We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,608)
Filter reviews
1,608 results
Traveler rating
1,230
256
80
22
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,230
256
80
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe crossroadssouthern charmunc campushistoric hotelfranklin streetfront porchchocolate chip cookiesplace to stayrooms are smallself parkingwonderful staytar heelthe location is perfectcollege visitturn down servicebed was very comfortablehistory
Filter
Updating list...
1,476 - 1,481 of 1,608 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Very nice historic hotel with all the amenities, great staff, walking distance to campus and downtown, and great complimentary chocolate chip cookies upon arrival.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franmatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Chapel Hill is one of my favorite southern towns, and the Carolina Inn is an excellent place to stay while you savor the local fare, visit the University, or see friends. It's cozy, full of interesting UNC historical artifacts, and the service is what you expect from a proper southern inn.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank appratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Between the accommodations, the restaurant and bar, and the location, it can't be beat. I was sad to miss the Friday nights on the porch, and I can't imagine how exciting it would be to tailgate there! I thoroughly enjoyed the experience...though, I'm glad I wasn't told until later in the week that it was a "haunted" spot (by a local)...I might not have stayed there! Now, having been there, I will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the porch...I thoroughly enjoyed my view!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhDcRNinMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Service was excellent
Food was excelling
Beautiful Ambience

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbf3318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

The Carolina Inn is a beautiful historic hotel with excellent service. The convenience of its location on the campus of the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill is excellent. If you are looking for Southern elegance in the heart of Chapel Hill, this hotel is the one for you.

Room Tip: Hotel charges for parking, but it is worth it during events and the school year.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acm12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews