We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another solid stay at RI Chapel Hill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Chapel Hill
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Second stay in the past 6 months at the RI Chapel Hill was solid if not memorable. Some of the hotels amenities (like outdoor pool, hot tub, etc) are on hibernation for winter so on site activities are a bit thin in January. The RI delivered well on all the basics though, room (1BR with 2 queens) was spacious and clean as were the common areas like the dining and fitness rooms in the gate house. Staff was helpful when called on and went un-noticed when not needed (as it should be). All around a great place to stay when visiting UNC campus or others in the RDU/rearch triangle area.

One thing that is kind of annoying is exit from hotel doesn't allow traffic to flow East (I think) on 15/501. You have to make a right turn and then left/U turn to access 501 toward I-40. Not a big deal unless you do it 4-5 times a day like I did. There is a way around that by heading north on Erwin and then making a right on Sage which brings you back to 501 where you can make a left (East bound) turn. Like I said, I did it too many times.
B44

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 274 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

We have 2 small children, so we love the 1 bedroom suites. The kids sleep on the sofa bed and we get our own room. The hotel is also very close to the campus. Room service and hotel dining are limited, but there are so many restaurants close by. Overall, this a great hotel for families.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel4fun3319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed here a year ago and had a lovely, very clean room so we were disappointed when we decided to stay again. Instead of a king suite, we opted for a 2 queen separate bedroom and the bathroom was smaller, the room wasn't as clean, the amenities were less. I don't know if the hotel is just budgeting or if we were in an older or less well-kept section.

Room Tip: The Inn sits off of 15/501 on a side street so I'm not sure room location matters. We were in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elinorelisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Traveling with my daughter, son-in - law and their 6month old baby. Thie accomodations were perfect and they had the pack and play set up and ready...clean, updated and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3arches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

This hotel is easy to get to, and close to so many destinations including shopping, UNC, and much more. The rooms are huge for the price, immaculate, and have the best hotel beds I've ever been on at any price. The kitchen area is bigger and nicer than most 1BR apartments. The hotel staff will even go grocery shopping for you during the day so you don't have to live on restaurant food during an extended stay.

We never heard a footstep or a closing door. The parking lot was full, so I assume the hotel was as well - excellent sound deadening.

The breakfast was much better than the usual complimentary continental buffet. They had many healthy choices including soy milk. A vegetarian or vegan can actually have a good meal here.

I can't think of anything negative.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisInSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

This hotel is amazing. The staff on the front desk are so helpful and nothing is too much trouble.
The room was huge on the first floor and we had a balcony which was lovely to go out onto in the morning. The bed so extremely comfortable and we slept so well!
The complimentary breakfast was lovely as was the happy hour through the week!
We had such a lovely time at this hotel. We stayed 3 nights then left to go to our second hotel 'Chapel Inn University Hotel'. OMG! We were back at the Residence Inn within 15 minutes asking if we could check back in! The rest of our holiday was a dream and we were sad to leave.
We will definitely return to the hotel at some point. Perfect location, perfect rooms and perfect staff. Just brilliant all ways round!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BluelightWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We spent Thanksgiving weekend at this great hotel. The suite we had was a great size for 2 people. A true suite with a bedroom door, perfect for a early riser and a late sleeper. The breakfast was outstanding, great selection. Perfect location near our in-laws. We will return.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jml35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
3 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#11 of 18 in Chapel Hill
35 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Chapel Hill / Southern Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel
#10 of 18 in Chapel Hill
417 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chapel Hill

Address: 101 Erwin Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-6925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#9 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: $128 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing