We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best venue for meetings yet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Franklin Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best venue for meetings yet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I cannot say enough about this hotel and it's employees. Rooms were spotless, staff was helpful and food was tasty. We had fourteen travelers who stayed two nights and met two days in their conference room, Grand Terrace West. Joel, Luke and Mark made this a pleasant and productive visit. Meeting rooms have floor to ceiling windows, breakfast was very good and the bar area was nice with fireplace and patio, depending on weather. Thanks again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dssand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    77
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
131
142
34
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
134 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

In December 2011, we stayed here for the Christmas holidays, since our newest grandson was less than a year old, and space was at a premium. It was close enough that we could walk to their home in Carrboro. I enjoyed a specialty called a Tartini, which was blue and delicious. The room looked out on Franklin Street where we could see favorite stores and restaurants, as well as the unseasonable--for them--snow! Breakfasts were delicious. Our Vermont family joined us for one, and all of them stopped in, including the baby, to see what a nice room we had. I would certainly recommend it for the value, location, and tasty breakfasts. The indoor parking was a plus!

Room Tip: Usually, the hotels choose the room for the guests, but If on inspection, there is something that do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartiAbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was our second visit to the Franklin Hotel and just as delightful as the first! The rooms are wonderful, from the oversize balcony to the soft linens and comfy mattress and pillows. On our last visit we had a sitting area which added a lot of space to the room as well as an oversize bathroom. They did not have that room available but this room, although smaller, was still as lovely. The hotel is in a perfect location to walk to UNC campus, Starbucks, nice shops and several phenomenal restaurants. The shining star is the staff; they are warm, helpful, knowledgeable and will go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. It is truly a treat to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EMCFairfax_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed recently at The Franklin Hotel and had a wonderful stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the hotel was in a perfect location for visiting The University of North Carolina, and the rooms were very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pgfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Have stayed at The Franklin and the location is outstanding...right on Franklin Street. parking is convenient, but the best thing is the staff. They are led by a friendly, detail oriented manager in Jay Patel. Not only are they helpful, it is clear they want to earn your business. I have stayed at The Carolina Inn as well and the service at the Franklin is far superior. Alicia at the front desk is a jewel...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pieolife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My family was visiting from New York and this was the best place in the area for them. Yes, The Siena is charming, but this modern hotel was more their speed. The staff was accommodating to my disabled father and very kind to my picky mother. Kudos to the staff for tolerating them!! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Located in the center of Chapel Hill the Franklin had a fresh feeling and friendly service. My room even had a balcony overlooking the street. It has a great location for walking around town or the campus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Meister2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
0.3 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#2 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#10 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel

Property: The Franklin Hotel
Address: 311 W Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516-2519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love for you to stay with us whether you're in town for business or pleasure! We are the only hotel in downtown Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street - just steps away from all the action such as UNC Chapel Hill's campus, Dean Smith Center, Kenan Stadium, UNC Hospitals, Morehead Planetarium, Ackland Art Museum, and tons of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. Our guiding principle is to be hospitable, so we focus on our interactions with you above all else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Franklin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing