We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Morehead Planetarium and Science Center
Ranked #6 of 46 things to do in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Educational and entertaining programs for all ages that teach and explore the science of the universe.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
763 reviews
324 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

My first trip to the Morehead Planetarium was great! It was a little confusing figuring out how to enter as you need to enter through the gift shop. Tickets are $8.25. The shows run on the hour and last about 45 minutes. The seating has the backs tilted back a little farher than a typical movie theater but that helps when we are looking up trying to take in the show. After the movie part I really enjoyed when they showed what the stars will look like in the evening sky. We were shown what stars to look for four our guides and then to look for others from there. I did not have time this visit to see the extra exhibits but I will definately be back again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank NCTraveler2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    44
    11
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We've seen every show.”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I bought a membership last year and took full advantage, taking my kids to shows regularly. There isn't a huge variety, so we've seen most at least a couple of times. Same deal with the live science shows. But it's a lot of fun, educational, and my kids love it. They have a nice gift shop to browse between shows and while largely overpriced, there are some gems. There's great history at the Morehead Planetarium and a small museum showcasing it in the basement. There's also exhibits throughout the year that are free for members (and the general public?). The membership has a lot of other perks, too, like discounts to the NC Zoo and other museums. Also discounts on summer camps. Worth checking out if your kids are into space, earth systems, and museums!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LT23NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing sky journey”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

It was my first time when i have visited Planetarium, but i am happy that i have done it here. It was renovated in spring 2011. The show which i had a pleasure to visit was about seeking planets in the Universe similar to the Earth. The film costs 20$ and duration was around 30 min. Your brain keeps amazing activity during the show and young spokesman narrated professionally. They always have different films which worth to visit as children as adults.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Valery K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best way to spend a rainy day ever!”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Your children will never tire of the magic of the planetarium. Puts us all in perspective. A fun great way to bring some balance into our lives and realign our focus on the big picture of our universe.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank plumgirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Day Trip”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This was our first time visiting the Planetarium and we are definitely going to return. We got there a little late in the day so we weren't able to do any of the star gazing sessions but we walked around the exhibits and they were fantastic. If you want to go to any of the shows, you have to pay to get in, but to just walk around and view the exhibits that's free. We took advantage of what they have out and it was worth it to walk around. They just opened a new exhibit on water and it was great. Our little one had so much fun with the different areas and we learned a lot about water consumption and other facts that we talked about on the way home. If you have a stroller, you'll have to carry it up/down stairs.

I would highly recommend this Planetarium and we can't wait to go back and see one of the shows!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank raindrops554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morehead Planetarium and Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Morehead Planetarium and Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing