We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new and clean, comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Chapel Hill
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2009

We stayed here for one night to attend a bay shower in the area. The hotel was exactly what I expected -- new clean, a few small buildings surrounding a pool and a putting green. The very nice front desk manager Travise checked us in early and on check-out asked about our stay. The free hot breakfast was head and shoulders above anything you'd get at some other chain hotels -- there was a "make your own waffles" station, coffee/tea/juices, oatmeal, eggs, bisquits, sausage, potatoes, yogurt (plan and flavored), fruit, a variety of breakfast breads and preserves. Very satisfying. The lobby is clean and modern. There is a pool room, a fireplace, and an exercise room which looked adequate though we did not use it.
Our suite was comfortable, with a kitchenette, a sitting area, 2 flat screen TVs, bathroom (shower only, but the shower was large), and a small bedroom. The bed was comfortable and the linens fresh. I wish there were bathrobes in the closet and a warmer comfortable (though we did not ask the hotel - maybe they provide these on request). One complaint I had is that the walls seemed thin. We could hear all kinds of noises. But that may have been because our room was close to the stairs.
A comfortable choice.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank giulietta429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 273 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2008

My husband commutes to Chapel Hill for work. We decided to check out a different hotel for one night on my last weekend visit. He normally stays across the street at the Sheraton. I would not stay here again. Although the rooms are larger and have more amenities including fridge, stove, microwave, sitting room, and the hotel is newer, we had problems with noise from neighboring rooms and the beds are not as comfortable. It is slightly more expensive then what we pay at the Sheraton and the breakfast offered is not as good. I would not recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chelenjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

I stayed at this property for ~2 weeks during a business trip. The location is very convenient although a little strange. It's 5 min. from the interstate exit and really close to shopping/restaurants in Chapel Hill. There's also a shopping center close by (technically in Durham) that has Wal-Mart and Home Depot. There is construction on the main roadway which forces drivers traveling from Chapel Hill past the hotel and into a turning lane to make a u-turn to get back to the hotel. However, upon arrival, there's plenty of parking and a welcoming front porch complete with rocking chairs. The front desk staff were courteous and knowledgeable about the area. The breakfast was plentiful with waffles, fruit, bagels, eggs, juices, coffee, etc. The rooms look new and seem to be very well cared for. There's plenty of desk space, comfortable seating, and an HDTV that swivels for viewing from the sleeping area and the living area. The kitchen has stainless steel appliances and granite countertops. I also noticed a nice grassy area and walking trail for guests accompanied by pets. The pool is in the center of the property and has a huge area for grilling. Returning to this property after a long day at work was perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chem_dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

My wife and I have stayed at Marriott Residence Inns before and we have always been pleased, but this one is a cut above. This property is about 18 months old, so everything is in great shape. The front desk is extremely friendly. The place is absolutely spotless from the grounds to the room. Includes a hot breakfast that is quite good. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rendres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

Me and my wife last weekend were going to Mrtyle Beach and we stopped here on our way down to the beach and this hotel below everywhere hotel I have ever stayed at... This is a such a nice hotel and a newer hotel too.. Very close to chapel hill takes about 5 min to get downtown to the differenent shops and resturnats...

The room itself is like a condo in New York city. it has a great kitchen with everything you need. the bed is soooo crozy my wife loved it.... and of course the flat screen tv is great and this hotel has actually hd channels that actutally worked lol....and the bathroom is nice too... so much room to lounge around....

The outside is well mainatned.... the pool and hot tub are great. inside of the hotel they call the gate house is the lobby and therate room and a pool table with a huge flat screen and cozy statidum chairs.....

the best part of this hotel... is the breakfast sooo far to choice from not your typical cont. breakfast in other hotels..... this place is great if you need to stop for a overnight trip..... Great Hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Heels1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

We were in Chapel Hill for a wedding, and we booked at this hotel because that was where everyone else was staying. We had never stayed at a Residence Inn before, and we were surprised and delighted by how much we enjoyed it.

Our room: spacious, clean, bright and comfortable. Every unit at this hotel is like a small studio apartment, with a sofa, dining table and fully equipped kitchen. We didn't really need the amenities, but it is perfect for long-term guests and small families. The furnishings were solid, stylish enough for a chain hotel, and new. Our window offered a nice view of a verdant forest. Bathroom had a nice, spacious dressing area. Our bed was super comfy.

Buffet brunch: comes free with room. Delicious food, tons of variety -- from grits to home-fries/eggs to make-your-own waffles. After buffet ends, they leave fresh fruit out for the taking.

Lobby: loved it. It's not stylish or lux, but a really fun, comfortable and congenial place for group gatherings. All in one large, sprawling space, with wings and nooks: brunch area that converts to a bar at night, a sitting area with armchairs around small tables for socializing, a lounge area with a gigantic flat screen TV, a pool table, some books on a shelf. It was a perfect place for our big post-wedding group, which included plenty of 30-somethings as well as older folks and tiny tots, to hang out.

Hotel organizes weekly and monthly activities for guests, including free barbecues and jazz nights.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santamonicagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Took advantage of a weekend special while traveling on East Coast. We stayed at a few hotels, but this nice new place really stood out from the crowd. We just loved the experience and would visit again in a hearbeat. The staff could not have been finer and the facility itself is a lot of fun. Location is pretty nice, too, and of course Chapel Hill is a splendid town to visit.

This is a fairly new hotel, so the room was beautiful and spacious and the two flat-screen TV monitors were really excellent. My kids had a blast with their 'own' TV for the evening.

There is SUCH a difference between a well-run hotel and a bad one. This one did everything right for us (and we were there enjoying a deep discount). I think travelers are lucky to find this place.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SeekingGoodService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
3 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#11 of 18 in Chapel Hill
33 reviews
3 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Chapel Hill / Southern Village
2.5 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel
#10 of 18 in Chapel Hill
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chapel Hill

Address: 101 Erwin Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-6925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#9 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: $127 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing