We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Franklin
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at The Franklin Hotel twice (to and from the Outer Banks) to spend some time in Chapel Hill, Durham and Raleigh during Spring Break. The staff of the hotel is excellent, going above and beyond to make it a great experience. From the bellman to the phone staff and front desk they are uniquely committed to a great guest experience. The covered parking is convenient and free.

We were upgraded to a suite due to a large wedding party taking a block of rooms. That room was exceptional, including a huge balcony overlooking Franklin Street. The regular room on our return trip was also great.

This will be our hotel in the Triangle area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdgeAvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hello EdgeAvl,

We were thrilled to have you experience one of our suites, and glad you enjoyed one of our classic rooms as well.

Everyone on our team feels great to have been able to go above and beyond for you and make a positive impact on your experience.

It warms our hearts that you will consider The Franklin "your hotel" in the Triangle. We look forward to having you with us again and again, and are happy to be your home in the area.

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    99
    38
    13
    6
See reviews for
193
176
39
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Franklin Hotel was recommended to me by a client and friend who lives nearby. This was my first visit to Chapel Hill, and I was delighted to stay right in the middle of this charming town. The hotel was very "accessible" with parking near the lobby and a nice welcome from the front desk staff. I found the room to be very comfortable with all amenities one would expect from a nice boutique hotel.

After having dinner with my clients at a nearby restaurant, 411, I returned to the hotel and heard some nice music in the lobby bar, so I stopped in to enjoy the music for a short while. A young (teen) trumpeter was timidly joining the musicians. The "feel" was definitely that of a university town.

A lovely cbreakfast was served (included in my room rate).

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel and would choose to stay there upon future visits.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Halfmooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manvel, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in April of 2013 as we were there for a wedding. It was one of the most pleasant hotel stays I have ever had. The staff was very nice and informative. The rooms have everything you would expect and more! From free bottled water in the refrigerator to cotton balls and q-tips in the bathroom. They also had a office where you could go search the internet or print out your boarding pass for your flight home. I stood on the balcony at night and watched the entertaining night life come alive below. We made quite a few friends in the Hotel Lounge! And the singer, who I can't remember the man's name now, was excellent! The complimentary breakfast was quite a surprise! You can eat from a buffet or order from a menu! The staff is very attentive! Everything is within walking distance! It is a great hotel experience and would recommend it very highly!

Room Tip: The balcony adds to the experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Belinda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night while in Chapel Hill touring Carolina's campus. Each time we walked thru the lobby, we were greeted with a friendly smile and hello. Our room with a balcony was wonderful. We got a good night's sleep on the very comfortable beds. I had never seen such a great breakfast (except at the Embassy Suites). We were seated at a table, given a menu and was able to order what we wanted. There was no getting food from a buffet that had been there for who knows how long. This breakfast was cooked to order. Also, there were many places within walking distance to eat and shop, not to mention walking distance to the campus. We enjoyed walking down Franklin Street just to explore the area. We will definitely be staying here the next time we are in Chapel Hill,

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddreneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

…Before staying at the Franklin, I visited the website; I noted the description of the Franklin Hotel staff culture. I was in hopes it was true, when I checked in I found the people to be delightful and property to be very well designed. I would go as far as to say a perfectly designed boutique Hotel. I will most assuredly visit again. Well done!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed two nights at this lovely hotel on business. Very restful room, great bed and lots of pillow choices! Warm cookies and very nice breakfast! Huge walkin shower, exceptionally clean! Would stay there again in a heartbeat. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIXIEDEE42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
0.3 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,276 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
417 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
2.7 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 18 in Chapel Hill
447 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#10 of 18 in Chapel Hill
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Property: The Franklin
Address: 311 W Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love for you to stay with us whether you're in town for business or pleasure! We are the only hotel in downtown Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street - just steps away from all the action such as UNC Chapel Hill's campus, Dean Smith Center, Kenan Stadium, UNC Hospitals, Morehead Planetarium, Ackland Art Museum, and tons of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. Our guiding principle is to be hospitable, so we focus on our interactions with you above all else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing