We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$329
Fully refundable before Sun, May 26
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
$296
Fully refundable before Thu, May 23
Get rewarded with One Key
Hyatt.com
$296
Enroll free for lower prices
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
763bennettp

Attend class reunion

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 13, 2017
The purpose of the visit was to attend the UNC class of 1962 reunion. The dinner was held at the Carolina Inn. Food was very good. Staff was excellent. A staff member at the front desk was very helpful in unlocking the "store" next to front desk - allowing me to purchase a soft drink late at night.
Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this review
Responded May 17, 2017
Dear 763bennettp,
Thank you for the great review. We were very pleased to read your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Carolina Inn especially that you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to our team and we look forward to your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
Booking.com
$189
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $189
  • Vio.com
    $170
  • Autograph
    $189
1.8 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$144
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $144
  • Tripadvisor
    $144
  • Algotels
2.0 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$212
  • Tripadvisor
    $212
  • Official Site
  • Priceline
    $212
0.3 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AC Lobby
Booking.com
$116
  • Priceline
    $116
  • Algotels
    $107
  • Expedia.com
    $129
0.3 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
$133
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $133
  • Skyscanner.com
    $121
  • Expedia.com
    $133
4.0 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Skyscanner.com
$144
  • Hyatt.com
    $144
  • Trip.com
    $144
  • ZenHotels.com
    $144
1.5 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Residence Inn
$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    $179
  • Algotels
    $161
  • Expedia.com
    $179
3.0 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Club Lounge
Sheraton.com
$140
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    $140
  • Skyscanner.com
    $135
  • Expedia.com
    $140
3.0 miles from The Carolina Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chapel Hill
Reviews (2,210)
Filter reviews
2,210 results
Traveler rating
1,709
318
104
43
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,709
318
104
43
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the crossroads southern charm unc campus historic hotel franklin street front porch rooms are small place to stay self parking visiting chapel hill the location is perfect wonderful stay college town history carolina wedding valet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
968 - 973 of 2,210 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2017

Southern Hospitality in a suburban environment is rare to find these days. Location is great, the staff is absolutely there to make you feel special! Lots of history sprinkled throughout the Hotel and area. Felt more like a retreat than a hotel experience.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2017

Dear Frank C,
Thank you for the fantastic review. We believe you've captured the essence of The Carolina Inn with your comments about our central location combined with southern hospitality! Thank you for the kind words and we look forward to your next visit to Chapel Hill and The Carolina Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2017

Short business trip but the staff were excellent and the facility was clean and comfortable. The food was excellent at the banquet I attended in the facility. I look forward to my next stay. Always nice to be back in chapel hill!

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2017

Dear Daniel B,
Thank you for the great review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your accommodation with us. Being a historic landmark in Chapel Hill, we take great pride in our historic venue steeped in Carolina history and traditions. Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2017

We stayed at the Caroling Inn for 3 night to celebrate a Bat Mitzvah. The service in relation to that celebration was top notch. However, we experience terrible service at the Pittsboro Street Provision on our last morning. Other than the terrible service at the Pittsboro Street Provision our stay was delightful. At the Pittsboro Street Provision, we were told that our sandwiches would be ready in 5 or 6 minutes. It was a full 30 minutes. We just wish we would have been told the truth when we ordered the sandwiches..

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 195elviraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CrossroadsCH, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and Pittsboro Street Provisions. We are truly sorry about the experience that you had in the market. You are absolutely correct, we should have communicated the timeframe for the preparation of the sandwiches more effectively. We have reviewed your feedback with our entire Food & Beverage team to avoid this happening in the future. Thank you again for the detailed review and we do hope that you will return again in the future.
Sincerely,
Allal Kartaoui
Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2017

Everyone is so friendly....like a home away from home. Beds are so comfortable, rooms clean, food delicious! Can not beat the location. This really is my favorite place to stay when visiting my daughter in chapel hill.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2017

Dear Carol S,
Thank you for the lovely review. Your return visit is the greatest compliment we can receive! It is our goal to deliver exceptional service and gracious Southern hospitality in this beautiful college town of Chapel Hill. We thank you for such high praise, and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2017

Super charming, authentic experience with excellent service. Rooms are great and service is attentive. Location could not be better situated on campus and a short walk to Franklin Street. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank F3562VNwilliamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2017

Dear F3562VNwilliamd,
Thank you for the excellent review. It is our goal to ensure guests feel that they are truly part of the place, so we are delighted to hear that you experienced authentic southern hospitality in our historic hotel. Being the only hotel on the UNC Chapel Hill campus, we love that our guests are just a short walk from all university destinations and downtown Chapel Hill. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews