We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

Red Lotus Asian Kitchen & Bar
Ranked #68 of 295 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

It's basically an above average Chinese restaurant. Nothing fancy but the grub is good, and is good value. The kids love it.

Helpful?
Thank BallaghMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    22
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good for the area”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Still seeking outstanding Asian food in the area...hoped this would be it. Some dishes were quite good, others just OK. I don't miss NJ/NYC that much most of the time, but when I have a hankering for Chinese/Asian food, I definitely feel the tug of my Yankee roots.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MZ07040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent Asian food!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We eat at Red Lotus an average of once a month for lunch and the reception amongst my co-workers is unanimously positive. The food is wonderful and the service is above average. The General Tso chicken is perfectly cooked and consists of lumps of chicken breast, not some mystery cut of poultry. The other dishes I've tried have also been outstanding. I highly recommend Red Lotus for some of the best Chinese food in Chapel Hill.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank banjoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Asian food”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I love good Asian foods and this restaurant has some spicy classics as well as some old favorites done with a twist. Quiet eating good service.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank NCGolfer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in the Triangle!”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We have been dining at Red Lotus for several years and the quality has been consistently excellent. We especially like the dishes on the Shanghai menu. Favorites include Shredded Pork with Garlic Stems, Spicy Fried Fish with Bay Leaf, Sea Hoo Bass, 8 Treasure Duck, and Chopped Fish with Pine Nuts. Management makes it a great dining experience. Service is always friendly and efficient. Lunch is an amazing bargain! Only complaint is that the restaurant is in Chapel Hill and we have moved to Raleigh- but certainly worth the drive!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lotus Asian Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Red Lotus Asian Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing