We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The family came to check it out”
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Franklin
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

In December 2011, we stayed here for the Christmas holidays, since our newest grandson was less than a year old, and space was at a premium. It was close enough that we could walk to their home in Carrboro. I enjoyed a specialty called a Tartini, which was blue and delicious. The room looked out on Franklin Street where we could see favorite stores and restaurants, as well as the unseasonable--for them--snow! Breakfasts were delicious. Our Vermont family joined us for one, and all of them stopped in, including the baby, to see what a nice room we had. I would certainly recommend it for the value, location, and tasty breakfasts. The indoor parking was a plus!

Room Tip: Usually, the hotels choose the room for the guests, but If on inspection, there is something that do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartiAbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 670 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was our second visit to the Franklin Hotel and just as delightful as the first! The rooms are wonderful, from the oversize balcony to the soft linens and comfy mattress and pillows. On our last visit we had a sitting area which added a lot of space to the room as well as an oversize bathroom. They did not have that room available but this room, although smaller, was still as lovely. The hotel is in a perfect location to walk to UNC campus, Starbucks, nice shops and several phenomenal restaurants. The shining star is the staff; they are warm, helpful, knowledgeable and will go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. It is truly a treat to stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMCFairfax_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed recently at The Franklin Hotel and had a wonderful stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the hotel was in a perfect location for visiting The University of North Carolina, and the rooms were very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Have stayed at The Franklin and the location is outstanding...right on Franklin Street. parking is convenient, but the best thing is the staff. They are led by a friendly, detail oriented manager in Jay Patel. Not only are they helpful, it is clear they want to earn your business. I have stayed at The Carolina Inn as well and the service at the Franklin is far superior. Alicia at the front desk is a jewel...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pieolife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My family was visiting from New York and this was the best place in the area for them. Yes, The Siena is charming, but this modern hotel was more their speed. The staff was accommodating to my disabled father and very kind to my picky mother. Kudos to the staff for tolerating them!! :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Located in the center of Chapel Hill the Franklin had a fresh feeling and friendly service. My room even had a balcony overlooking the street. It has a great location for walking around town or the campus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Meister2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed at the Franklin this past week. It's in a nice location, close to many yummy restaurants and fun places. Rooms are lovely and beautifully furnished, and even the little refrigerator is larger than the typical hotel fridge. Bathroom is nice and large. The complimentary breakfast is not typical at all..eggs cooked to order, french toast..not that typical "go pick your pastry" complimentary breakfast. It's our second visit here and we're eager to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drpclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,402 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#11 of 18 in Chapel Hill
31 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
2.1 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Address: 311 W Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: $171 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love for you to stay with us whether you're in town for business or pleasure! We are the only hotel in downtown Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street - just steps away from all the action such as UNC Chapel Hill's campus, Dean Smith Center, Kenan Stadium, UNC Hospitals, Morehead Planetarium, Ackland Art Museum, and tons of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. Our guiding principle is to be hospitable, so we focus on our interactions with you above all else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing