We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Franklin
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Augusta, Ga
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

When we go back to this area the Franklin will be our choice for the entire trip. A recent barbecue road trip in NC had us in a different place every night. We will use the Franklin as home base for our next outing.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Spooky46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    94
    36
    11
    5
See reviews for
177
166
39
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

I just returned from a one night stay in Chapel Hill at The Franklin Hotel. From the moment we checked in, everything was exceptional. We were upgraded to a Suite on the 5th floor. The room featured an enormous patio, a separate living room, 2 LCD TV, and an gigantic shower that was at least 5'x9'. The bed and linens were extremely comfortable. The hotel included lots of nice extras for the business traveler like your choice of newspapers, free wifi, fitness center, free garage parking, and a complimentary breakfast. The entire property is very well decorated, and had a luxurious feel to it. I had time for one well made drink in the very comfortable bar down stairs. The location is great, close to campus, right on Franklin Street.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chapovez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

The hotel is within walking distance to UNC, shops and restaurant. It is very basic and simple, not too fancy or large, but a good price for what you get. Breakfast is included and is white tablecloth service in a small banquet room. The gym is awful - just a tiny room with 2 treadmills, a bowflex and an elliptical. I was very disappointed they did not have a nicer workout facility. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, and there is always iced tea, apples or cookies at the front desk. I stayed in a king room with good-sized balcony which was a nice size and comfortable. Overall, it's the best place to stay for convenience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GinDandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

The bed at this hotel was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Beautiful hotel, clean, comfortable, classy rooms, walking distance to shops, restaurants, nightlife...a little bit expensive but absolutely worth the extra money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriscross717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
226 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

It's frankly, too bad that Franklin street isn't what it used to be in terms of local shopping establishments (more chain stores and cheap dinner establishments for the student partiers nowadays), because the prime location of this hotel in the heart of Franklin Street in Chapel Hill is definitely the best in town. It's a hop-skip-jump from campus and certainly worth the money. I think it is priced very reasonably for a boutique hotel, especially for the location.
Notable positives:
-Decor and ambiance are very well-done, in an understated theme. Not over the top UNC decor, but some of the walls are that pale blue you'll be well-acquainted with after a few days in Chapel Hill
-Parking (while a little tight! watch your SUV's!) is free for hotel guests and conveniently located underground the building
-Hotel amenities are very nice and often breakfast is included in room rate, a nice bonus.
-Front desk staff is warm and welcoming, with baked cookies and sweet tea upon arrival; nice touches.
-Some of the in-room amenities include a 'pillow menu', where you can choose from goose-down, hypoallergenic, and even Tempurpedic pillows.
-You can select in-room spa services.
-A noise cancellation/white noise machine is available for reservation by calling the front desk.
-Roberts bar area is cozy and a nice place for a cheese plate or an appetizer/drink. It's not particularly 'happening', but it is clubby and comfortable.
-Fitness area is small but well-maintained, and very clean.
-Can't ask for a better location proximate to campus.

Negatives:
-Upon seeing the 'pillow menu', we called down to the front desk to reserve a Tempurpedic pillow for that evening, but sadly said pillow never arrived. Not a big deal, but if you promise it, deliver it!
-Bathroom could use a fan. The interior bathroom is a bit stagnant with the door closed and shower on.
-Some wall marks, etc...hotel needs to keep up details such as repainting dings, scratches, etc. It is a small thing, but guests staying here will notice.
-Windows' restaurant breakfast menu decent, but very limited in selection.
Just fine for the price, but not overwhelmingly inspiring cuisine-wise.

We chose a back room facing the leafy parking lot behind the hotel, as sometimes Franklin Street can get a bit raucous at night and we value a good night's sleep over a front balcony where the 'action is'. Choose accordingly.

All in all, a very decent hotel. Would stay here again if we found ourselves in Ch-Hill. It will suit the boutique hotel aficionados.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westmount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

I stayed at the Franklin Hotel for one night. The room and bathroom were small but clean and neat and the bed was extremely comfortable. I also had a large balcony overlooking Franklin Street.

The location is fantastic, right in the middle of everything, though still quiet. It was also helpful having free parking space included.

The room rate was expensive relative to other hotels of a similar (or even better standard), but I had a pleasant stay and would recommend the hotel to people spending a short amount of time in Chapel Hill.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

I just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel, partly for business and partly for vacation. It is one of the best hotels I have stayed in ever, There is great attention to detail. The front desk staff are exceptionally helpful. My room which had a private balcony overlooking Franklin Street was beautiful and spotless. The gourmet breakfasts which are included in the room rate were superb and the restaurant staff were attentive and helpful. The hotel is well located, within walking distance to UNC and at the other end to a charming small town called Carrboro. As an added bonus, I was there over a Thursday nite, when live jazz music is played in the downstairs Roberts lounge. It was fantastic as well.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saillisann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
0.3 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 17 in Chapel Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
2.7 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Property: The Franklin
Address: 311 W Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love for you to stay with us whether you're in town for business or pleasure! We are the only hotel in downtown Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street - just steps away from all the action such as UNC Chapel Hill's campus, Dean Smith Center, Kenan Stadium, UNC Hospitals, Morehead Planetarium, Ackland Art Museum, and tons of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. Our guiding principle is to be hospitable, so we focus on our interactions with you above all else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing