We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star”
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Franklin
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I could get long winded about how nice this place is but I will just say that it exceed expectations in every way. From the moment I walked in I was welcomed. Even at check in I was asked what could possibly make this the best stay. I was lucky enough to be staying on the Holiday window display unveiling and lighting debut which made the visit very special. The room was immaculate and the morning full-service breakfast was perfect. I can't recommend this place enough. Stay here when in Chapel Hill...I know I will!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UltraStar175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

UltraStar175,

Thank for your positive comments about The Franklin Hotel. You certainly stayed during an exciting time when we were unveiling our holiday window displays. I'm glad we exceeded your expectations and look forward to having you with us again soon.

We appreciate your recommendation!

Thanks,
Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
There are newer reviews for The Franklin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 657 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

Watched this hotel being built. Then we move away from Chapel Hill. This visit back e decided to stay here. Great decision. Beautiful boutique hotel with great service. rooms great, small fitness center but great location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamstoked22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Hi there iamstoked22,

Thanks for sharing your comments. I'm so glad that you came back to stay at The Franklin on your visit back to your old neighborhood, and that you enjoyed our central downtown location and service.

I know the fitness center is limited, but I hope that you found all the equipment and amenities to offer you just what you needed, and that you didn't have to wait to use anything. If there are any other arrangements we can make for you with fitness facilities on your next visit, please let us know so we can make it happen. You can contact me directly at jay@franklinhotelnc.com or your personal host (Kelly Lengyel) at kelly@franklinhotelnc.com.

Take care!
Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I just loved staying here. This was a quick stay for work and I felt right at home. Chapel Hill is such a great college town, and Franklin Street is full of great shops, places to eat and a little live music as well.

The staff here is so friendly and had a great dinner recommendation. They even had a sound maker delivered to my door because I mentioned I'm a light sleeper.

The rooms are great. A sofa, comfy bed and large stand up shower are standard here, as are tasteful lamps, a built in audio system and granite tops on the counters and a few furniture pieces.

This is much nicer than a Marriott or Hilton and also has great charm. Some of the room furnishings and finishes are teetering on being close to Ritz Carlton quality. I loved my stay.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank ittessot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Hello ittessot,

Thanks for your comments! No doubt that we love Franklin Street, but we really love when out of towners feel at home here.

It sounds like you were able to thoroughly enjoy all the hotel amenities as well as the local area. Glad you enjoyed the dining experience, and that the sound maker was helpful.

If you'd like to connect with your personal host (Kelly Lengyel, kelly@franklinhotelnc.com), she will be sure to make note of your information so that we can have the same machine ready for you on your future stays.

Sure hope to have you with us again!
Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Franklin continues to be our favorite of several excellent properties in the Chapel Hill area. Its location and amenities (breakfast, weight room, service) are excellent. The staff is helpful, courteous, competent. The breakfast is different than the usual hotel/motel fare - quality food served to you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dave B,

Thanks for your comments - it's comforting to know that you consider The Franklin one of your favorites in the area, and that you continue to stay with us.

We'll keep working hard to make sure we never give you a reason to leave.

Hope to have you back soon!
Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel is in a great location if you want to be able to walk in downtown Chapel Hill. I came to take my student out for their birthday and we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Staff was great and they include a made to order breakfast instead of a buffet which was excellent!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank mtsbsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hello there mtsbsmith!

Thanks for sharing your experience from The Franklin Hotel. I'm glad that you found our location to be convenient for you to walk wherever you wanted to go.

And the cooked to order breakfast is a treat we love making available to all our guests - we're happy that you enjoyed it.

Hope that you'll be back to stay with us again on your next visit to Chapel Hill!

Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Almost perfect.

If it had: a fan in the bathroom, hooks to hang the towels as well as shelves, a bathtub as well as a shower.....it would be perfect.

Other luxuries it has however include: music channel in the room with surround sound, a button to press for housekeeping services or do not disturb, fresh water bottle placed in the good sized half fridge, a lovely new TV, evening bed breakdown with chocolate, powerful electric makeup mirror, terry cloth bathrobes, and more.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank integrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Hi there integrity,

Thank you for your feedback about our hotel. You're right about the lack of towel hooks in the bathroom - we've heard the same from many other of our guests also! We are working on a plan to install those in all guest rooms for a more convenient shower experience. The exhaust fan in the bathroom is located on the roof of the building, and it is always pulling from the bathrooms continuously. However, you're right that there is no switch and individual motor located in the room.

Because of our limited space in the downtown location, we decided not to include bathtubs in the design of the room - I'm sorry that we are not able to accommodate that for you here, and hope that you found the spa shower amenities to be enjoyable.

We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments, so we can work to make the experience better for all guests. Thank you!

Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

A jewel in Chapel Hill. Great location, staff and breakfast at Windows is a must. Walk to shops, restaurants and UNC campus. Many rooms come with balconies which is nice in the spring/fall and when events are held on Franklin Street.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are great.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drogba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Drogba1,

Thanks for sharing your comments about The Franklin Hotel. We're glad you were able to make good use of one of our balconies and enjoy our complimentary breakfast.

See you soon!
Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
0.3 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,352 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
2.7 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#7 of 18 in Chapel Hill
480 reviews
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#10 of 18 in Chapel Hill
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Address: 311 W Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: $208 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love for you to stay with us whether you're in town for business or pleasure! We are the only hotel in downtown Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street - just steps away from all the action such as UNC Chapel Hill's campus, Dean Smith Center, Kenan Stadium, UNC Hospitals, Morehead Planetarium, Ackland Art Museum, and tons of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. Our guiding principle is to be hospitable, so we focus on our interactions with you above all else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing