We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding and NC Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carolina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Carolina Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
196 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Outstanding and NC Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Recently stayed three nights for a conference. The room was excellent; the staff terrific (ask for the fresh chocolate chip cookies); food very good. The equipment in the fitness center was a little dated but more than adequate.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    888
    202
    63
    18
    17
See reviews for
424
244
62
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Since finding out my best friend is getting married here in June I have had nothing but problems. I want to be with all the wedding party but I'm defiantly having second thoughts! Tried 4 times to book a room over the phone and would get no one to take my call. After reading reviews now I need to call back and ask for a renovated room since I'm paying crazy amount to stay here in the First place and also ask for one facing the garden bc who wants to look at a parking lot. I am very upset that I see there is a $15 a night charge to park my car!!!!!! This is crazy I am already paying to stay at the hotel for a wed ding! Never heard of such a thing!!! And when I made the reservation my this was never mentioned to me! And not to mention there is no pool for my son to enjoy (instead I'm told I can pay a fee and go somewhere close by), and no complimentary breakfast for again an outrageous priced room.
This hotel is just getting worse and worse and I'm not even there yet.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel exudes classic Southern charm, in the best sense. The staff is friendly and helpful, the bartender makes a terrific drink, and the rooms remind me of a bedroom in a cozy upscale older home. But they are cozy, not as big as you might expect for the price, but with excellent furnishings. It's also nice to sit on the huge front porch and just relax if the weather cooperates. There are a half dozen excellent restaurants and plenty of interesting shops within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We enjoyed an evening at the Inn last week when I attended a meeting at the UNC. It's location right across the street from the main campus makes it very convenient. It has all the atmosphere of a luxury hotel-resort with great service. It was crowded so reservations are needed - but it was during a basketball game period! The hallways, lounges, and rooms are attractive and have a warm an cozy feel. Our room on the third floor had a small window and slanted roof-wall, but not at all uncomfortable. The fixtures were new and worked well. Full internet service and large LCD TV. On our floor there was a small pantry - accessed with the room key (magnetic card) and had snacks, drinks and newspapers. Ample parking. Only one negative episode: we paid a premium for a upgrade which included a 2 PM check-out. While I was at the meeting which included lunch, my wife was called shortly before noon and told she had to leave the room since the room was needed. She was able to get through this, but was told she needed to come to the desk to get a new key!...if both of us were not in the room at noon I am not sure what would have happened. This is probably nothing more than a front desk clerk who didn't look at the reservation!

Room Tip: Plenty of parking, easily accessible. You don't need valet at an extra charge. The Crossroads...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RBR41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed here while on a business trip and plan to make this my go to spot when traveling to Chapel Hill. Comfortable bed, clean and quiet room. The food at the restaurant was amazing. I had the scallops and a dessert. I sat at the bar and the bartenders kept me company throughout my meal. I can't say enough positive remarks about this place. I will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hppyadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

So beautifully decorated. Delicious cookies. So close to UNC. Will return! AC was a bit noisy But tolerable. The lobby and common areas are fabulous and the bathroom was small but recently renovated. The color scheme was so pretty.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaTrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at the Carolina Inn last week during the winter storm that we had. I needed to be close to work, and also I planned to stay there so we wouldn't have to drive home after the Carolina/Duke basketball game. As it turns out, I am a better advanced planner than the Duke athletic department since they didn't show up and the game had to be cancelled. Luckily, the Inn was a cozy alternative. I love how most of the furniture of the Inn is made by North Carolina furniture manufacturers. I love how the Inn manages to be so green and environmentally friendly while still feeling comfortable and luxurious. The food at Carolina Crossroads is outstanding for all meals too. I might have to plan another weekend back not during basketball season, when there is no chance a Duke basketball team will disappoint me.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are small, but they all feel quite cozy and use space quite well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZanzibarAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 17 in Chapel Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
1.8 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#9 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Inn

Property: The Carolina Inn
Address: 211 Pittsboro Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chapel Hill, at the doorstep of the beautiful campus of The University of North Carolina. Come experience world-class service, elegantly appointed guest accommodations, superb dining, outstanding meeting and banquet facilities, and an expert staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Carolina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing