We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location not worth the price”
Review of The Carolina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carolina Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location not worth the price”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have stayed 3 times at the Carolina Inn, the first was for my daughter's orientation for UNC. We arrived very late (actually early in the AM) and it was VERY difficult to find a place to park. After finding a spot, we headed to the front desk and were warmly greeted and were quickly in our room. It was in a newer section of the hotel which was nice but nothing special, especially for the price. The second time here was a last minute surprise for our daughter's 20th birthday. We called from the road to inquire if there were any rooms available and were told a king room. It wasn't much bigger than my walk in closet at home, the bathroom was tiny and had tiny twin doors which you could see through when closed!! Not great when you have your daughter and her boyfriend over to celebrate her birthday with an impromptu party!! I will say the service has always been good if not great! The UNC pictures all over the hotel are great and if you take the time it's a great trip down memory lane for any Tar Heel fan!! All said my biggest gripe is that the rooms just aren't worth the price to me!! I understand they are renovating the hotel? and so we might give it another chance but for us there are just too many other choices nearby that are less expensive, more modern and larger and thus a better bang for our buck!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    216
    65
    20
    17
See reviews for
474
256
65
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Carolina Inn was in the midst of a major renovation during our conference, but it was hard to tell! The staff was friendly and accomodating. The food delightful and the meeting spaces beautiful. The sleeping rooms exude southern charm! As the conference planner, I can't say enough about the sales team and support staff. They were always close at hand making sure everything was running smoothly. The inn is just a short walk from major shopping and restaurants on the campus of UNC. Would love to holdanother conference at the inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martykrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I went to The Carolina Inn this past weekend for a wedding and I can not say enough good things about this hotel. First we were for fortunate and able to get an early check in. When we checked in we were greeted with a smile and cookies. The Hotel is very well maintained and clean. There are little sitting rooms set up through the hallways. The Room although not huge was fine in my opinion. The beds were comfortable. The bar at the hotel was very nice with reasonably priced drinks. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmitch525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Staff is very helpful. Free shuttle service. Walk to restaurants, campus.
Rooms beautiful and clean. Lovely atmosphere. Beautifully decorated rooms and sitting areas.
Breakfast was terrific.
Would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Close to downtown and performing arts center
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate28037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Carolina Inn is a very nice property in an excellent location. Service is first rate from check-in staff to valet, room service, etc. Their outdoor bluegrass event called Fridays on the Front Porch held during warm months is laid back and lively at the same time and it really showcases the southern charm of the Chapel Hill area.

The room we stayed in was beautifully decorated with high end products and building materials, but it was on a Barbie playhouse scale - tiny. Our room was on a long hallway on the highest floor of the hotel that I think were just added or renovated. The room was so tight on space that I could lay in the king sized bed and touch the walls on either side of the bed. I would go so far as to say that this was the smallest hotel room I've ever slept in. But as I said previously, the furnishings, linens, toiletries, and bathroom mirrors - everything - was very luxurious and well put together and made for an otherwise very comfortable stay.

I rated this hotel a four because it has so much going for it aside from the cramped room size and I doubt anyone will be disappointed staying here. As far as value goes on the other hand, regularly priced rooms are, well, pricey. And really just too pricey in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a regular room, not one of the newer ones in the "attic" of the hotel. Jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cm4delta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Arriving from frigid and efficient Michigan, this lovely hotel took my breath away. So beautiful and charming, the lobby reminded me of a sunny day even though the sun had already set. The rooms were efficiently sized but extremely comfortable and charming. I'll go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Booked the Carolina Inn based on a recommendation and needing to visit UNC and Duke. Hotel is in UNC with a bunch of frat houses down the street. So for UNC, the location is fine. For Duke, which is a good 20 minutes away driving, there are better hotels that are much closer.

Property is very proud of it's history with pictures and documents hanging everywhere. They did omit to mention they were in renovations during the booking process, which was by phone. This is less than honest as the working crews woke us up at 7:30am with the noise of power tools...

We had to go outside the hotel and then back inside to reach our room, on the second floor, since that was the only available access.

There was very little staff to be seen at the hotel. one or two people by the improvised checking desk in the half of the lobby still accessible, a couple of bell boys and some restaurant staff.

The restaurant was very average. Simple Southern food but nothing on the menu of note.

Overall, the Carolina Inn, in it's current state, is not worth the $200 a night + parking + breakfast, they were charging.

Room Tip: Try to ask for rooms in the side that has already been refurbished. Also, ask them point blank if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YaromB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
2.8 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
427 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 18 in Chapel Hill
461 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Inn

Property: The Carolina Inn
Address: 211 Pittsboro St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516-2739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chapel Hill, at the doorstep of the beautiful campus of The University of North Carolina. Come experience world-class service, elegantly appointed guest accommodations, superb dining, outstanding meeting and banquet facilities, and an expert staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carolina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing