We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two experiences, one 5 star the other problematic”
Review of The Carolina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Carolina Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We came here twice in a short time. The service and hospitality were excellent. The first stay was excellent- charming room, good breakfast, great location. However on the second stay we were "upgraded" to room 230 adjacent to the elevator and were subjected to very loud, jarring noise throughout the night. The room was pretty, well set up but it really was a very unpleasant experience.

Room Tip: Avoid room 230!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonbetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,078 - 1,084 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

Facilities, staff, and ambience were awesome. The dining room was a pleasure to experience. The food and wine list were truly excellent. The breakfast buffet was a real treat. The room was small but beautifully appointed and had wi-fi and chargers.

Room Tip: You might pay extra, but ask for a newly-renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

If you are looking to stay in the heart of Chapel Hill close to Franklin St and are wanting to avoid a chain hotel, this is the place for you! We have stayed twice in three months there and look forward to our next overnight trip there!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Cause every stay is more comfortable and accommodating and enjoyable than the last. And it's more than the check-in cookies to sweeten the deal. All accommodations from standard room to suite are lovely, comfortable and quiet. Service throughout is bar none. Location is central to everything. Would not considered staying anywhere else in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pairandaspare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a lovely Southern hotel offering great service. The staff was truly helpful. We had dinner in the dining room and lunch in the bar area, and both were delicious. The location is perfect for visiting the University.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nbonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This is such a beautiful hotel in a lovely part of town. It was quiet and very clean. The room was filled with beautiful furniture. Service was excellent and breakfast delicious and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexA101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

A historic hotel in a great location on the UNC campus. We could walk all around the campus and on Franklin street from the hotel. We stayed over the weekend when there was no home football game. The hotel had a very inviting style. We would definitely stay there again when in Chapel Hill. The hotel bar was very comfortable and well stocked.

Room Tip: Book at least a Queen deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotstosee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
1.8 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
662 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#7 of 18 in Chapel Hill
486 reviews
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#12 of 18 in Chapel Hill
21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Inn

Address: 211 Pittsboro St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516-2739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: $199 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chapel Hill, at the doorstep of the beautiful campus of The University of North Carolina. Come experience world-class service, elegantly appointed guest accommodations, superb dining, outstanding meeting and banquet facilities, and an expert staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Carolina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing