.com
    $133
4.0 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Skyscanner.com
$144
  • Trip.com
    $144
  • Hyatt.com
    $144
  • ZenHotels.com
    $144
1.5 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Residence Inn
$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    $179
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • Hotels.com
    $179
3.0 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Club Lounge
Sheraton.com
$140
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    $140
  • Skyscanner.com
    $135
  • Hotels.com
    $140
3.0 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $116
  • Algotels
    $107
  • Expedia.com
    $129
0.3 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Chapel Hill
Reviews (2,210)
Filter reviews
2,210 results
Traveler rating
1,709
318
104
43
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,709
318
104
43
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the crossroads southern charm unc campus historic hotel franklin street front porch rooms are small place to stay self parking visiting chapel hill the location is perfect wonderful stay college town history carolina wedding valet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
914 - 919 of 2,210 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2017

Have a fantastic time at the Carolina in the rooms were very comfortable and sleep was not a problem very quiet the hallways leading to the rooms remind you of your home with history and photographs all over the walls the staff was excellent the bar was well stocked with craft beer in the bartenders were very friendly the entire building is beautiful

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ronnier33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Dear Ronnie R,
Thank you for the kind words about The Carolina Inn. Our goal is to provide restful, relaxing and charming accommodations and services – and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your Carolina Inn experience. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017

As a graduate of UNC, I was more than pleased with the renovations that were completed a couple of years ago. The craftsmanship and attention to detail in the reno rivals that of buildings erected for royalty in past centuries.

The rich Southern decor has been preserved in the rooms and public areas. Food, service and staff were also of the highest quality. The one downside for me, because I have dined at the inn many times over the years, was that the intimate restaurant with it's yellows and cobalt blues and the clubby bar with its relaxing atmosphere have been replaced with a very large contemporary styled restaurant that looks like so many others. But any visitor not tied by memory to the inn will love it, and I am sure the change creates a much better flow on game weekends.

It's a VERY short walk to the lively scene on Franklin Street or the main campus. This property has always been an amazing plus for the university and is better than ever.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ginger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Dear Ginger L,
Thank you very much for leaving this wonderful review. For over 90 years, the Carolina Inn has exemplified gracious southern hospitality in our treasured historic venue. We have made some changes as the times have modernized, but we still make sure that our guests enjoy the southern lifestyle immersed within our history and traditions. We thank you for your high praise, and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017

Excellent hotel and staff. Beautiful property and outstanding experience. I would definitely stay at the Carolina Inn again and would highly recommend the hotel to my friends and colleagues. I am looking forward to returning!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank aaronrT7493WX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Dear aaronrT7493WX,
What a delight to read the notes from your recent stay! We pride ourselves on offering a memorable experience, so it’s very pleasing to read you had a excellent visit. Thank you for your recommendation and kind words about the property. We look forward to your next visit to Chapel Hill and The Carolina Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017

My daughter and I stayed here on the way to pick her sister up from camp. The hotel, staff, rooms and dining were fantastic and exemplified the best of the South. We took the opportunity to explore the UNC campus before we left as the Inn is conveniently located in the heart of campus. I highly recommend this propert.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cmck100100n
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Dear Cmck100100,
Thank you very much for the fantastic review. Through our southern graciousness and hospitality, we take pleasure in making the Carolina Inn a haven for an authentic experience. Being the only hotel on the UNC Chapel Hill campus, we love that our guests are just a short walk from all university destinations and Franklin Street. Thank you for the recommendation and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2017

I had heard great things about the Carolina Inn for years, but decided to find out for myself on a recent trip to Chapel Hill. It really is THAT fantastic!
The service is 5-star, the rooms are comfortable and well-appointed and my meal at Crosswinds was one of the best that I have in a long, long time. Carolina Inn really is as good as what you hear!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michaelkR4863KG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Dear michaelkR4863KG,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at The Carolina Inn! We are thrilled to read that you had terrific service from our staff, enjoyed a great night’s rest, and were able to enjoy the culinary delights at our Crossroads Restaurant. Thank you again for your high praise and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews
<