We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orientation”
Review of The Carolina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Carolina Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
“Orientation”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed here for my daughters orientation and could not have been more pleased. The rooms are spacious and beautiful and the staff are very accommodating. The Inn is also conveniently located on campus to just about everything.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    213
    65
    20
    17
See reviews for
464
252
65
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Beautiful room, delicious food, elegant atmosphere. Staff attentive and helpful: we enjoyed touring the Duke Gardens at nearby Duke University, as recommended by the front desk clerk. We also visited the North Carolina Art Museum, about thirty minutes away. I look forward to staying at the Carolina Inn again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our hotel stay was very relaxing in the king room. The furnishings, space, and updated bathroom were appreciated in historic lodging. In this full service hotel, the unexpected amenities were also appreciated which included - Wi-Fi, bottled water, refrigerator, and coffee maker. We took pleasure in the numerous UNC alumni photographs throughout the hallways and the mention of Paul Wellstone in our room. In the morning, we took advantage of the breakfast buffet and were not disappointed. In addition, we came back to the hotel on a different night to enjoy Fridays on the Front Porch. We had a great time on the lawn! We will be back - next time we are in town!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 25Koala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I was driving down to Florida from NY and made a few stops along the way. It was a true pleasure having been able to stay at this hotel for one night. The richness and antiquity is breathtaking. The customer service was fantastic. My room was located on the top floor. It was a small room, but very well decorated. The bathroom was exquisite. I had a very comfortable night sleep. Although they have a restaurant on site, there are great placed to eat and drink a few blocks up on the main road. Although the crowd is all basically from the University, the variety of food and drink is great. I would definitely recommend anyone driving by to spend at least a night for the experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMIT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

As a UNC alumni, I have always had a soft spot in my heart for the Carolina Inn, but had no occasion to stay there until a wedding this past weekend. The charm of the hotel just cannot be matched. From the arched doorway to the gallery walls of frames above the bed, the decorating and architectural detail is unmatched. The room was small, but cozy and the bed was like sleeping in a cloud. Bathroom was immaculate with great amenities. The staff at the Inn also did a wonderful job with the wedding hosted on the grounds. Overall, just such an amazing experience. So glad I got the chance to stay here, and will definitely be checking prices there each time I return to Chapel Hill.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms were cozy with great dormer windows, but are a little smaller than the 1st floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The staff of this hotel was very accommodating. We needed to make some changes to our rooms due to the nature of the website we reserved with and the staff was very helpful.
The location was perfect because we are still learning our way around and we easily walked to the Chapel Hill campus.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 311chyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I'm not sure how to described this place. Relaxed elegance is about right. The rooms are comfortable, the history of the campus on display on the hotel and room walls is really cool. The bar and restaurant are excellent. And during the summer Friday on the Front Porch rocks! Absolutely worth staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
2.8 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
417 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
615 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 18 in Chapel Hill
447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
1.7 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#10 of 18 in Chapel Hill
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Inn

Property: The Carolina Inn
Address: 211 Pittsboro St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516-2739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chapel Hill, at the doorstep of the beautiful campus of The University of North Carolina. Come experience world-class service, elegantly appointed guest accommodations, superb dining, outstanding meeting and banquet facilities, and an expert staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carolina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing