We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southern hospitality at its finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Carolina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carolina Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Southern hospitality at its finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband & I stayed here this past weekend. What an amazing place. Right on campus so an easy walk to town, the college buildings & the football stadium. Each hotel employee was nicer than the next. Food was great. Room clean. And despite being across from a frat house it as quiet even in this football weekend.
Parties on the front lawn every Friday evening.
A MUST stay if visiting Chapel Hill

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nursemegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    916
    207
    64
    20
    17
See reviews for
444
245
63
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

What a gem. This hotel is owned by the University. The guest halls are tastefully full of pictures and bios of famous alumni and athletes. Cannot recommend highly enough; don't miss it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stopped at The Carolina Inn when we were traveling north from South Carolina to Pennsylvania. The Inn is lovely and decorated in a traditionally elegant style. The staff is helpful and friendly. Our room was immaculate. Breakfast (which was included) was delicious. The Inn places an emphasis on being environmentally friendly which is a real plus for us! It was wonderful to be in the center of the University of North Carolina campus. It was easy to walk to the shopping/dining area of the city.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed in this regal grand old lady while moving our daughter into UNC. Our double queen room was beautifully appointed with luxury bedding, roomy confines, and a very clean bathroom. The hotel itself is a treasure of NC history with wall-after-wall ladened with black & white photos of the old and the new North Carolinians who've graced this lovely Inn. Lots of nooks and crannys to sit with a book and a good cup of coffee. The hotel bar was filled with guests whom all have a love affair with UNC...very friendly bartenders and the drinks were abundant! The restaurant is "Southern Women Darling." Decorated with lemon walls and lushly fitted blue plaid chair covers, I felt as if I stepped into a true southern dining room. Personally, I would have preferred leather seating and a little less fru-fru, but I certainly can see it's appeal. And, the food was delicious! Again, I would like to have seen some basic Southern cuisine, (i.e., fried chicken, mash potatoes, turnip greens, and corn bread..oh, and peach cobble would've been good, too!) instead of the fancy infused foods offered on the menu.
Lastly, the parking. Although limited space, the hotel's bell staff was efficient, quick, and reasonably priced for delivering our car in expedient time.
This hotel is a gem!

Room Tip: Double-Queen rooms are a bit larger than the newly redecorated King suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyalmstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

My daughter and I recently stayed here on a college visiting trip. The location can't be beat--it's just like living on campus. Short walk to Franklin street where most of the restaurants/shops are located. The staff was friendly and very helpful with directions and dinner suggestions. Rooms exuded southern charm. Extremely comfortable beds, especially for a hotel. We will definitely stay here again on any future trips to Chapel Hill.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slamdunk09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We loved our stay even though it was only 1 night. We wished we could have stayed longer and may make a trip back to Chapel Hill if for no other reason than to stay at this hotel again. It was so cute and really gave us a feeling of the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhuber1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxboro, NC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

During my stay, I was very pleased with the staff and quality of the room. It was clean and very quiet. The room was always well-stocked with coffee, etc and recycles and trash were emptied daily. Upon arrival, the staff was extremely welcoming and all ran smoothly - the cookies at check-in are great too!! Overall, I would highly recommend this inn to anyone visiting the Chapel Hill area!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chalkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
2.8 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 17 in Chapel Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Inn

Property: The Carolina Inn
Address: 211 Pittsboro St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516-2739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chapel Hill, at the doorstep of the beautiful campus of The University of North Carolina. Come experience world-class service, elegantly appointed guest accommodations, superb dining, outstanding meeting and banquet facilities, and an expert staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carolina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing