We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chose this over the carolina inn”
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Franklin
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“chose this over the carolina inn”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

i could not decide between this and the carolina inn. i ended up going with the franklin because i wanted to walk to restaurants and shops. for what its worth, they are only a couple of blocks from one another. you could hit town and campus from both. this seems to have a little more life/atmosphere than carolina inn. in any event, parking below hotel was no problem. cookies at check-in. chocolate at turn-down. complimentary breakfast made to order in their dining room that looks over the shops on franklin. everyone was very, very nice. i would not hesitate to stay here again. they went the extra-mile to make you feel appreciated. a nice touch.

Room Tip: only 6 floors i believe. a view of franklin street on a higher floor would probably be ideal if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puff j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
puffjimmy,

Thanks for posting your review of The Franklin. You faced a tough choice, and we're glad you picked our hotel!

The complimentary parking and complimentary cooked to order breakfast are favorite amenties for many of our guests.

We're glad that everything went smoothly for you, and that you feel confident to stay with us again in the future.

Hope to see you soon!
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    106
    39
    13
    6
See reviews for
200
180
39
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hope Mills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Excellent Hotel, conveniently located near UNC as well as many restaurants and other businesses. I was greeted by friendly and accommodating staff. Check-in was quick and easy. This hotel not only met, but exceeded my expectations! I would not stay anywhere else in Chapel Hill. The value per dollar at this establishment is more than exceptional.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pmr1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Pmr1027,

Wow - that's high praise! We certainly wouldn't want you to stay anywhere other than The Franklin either.

And your point about value is very important to us - that's why we don't charge for the hot breakfast, parking, or internet here. Thanks so much for posting your comments.

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I was staying in Chapel Hill and decided to try The Franklin based on reviews. I was not disappointed! The service at this hotel is impeccable and rooms are very nice. I was impressed at the upgrades in the rooms.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Michael S.,

We're happy to hear that we delivered on your expectations for your stay at our hotel. The luxury and technology upgrades in the rooms are big part of the fun of staying at The Franklin. Hope you were able to connect your music player to our built in surround sound system - that's my favorite feature in the room.

Please come back soon!
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Building was attractive and well maintained. Room had plenty of space and was well laid out. The location was convenient to the campus and lively restaurant area. Soundproofing could have been better, we could hear the neighbors TV (though not every word) Also as mentioned by other reviewers, the room A/C was loud. Staff was friendly and the included restaurant breakfast was good and service was efficient. Definitely recommend to stay for breakfast. Parking included

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pps_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hi pps_10,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We're glad you enjoyed the location and the services.

You're right about the soundproofing between rooms and the noise levels of the A/C units. Both issues tend to be more severe in certain rooms at certain times. We are continuing to mitigate those as best we can through ongoing and planned renovations.

Please let us know about the noise concern on your next visit, and we'll find a room for you in a quiet area of the hotel!

Hope you'll be back with us!
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Loved this hotel and its attention to detail. Was a bit concerned about the previous reviews talking about noise, as I am a light sleeper, but I stayed in a king room overlooking Franklin Street and was super comfortable. I didn't have a connecting room, and I stayed during the summer months when UNC was not in session ... so maybe that helped? Staff were super friendly; the common areas (the atrium) were lovely and welcoming; the balcony off my room was a real treat; and the amenities (super large shower with rain shower head, cushy linens, etc.) all added up to a great stay. This hotel was a great value, especially considering that a made-to-order breakfast in a comfy dining room was included. My new go-to hotel in the Chapel Hill area ;)

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank A2Traveler2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
A2Traveler2222,

Thanks for giving our hotel a chance, even though you had some initial concerns. We're glad the noise wasn't an issue for you on this stay.

You're right that it's more quiet here in the summer months. When UNC is in session, Franklin Street is much more active and the noise does tend to transfer more into the balcony rooms facing the street. If you're a light sleeper, it might be a good idea to book a room on the opposite side of the hotel during that time of year. Please let us know so we can accommodate that on your next visit.

Our breakfast is a guest favorite, and we intend to always offer it complimentary. We'll keep working to be your go-to hotel in Chapel Hill!

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

From reservations to check out, my experience at The Franklin was TOP NOTCH! I travel quite a bit and have rather high standards for hotels. The staff here makes you feel right at home and made a business trip seem like a vacation. GREAT location with shopping and restaurants right outside your door. The UNC campus is breathtaking and within walking distance. Free breakfast did not mean cereal and toast, but a wide range of hot items. VERY comfortable rooms with a great balcony over looking Franklin Street! We will be back for sure!!!! Side note: Go to the lobby bar and say hi to Hannah! She is a great bartender and all around sweet person!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmonteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Rmonteve,

We're so pleased to read your enthusiastic review. Our hospitality team loves getting to know our guests so we can make The Franklin feel familiar and more homey.

Hannah is a joy to spend time with, and I'm glad you got to interact with her.

See you back soon!
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, TX
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Everything about the hotel was beyond expectations. It began with a curtousey call the day before our arrival to ask if there were any special requests. From the friendly and attentive staff to the well appointed guest rooms, to the cozy gathering areas and the well appointed main lobby, we enjoyed our stay from beginning to end.

The guest rooms were quiet, bedding was luxurious with better quality furnishings and a fridge/freezer that worked very well. Bathrooms are a little tight, again well appointed. Marble vanity, a large size walk in shower (no tub in our room) with full ceramic tile and good water pressure. Parking was readily available. The decor throughout the hotel was first class. The included breakfast is a sit down cooked to order - no buffet here. Fitness center is well maintained with a good variety of equipment.

Great location at the heart of UNC Chapel Hill. Everything you need is within walking distance; dry cleaners, bookstores, drug stores, bars and food of many many varieties and prices. We stayed during summer month when prices are very reasonable.

We look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the fourth floor on the street side and was surprisingly quiet. Rooms on the third f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsc1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Hello rsc1911,

Thanks for sharing your comments. You touched on many of the things that we think make The Franklin hotel special. The courtesy call before arrival is something you can expect from your personal host for each stay, and our breakfast and parking amenities will always be complimentary for guests.

We hope to have you with us again soon!

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
0.3 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,299 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
2.7 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 18 in Chapel Hill
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Property: The Franklin
Address: 311 W Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love for you to stay with us whether you're in town for business or pleasure! We are the only hotel in downtown Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street - just steps away from all the action such as UNC Chapel Hill's campus, Dean Smith Center, Kenan Stadium, UNC Hospitals, Morehead Planetarium, Ackland Art Museum, and tons of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. Our guiding principle is to be hospitable, so we focus on our interactions with you above all else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing