We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of The Carolina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Carolina Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed October 12, 2007

While it is quaint, the policy of charging daily for your car as well as heftily for a very small room, is too much.

  • Liked — chocolate chip cookie on sign-in
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fosdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    217
    68
    20
    17
See reviews for
487
262
68
363
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2007

I was in town for business meetings at UNC, booking and payment were handled directly by the University. Greeted quickly and efficiently by staff despite about 4 parties checking in at the same time. Complimentary warm chocolate chip and walnut cookie hit the spot after a long day of travel and meetings. Would recommend highly to others. Parking was tight, but space could be found and hotel bar was nice as well. Only complaint would be dated tv remote and tv made viewing a little difficult at times.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvgVistitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

Hints of old south. Nice place. Good AC. Friendly staff. However,no pool or fun facilities. Good for attending local functions otherwise minimal fun.

  • Liked — charm, southern feel
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuckathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere in Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in the last week of March 2007. I was visiting UNC (as part of Grad recruitment day) and my stay was paid by the university. Hence, I don't know what was the cost of my stay.

The hotel is owned by and located in UNC. I was visiting the computer science dept there and this hotel is situated right across the street from Sitterson Hall (the building that houses computer science dept).

I had to share the room with two other people. There were two double beds and one cot. The room was not meant for three adults and it was difficult to move around in the room. The bathroom was was a decent size and the overall feel of the room was that of a 3.5* hotel room. In retrospect I feel that if I had stayed there alone my experience would have been a lot more pleasant, although I don't blame my unpleasant experience on the hotel (but rather on the UNC administration who organized the event).

The hotel lobby was nicely decorated. The business centre had two workstations and allowed free Internet access and printing. Everything else was okay. It is a good hotel if your business takes you to UNC. I wonder who would come to Chapel Hill for a vacation.

  • Liked — Location (close to UNC)
  • Disliked — Resturant is expensive
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sigmetrics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our way from New York to Florida. The hotel was nicely old fashioned and was very attractively furnished and decorated. Everyone who looked after us during our stay were friendly and obliging.

Our Hilton reward break gave us a "larger" Queen room, a good quality complimentary full breakfast. The only charge was $8 for valet parking. High speed internet was complimentary to all guests.

The bedroom was nicely furnished, but the bed although comfortable seemed more like a full size. The air conditioning unit vents were not well positioned relative to the bed and struggled to keep the room cool.

Guests should note the regular Queen rooms are small.

Overall, a nice relaxing experience in a very hospitable environment.

  • Liked — The hotel's old world charm
  • Disliked — The airconditioning unit.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRANSATLANTIC GUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
1.8 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
646 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 18 in Chapel Hill
471 reviews
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
398 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Inn

Property: The Carolina Inn
Address: 211 Pittsboro St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516-2739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chapel Hill, at the doorstep of the beautiful campus of The University of North Carolina. Come experience world-class service, elegantly appointed guest accommodations, superb dining, outstanding meeting and banquet facilities, and an expert staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Carolina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing